Customer Reviews for

The Corruptible: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    A mediocre murder mystery

    "The Corruptible" by Mark Mynheir is a book I received from Waterbrook Multnomah in their Blogging for Books program. I chose this book out of what they had available because it looked like a good 'cop' novel and who doesn't love a good cop novel?

    This is part of Mynheir's "Ray Quinn Mystery" series, the most recent one. I have not read any of the others in the series but I do not feel that this hindered my opinion of the book in any way. There were enough details of the past given to fill me in on the pieces I needed to know in order to enjoy this installment.

    Ray Quinn is a private investigator and used to be a homicide detective. He was injured on the job and has subsequently become very good friends with Jim Bean. His PI business is struggling so when he meets with a new client who gives him a check with a lot of zeros, Ray immediately jumps at the opportunity. He thinks it should be a simple job: find Logan Ramsey. Ramsey is an ex-cop turned security officer who takes sensitive client info from his employer then disappears. But soon after receiving this information, Ramsey is found dead and the missing hardrive is nowhere in sight.

    Rays new client, Armon Mayer, is Logan's employer. Mayer tells Quinn that Ramsey has stolen sensitive client information from him, but it is soon apparent that Mayer is a pretty shady dude. Ray starts to uncover things that make him suspect that Armon has not given him the entire story regarding Logan and why it is that he has hired Ray Quinn for this job. Armon's secretary Megan becomes attracted to Ray. They go on a few dates and Pam thinks there's something fishy with this situation. Could there be something deeper going on? Something connected to her boss Armon?

    Ray was a cop until he was shot and suffered a devastating hip injury. His lover Trisha was killed in the same instance. Both of these added together throw Logan into a depression paired with a drinking problem that you can see progressing throughout the book. Ray's friend Pam, who works for him part-time at his office, is concerned about this growing drinking problem and is always mentioning her faith in God and how Ray needs to change. Ray normally blows her off and tries to immediately change the subject.

    Pam also several times brings up the fact that Ray was abandoned by his mom at a young age and grew up in foster care. She has found his case files and encourages him to find his mother. Much like he blows off her religion, he always finds something more important than looking in to his own past.

    Some of the connections Quinn makes in the unfolding crimes in the book are not fully explained to the reader. Unless you're gifted in the art of solving crimes yourself (which...I'm not) then some things don't completely make sense.

    Overall, I am not quite sure how I feel about this book. Its subject matter is great...the idea of the story is great but I feel that some aspects were over developed while others were not developed enough. I noticed that this copy of the book is an "advanced reading copy" so I'm not sure if there would be any major changes made in the final edition....but I would almost hope so.

    On a scale of 5 stars I would give this book 3 of 5.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Great Novel!

    I really enjoyed this novel. Although I missed reading the first Ray Quinn novel, I was able to jump right into the second and definitely am going to follow through with the next novel. Most crime investigation novels are pretty cut and dry, but this one was so well written that all the pieces didn't fit together until the end.
    The Christian side of the novel was slowly introduced. A side character, Pam, is a devout Christian. Pam speaks to Ray about Jesus and faith a few times, but Ray is not ready to believe yet. Ray (spoiler alert) is not yet ready to grasp a relationship with Christ, but I believe the sensitive way Pam gives him information and God slowly working on his heart, he will within the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Christian Parnell Hall

    The Corruptible by Mark Mynheir is a cop driven mystery. Ray Quinn is a former cop turned Private Investigator/Detective. He is coming off a case investigating a cheating husband when Armon Mayer calls. Mayer owns Mayer Holdings-a company with a lot of money, but no one really knows what it does, only that it has high profile clientele. Mayer hires Quinn to find a former security guard who has hacked into Mayer Holdings systems and downloaded sensitive information and then disappeared. Logan Ramsey, the former security guard, had many enemies and few friends. Quinn worked with him briefly in narcotics, but Ramsey was known to go undercover a little too deep. He seemed to go rogue, getting lost in the undercover world. Things get complicated when Ramsey turns up dead but the satchel containing the stolen information is nowhere to be found.


    Though I figured out who the killer was before the end of the book, there were several unexpected twists and turns that kept the story interesting. It was a fairly clean read with maybe a few questionable words. I think the style is similar to Parnell Hall. Though Ray Quinn is the main character, he is not a Christian in this storyline which made for an interesting angle for a Christian murder mystery. I am interested in reading more Ray Quinn mysteries by Mark Mynheir.


    I received this book free through the Blogging for Books program from WaterbrookMultnomah to read and give an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    An Honestly Good Read!

