Customer Reviews for

Corpse in the Crystal Ball (Fortune Teller Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Corpse in the Crystal Ball By Kari Lee Townsend Copyright June



    Corpse in the Crystal Ball
    By Kari Lee Townsend
    Copyright June 2012
    Publisher: Berkeley Prime Crime

    After clearing her name as the prime suspect in a murder, Sunny Meadows hopes she can finally enjoy some serenity in the idyllic town of Divinity in upstate New York. She’d also like a second chance with Detective Mitch Stone. But when Mitch’s gorgeous ex-girlfriend Isabel Gonzales shows up, Sunny’s not sure she can compete. Then Isabel mysteriously disappears.

    When the police turn to Sunny for help, her visions lead to the discovery of Isabel’s corpse in the woods. Before she died, Isabel scrawled in the dirt a message implicating Mitch in her murder. Now Sunny must help the man she’s falling in love with as she sets out to find the real killer. But this time Sunny’s clairvoyant abilities might not save her–as what she doesn’t see can hurt her…

    Sunny is not in the mood to have a discussion about her on hold love life with her friend Joanne (Jo). She is not going to discuss the detective who she put on hold, and just wants to move on with her life. She is no longer a suspect in a murder investigation and her business is picking up. Her parents are not going to be in her face until the next holiday. She and Jo are heading back to Sunny’s house in her old VW Bug and as they turn onto Shadow Lane and pull onto her driveway they see the new mailman Kevin Brown fighting with a little old lady…. Who turns out to be Sunny’s Granma Gertrude.
    From that point on Sunny’s life is about to change once again. Whether for good or bad is yet to be determined. Gertrude loves Sunny as she is and for who she is (unlike Sunny’s parents). After breaking up the fight and discovering that it was caused by Kevin not letting Gertrude accept Sunny’s mail things get a bit quieter. This is also the beginning of another murder that will drag Sunny, her grandmother, and her best friend into.
    This is the second book in the Fortune Teller Mystery series and book two is going to set the mark for all future stories in the series. This one comes with new hot guys, dead people, Detective Grumpy and his ex, and a cast of characters that will entertain and enthrall you with their antics. I wholly recommend it to all lovers of cozy mysteries and lovers of paranormal reading.
    FTC Full Disclosure: I received this book from the author in return for a hair and honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The second book in this series, Kari has written a well crafted

    The second book in this series, Kari has written a well crafted cozy mystery that can keep anybody company when called upon. Sunny Meadows is back and her business is thriving, but her love life is more complicated than ever. While trying to sort out her feelings for Detective Grumpy Pants (AKA detective Mitch stone) Sunny encounters a bout of jealousy as an old girlfriend comes back into the picture- Isabel Gonzales.

    Just when she decides that it's not worth persuing, Isabel comes to her for help. One crystal ball reading later and Isabel flees, only to
    disappear and then turn up dead later. The suspect? Detective Mitch stone.

    Add in a twin and a hot looking mailman and you have the makings of one big suspect stew. Kari keeps the action and the development flowing as we race along with Sunny to the answer. Bonus points for the offbeat characters like poor Morty, who still insists on being the top cat around the house and still manages to get into trouble despite a visit by Sunny's Granny Gert. I was also left rolling in the floor with Granny Gert's antics while learning to drive.

    Overall it is a very worthy read, and also worth backtracking to read the first entry in this series, Tempest in the Tea Leaves.

    PAW

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Awful

    Wanted to get sample to see if book was worth reading and there was no story or opening in it all it had was acknowledgments, table of contents and dedication. Kind of stupid if you ask me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Description

    Evie- strapless torso hugging baby blue gown that poofs out like a princess dress dark brown hair curled aroind her sholders her silver eyes framed by black lashes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    In Townsend┬┐s mystery novel, psychic Sunshine Meadows has been c

    In Townsend’s mystery novel, psychic Sunshine Meadows has been cleared of murder and hoping to finally settle into her new life in Divinity. Down deep, she would like a second chance with Detective Mitch Stone but is unable to after his attractive ex-girlfriend, Isabelle shows up unexpectedly.

    When Isabelle turns up missing, the police turn to Sunny for help. Her psychic visions lead them to Isabel’s corpse and to the message she scribbled before dying—a message that implicates Mitch in her demise. Tapping into her clairvoyant abilities, Sunny digs deep in hopes of clearing the name of the man she’s clearly falling in love with.

