Customer Reviews for

A Corner of the Universe

Average Rating 4.5
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Worth Reading

This is another book by Ann M. Martin that I read when I was in about 6th grade. It's really good and teaches you to love others even though they're different from you. Great young adult book!

posted by Brookeylynn on December 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Omg

I love this book its sad though u should read it

posted by 17614703 on October 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Worth Reading

    This is another book by Ann M. Martin that I read when I was in about 6th grade. It's really good and teaches you to love others even though they're different from you. Great young adult book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    A corner of the universe.

    This was a very emotional book, but not a Romance book. This book made a big impression on me, and really changed my outlook. It is the kind of book that will make readers everywhere not want to put it down. It is about a young girl, Addie trying to put up with her mentally challenged uncle. This was a amazing, fantastic, stupendous book. You will not regret reading this book. And as Addie said, "I think we should know that Adam was one of those people who lift the corners of our universe." I think we should all know, remember, and see the people who make a difference in the world.

    -Carolyn Fogleman
    Age 12

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My New Favorite :)

    This is probably one of the best books I ever read, and sort of changed my view of things. Although towards the ending it is a bit sad, (you might even jerk a tear) but I recommend this book to everyone (even adults).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    the best

    so touching be ready to cry

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    I am now seventeen and read this book for the first time when I

    I am now seventeen and read this book for the first time when I was ten. When people ask me what my favorite book is, I still tell them A Corner of the Universe. I have never cried over a book before in my entire life but somehow this book can still bring me to tears even after reading it at least ten times.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!

    This was a great book! I loved it! sad and happy and very descriptive! read it! read it! read it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Heartfelt and true

    As you meet Adam, a young man with a mental illness that no one understands, you relize the importance a smile. As you join Hattie and Adam you will fall in love with Adam and his corner of the universe!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Awesome!

    I already read this book at school but it is on if the best books i ever read!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Touching

    This was a fantastic book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Touching

    This book will touch your heart from the very beggining i love this book!!i work at b and n and my boss had us al read this book bc she loved it!! And by the way staop giving spoilers!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Definitly one of her best.

    Thus book is really touching and sad. I could relate to it. It is awesome. You go Ann.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Best book ever good summer read. Read it in school and did a book group on it

    BEST book ever you have to read it with your kids. If you get emotional have tissues on the last few chapters. I read it in school

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Very Touching And A Little Sad

    The ending was a complete surprise. This book taught me many life-long lessons that I will never forget. Its one of those books that you will always remember. The girl may relate to some of girls today. It was so full of meaning. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Amazing

    Best book anyone could ever read(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    One of the BEST bookew ever

    Omg i readthis in fifth grade in class i asked my teacher if could borrowthe book and after i read it inever gave it back!lol its a very goodbook with a good plot. Icried a lot at the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Awsome book

    Read since fifth grade and i still love it and it has so much meaning!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Good

    This was an amazing book. There was always something interesting going on! The ending is really sad. Awesome book i recommend to any one age10 and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Love, love, love

    My 6th grade teacher read this book to the class after we came in from recess as a way to regroup and calm down. I loved the way she read it to us and can still hear her voice when I reread this book. It was a great story about a boy who is different than the world he comes from. I hope to read this to my classes one day when I become a teacher. I highly recommend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Oh So Touching

    Pros: Keeps you Thinking, Never Want to Put it DownCons: NoneI'm usually the one you would find reading the magical, mystery, and unhappy, but I made a deal with my mom that I would read a happy book. The cover looked cute so I checked it out and thank goodness I did! The story wasn't very happy, but it had a great meaning. I cried and cried it was just touched my life so much. I couldn't put it down and had to figure out what happend next. The relationships between the characters was fantastic and the thoughts of the girl was wonderful! I believe this is a must read before you die book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Happy Feet

    This book is over all amazing. It is a mysterious, heart wrenching, story that people can relate to. Pretty much anyone can relate to it for many reasons. There are parts where things are kinda slow but once youh get the jist of whats ging on u can"t seem to pry ur eyes away from the intensity. This story may even be strong enough to teach the reader a lesson or two. I strongly recommend this story to everyone. It is one of those novels that u just can't seem to take off ur mind and want to read over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7