    This was such a pleasant surprise! The second installment in Mr. Mynheir's Ray Quinn mysteries, I'll definitely be playing catch-up and reading The Night Watchman... Ray Quinn is an ex-homicide cop turned PI with a young and slightly impulsive partner, Crevis. Together with their young, tutor/Girl Friday, Pam, they become embroiled in a high stakes hunt for another ex-cop turned security officer. Mayhem ensues. The characters are fun and well drawn. The language is campy film noir but not to the point of distraction from the tense action of the story. Quinn is typical of a noir-ish gumshoe but modernized and, while macho, also vulnerable. The ex-cop he's after was once a co-worker and Quinn sees a lot of himself in the sad road taken by his target. No one is perfect in The Corruptible world and that's as it should be. There is just enough detail thrown in by Mr. Mynheir, an ex-cop himself, to make things interesting but not mind-numbing as can often happen when a writer is exceedingly proud of their knowledge/research... All of the supporting characters are well fleshed out, if a bit numerous. I'll be interested to see how the recurring characters develop. In the end, Quinn, Crevis and Pam get their man and Quinn even starts down a possible road to redemption. Can you say cliffhanger? I thoroughly enjoyed this easy but compelling read and recommend it with no reservations! Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Corruptible by Mark Mynheir

    The Corruptible by Mark Mynheir is the second book in the Ray Quinn Mystery Series. I haven't read any other Quinn books, the story had several references to incidents in past books, but enough background info was given that it was easy to follow.
    It is the story of Ray Quinn; former detective turned private investigator, who had to retire when he was wounded.
    In Quinn's first big job he tries to solve an easy open and shut case for his client. The man Quinn is searching for, Logan Ramsey, a dirty ex-cop who stole from his employer. In what begins as an "easy" case turns complicated. While investigating the motel murder in an attempt to find the stolen property, Quinn comes in contact with a list of unsavory characters.
    Quinn works with his young assistant Crevis, who he is training to become a cop and Quinn's quasi part time employee, Pam (a character from the first book), who tries to teach Crevis enough grammar to pass the written test for the police academy, which he had failed twice already, due to Dyslexia.
    I planned to leisurely read this story but the action on the pages kept me wanting to know more right away. If you like detective mysteries you will enjoy this book. It has interesting details such as: humor, procedural knowledge, brisk pacing, redemption and strong characters.
    I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah as part of their Blogging for Books program in return for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Nothing Groundbreaking, but Entertaining

    The Corruptible is standard detective novel fare. The hero Ray Quinn, a tough ex-cop is hired by a shady character to solve a simple case of corporate theft. Detective Quinn soon meets complications that lead to a tangled web of motive, alibi, and deceit that must be cunningly managed to bring the perpetrators to justice. While the hero is puzzling out the case and chasing bad guys he is also struggling with chronic pain and an increasing dependence on Jim Beam. Ray's humanity is evident in the fact that despite his tough guy persona he's helping a troubled young man with dyslexia pass the police exam and learn to love a large collection of John Wayne movies.

    The writing over all was decent; the plot moved along and kept the pages turning. The writing did seem a little forced at times and I half expected to see " It was a dark and stormy night" as the first line of the next chapter. The author did manage to avoid this cliché if not others when he dressed Ray's sidekick in a suit and fedora in steamy central Florida. I also found Ray's access to police records, reports and crime scenes somewhat extraordinary and unbelievable regardless to the mention that he had been given a "consultant status" at the police department because of past incidents that had happened previous in the novel series.

    If you're up for a bit of light beach reading The Corruptible is certainly worth a few hours of your time.

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review and it in no way colors my opinion of this material.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Suspense+Wit+Murder=One Fast Paced Read

    From the very first page until the very last page there is never a dull moment in this suspenseful who-dun-it by author Mark Mynheir. Mynheir's lead detective, Ray Quinn, is an unforgettable character in *The Corruptible* as he delves into his new job as a private investigator. What he doesn't bargain for is that the missing person, an ex-cop, turns up dead with more than one person being the murderer. So who really is the murderer? And why? The list grows and along the way Ray realizes immortality is not his. His friend Jim Beam may not be the answer.
    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mynheir creates a great mystery as he writes what he knows!

    This is the second book in the Ray Quinn Mystery series. Because of an injury while on the job as a homicide detective, Ray Quinn is now a private investigator. He still retains consult status with the police department, which is convenient for some of his cases. A new client offers a huge amount of money for him to find an ex-cop and some missing information. As he investigates with the help of his sidekick Crevis, more questions and complications arise as the ex-cop turns up dead.