    This addition to the A Fortune Teller Mystery series is fast-paced and hard to put down. I can hardly wait for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Corpse in the Crystal Ball is the 2nd installment of Kari Lee To

    Corpse in the Crystal Ball is the 2nd installment of Kari Lee Townsend's Fortune Teller Mysteries. Corpse is a fast paced romantic, paranormal, cozy, police procedural mystery sub sub sub-genre. Yes, 4 different mystery sub-genres all rolled into one! The local police chief asked Sunny to assist him in the Isabel Gonzalez homicide investigation because she was able to identify the killer in Fortune Teller Mystery #1, The Tempest in the Tea Leaves. After following up on false leads, Sunny uses her crystal ball to find the whodunit.

    I am predicting a long run for this cozy mystery series where the author plans to use a different fortune telling device to locate the whodunit. Townsend is quite creative in melding together different mystery sub-genres but still being able to meet the cozy requirements to not show sex , foul language or violence. The level of suspense was high in Corpse as there were many twists and turns. Another positive was the addition of Sunny's grandmother Granny Gert as a character. She is a hoot and I expect that she will be in future installments of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    very entertaining

    Physic mysteries are very enjoyable. This does keep you interested sspecially the tension between Sunny and Mitch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Good Read

    Really liking this series, I knew who the killet was from the start thought and Granny Gert is definitly a good addition to the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    great book

    Fun entertaining characters, great psychic angle, a great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Kari Lee Townsend has done it again, with her follow-up mystery

    Kari Lee Townsend has done it again, with her follow-up mystery to Tempest in the Tea Leaves. Her perky but much put-upon fortune-teller Sunny Meadows is in trouble again-- the more she tries to help, the deeper she gets. This time Sunny isn't the suspected murderer, but her wannabe boy-toy Mitch is, so she naturally comes to the rescue, despite misunderstandings and hurt feelings.

    To add to her troubles, Sunny has to cope with her well-meaning but intrusive, cookie-baking grandma, who's also a driving menace. A white-knuckled Sunny risks her life (and car) to try and teach grannie enough to pass her driving test.

    With a cast of quirky characters, many of whom have something to hide, Sunny works her magic among the denizens of Divinity, hunting a killer before someone else becomes a victim.

    Come fall for the charm of this mystery line, and follow Sunny's twisted trail as she follows the clues to uncover a terrible crime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Kari Lee Townsend is a author that I will continue to follow. Her characters are well formed and interesting. I found myself not wanting to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Loved this book/series

    Very entertaining. One of those books that you think about during the day realizing you can't wait to start reading it again. Love the humor/banter between Tink & Grumpy pants. Looking so forward to the next book. Thanks for the fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    A Gread Read

    What a great read. I love a book that keeps me in suspense and make me laugh at the same time. This fast-moving and action filled drama entertained me as the author did a good job in leading me in several directions with the many twists and turns in this well-written mystery that quickly became a page-turner. What I enjoy most is the relationships that Sunny has with her friends and family that shines in every scene and their antics had me laughing and the addition of her Granny–awesome. Their antics had me laughing. I look forward to the next book in this delightfully appealing and charming series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Excellent book. Kept me interested all the way thru.

    Excellent book. Kept me interested all the way thru.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    excellent! A must read

    Excellent book. 2d installment in Fortune Teller Series. It is a fun read and nice to check in with the characters from the first book. Am looking forward to the 3rd book. My sister and parents read and enjoy these as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    this series gets better and better. this second story deals with

    this series gets better and better. this second story deals with sunny and mitch maybe getting together. the fly in the ointment is his ex girlfriend, the one he almost married. she shows up in divinity and turns up dead. mitch is the prime suspect. sunny feels as though she should help clear mitch's name even though she is sure he is in love with selena, the ex's twin. sunny decides to move on and starts to date the mailman,kevin. with so many new people in town, the murderer could be any one of them. the twists and turns make this a very interesting and puzzling mystery. i guarantee you will not figure out who the guilty party is before the last chapter! who did kill isabel? does he love and plan to marry selena? who is kevin? why is granny in divinity? who killed roz and why? where is the money? if you want the answers you must read 'the corpse in the crystal ball! they are there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1