    Write what you know. Since that is one of the first words of advice given to writers, I looked forward to this mystery written by Mark Mynheir because he's retired law enforcement. His resume includes undercover work as a narc agent, a member of the SWAT team, and a detective in Criminal Investigations. Also, I'm in a law enforcement family and knew that my husband and I would enjoy trying this Ray Quinn Mystery series. Mark Mynheit writing is saturated with such wonderful dry humor. I really enjoyed that as I read the story and got to know the characters. I didn't realize that this was the second book, but I have already ordered the first book so I can get caught up and my husband can start the series in order.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Blogging for Books, Waterbrook Multnomah Publisher's book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Smooth Read

    A classic murder mystery with private investigator Ray Quinn. The former homicide detective attempts to solve a complex case as he tries less ably to solve the complexities of his broken life. His friend Jim Beam has been there for him, but there's never enough to fill the emptiness he's feeling. Mark Mynheir has produced a great follow-up to his first Ray Quinn mystery. A smooth read with a refreshing but subtle spiritual component that sets this book apart within the genre.
    I received a complimentary copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Riveting Story

    Ray Quinn an ex-cop turned Private Investigator, is summoned to the board room of Mayer Holdings. The corporation caters to the filthy rich, and they are missing some vital client information. Another ex-cop turned security, apparently has absconded with this information and Armon Mayer, wants it back, and is willing to pay dearly.

    "The Corruptible", by Mark Mynheir, is a captivating novel that will keep the reader on the edge of their seat. Written so as too be a movie script, I found myself riveted to the pages of this novel, just as though I was watching this story unfold on the wide screen or in real life.

    Ray Quinn, the main character, had his police career cut short by a career ending wound that left him handicapped, but don't let his cane and limp fool you. He knows how to take care of himself, and he is back up by Crevis, his up and coming assistant, who by description, looks like he could take on a Mac truck.

    When Quinn takes on the case of the missing client information, it appears to be cut and dry. Find another ex-cop, Logan Ramsey, and get the stolen property back. But, when Ray Quinn starts his investigation, he finds himself in the middle of a murder investigation, with so many suspects, hour head will be spinning, and the client information is still nowhere to be found.

    See if you can solve this complicated mystery before it's too late.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    The Corruptible: A Ray Quinn Mystery by Mark Mynheir

    The Corruptible: A Ray Quinn Mystery by Mark Mynheir is an action packed book with an even more adventure filled plot. Each page is a real suspense right to the very end! It opens up with Quinn about to be beat senseless by an angry husband of a client they had investigated. Just as he was about to be pulverized- his friend helps him out; opening up to be a real adventure. He and his partner Crevis opens up a private investigator's office, receiving a call from a man who's employee an ex-cop stole some sensitive information, when he goes to track that information down he finds the person he was going after dead in a sleazy Orlando Florida Hotel; leaving him with more questions then answers. On top of that the information that was stolen from his employer was taken from the one who originally took it. It sometimes lacks in originality but the plot really moves and you find yourself turning the page and unable to put the book down. I definitely recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    On the Case

    Ray Quinn, currently a Private Investigator, is an ex-homicide detective formerly with the Orlando Police Department. He retired from the OPD after being shot in the leg while tracking down a murderer. Now he has to rely on a cane and a bottle of Jim Beam to get him through the pain everyday. In addition to his friends on the force, his support staff consists of his partner-in-training, Crevis, who provides the muscle, while learning the ropes. Also, helping is Pam Winters, whose murdered brother's case was solved by Ray in his last investigation. Pam, the steadying factor in this rocking boat, is now helping Crevis study for the entrance exam to the police academy, which he has failed twice. Ray is hired by the wealthy head of an investment firm to recover a computer hard drive that contains sensitive information on the firms clients. Quinn was picked for the job because of his close connections with the OPD and the fact that the suspected thief was an ex-cop named Logan Ramsey. The client doesn't want the police involved, but thinks Ray's connections could be useful. Logan was an undercover cop,a bit of a loose cannon, who inadvertently leaked information that resulted in putting some of his fellow policeman in danger. Ramsey, an old acquaintance of Ray's from the OPD, turns up murdered and the case starts to develop a bad smell. It will take more than the client's fat paycheck to keep Ray from using every means at his disposal to find the killer and the truth behind the missing hard drive. This is a solidly written, good P. I. mystery with a touch of the police procedural, but it lacks the spark or quirkiness to make it a standout. Provided for review by the well read folks at Library Thing and Multnomah Books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ray Quinn is a fun PI!

    Ray Quinn is an ex-detective who has moved into the Private Investigator field. A felon's bullet had shattered Ray's pelvis thus ending his police career. He is hired by a sleezy businessman (Armon Mayer) to try to locate a hard drive with "sensitive" data relating to Armon. The data was allegedly downloaded from Armon's system by Logan, an ex-employee. Logan had once been an undercover detective whose exposure to bad elements made him turn to the "darkside" of the law himself.

    Quinn had once known Logan so he is intrigued by the case and wants to help. A short time later, Logan turns up dead and the hard drive with Armon's data is nowhere to be found. Quinn tries to question Armon about this since it sounds pretty fishy but Armon is loathe to release any useful information. Instead he tells Quinn to forget about Logan and just get the hard drive back.

    Ignoring Armon, Quinn, using his connections and his trusty muscle partner Crevis, investigate Logan's murder. Quinn is sure that solving the murder will also lead to the hard drive. The book continues in a very intriguing manner and though one of the people in the book is an obvious suspect, the actual solution is never obvious. The author has woven a nice mystery and Quinn appears to be a dark character hiding secrets himself. Unraveling the mystery of Quinn should make for some interesting future tales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    Decent Murder Mystery

    I will have to admit that I am a sucker for a good mystery book. I found "The Corruptible: A Ray Quinn Mystery" to be just that, a good mystery book. It wasn't great, but it wasn't bad either. I didn't get bored with this book, but it did move at a fairly slow pace for a mystery book. Part of that may be due to my love for TV shows of the same genre that move quickly and take several episodes or seasons to develop their characters. This is the second book in a series, and I have not read the first one, so there may be some background information that I am missing.

    The basic premise of the book is centered around an ex-cop, Ray Quinn, who was injured in the line of duty and now is working as a Private Investigator. His carrer as a PI was helped by a previous case that he helped to solve and now afforded him certain perks as a consultant with the police force. His partner is a wanna be cop by the name of Crevis, who is good hearted but cannot seem to pass the written cop exam. Ray is hired to recover some stolen materials by a very wealthy investment firm that is run by Armon Mayer. Ray is told that he was hired because the suspect was a dirty ex-cop, Logan, who had been working as a security guard for Mayer. As Quinn begins his search Logan is found dead with the stolen goods no where to be found. Quinn finds himself working alongside the police force in both the murder investigation as well as his own investigation into the stolen goods. The case seems to go round and round while running into many dead ends but Quinn does end up solving the case in the end, which as it turns out was an inside job for the theft and a revenge of sorts for the murder.

    With this being a "Christian" mystery novel there is a hint of evangelism on the part of one of the characters who desires to help Ray. In the end Ray does finally start listening to her and begins a journey toward sobriety that the author leads open for subsequent books.

    All in all this was a good read. There were a few things that seemed unbelievable from time to time, but I chalk that up to a work of fiction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    High recommend

    I received a courtesy copy of this book from Multnomah and loved it! From the first few pages, I couldn't put the book down. It was enjoyable, and I will look for more books written by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    read it its good

    This book has it all deception, thief, betrayal, murder, corruption, even an internet money scam. Ray Quinn is a retired disabled cop who becomes a private eye and is hired by a multi- million dollar company to find the person who stole some very incriminating and sensitive data. In the process of investigating this thief he runs into a crooked cop, a murder, a motorcycle gang and a internet money scam from South Africa and how if at all they all tie in together.
    This is a good read.There is nothing here that will be offensive. There are two situations in this story that didn't sound realistic to me. The first one is when Ray and his partner enter the motorcycle gang's head quarters and the gang doesn't react as you would expect them to. The second is after Ray's office is shot up and he gives chase with the shooter leaving on a motorcycle and Ray being disabled seems to get to his car rather quickly in order to give chase.
    I loved the way Ray handles the internet money scam and how it ends, it gives me ideas the next time I receive an email asking for help with their money problems.There are couple of surprises in how the story ends.I received this book from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Riveting-- Another Winner

    I was introduced to Mark Mynheir via the Blogging for Books program when they sent me The Night Watchman. I loved it. So, when I got an advanced reading copy of The Corruptible, I was ecstatic. I expected it to be amazing. I wasn't disappointed.

    A part of me wants to say, "Just go order it right now" and leave that as my review, but I suppose that's not fair. This book wasn't a disappointment. So many second books are a little disappointing, but this one, if anything, is better than the first. I was drawn in immediately and had a hard time not being rude and ignoring my husband as I read it. Mark Mynheir has an incredible talent for writing. His books are perfectly edited, but not so narrowly that they are dry and read like a laundry list. However, unlike most books written in the first person, his books are so tight that I actually missed the fact that it was first person until several chapters in-- again.

    The character, Ray Quinn, can drop a line so perfectly that you can hear it. These books read like a good movie. You can feel the tension, see the colors, smell everything from the humidity to the stale pizza; you can live the story with the characters. His characterization is perfect, the plot is solid, and thankfully, the twist isn't uber predictable. He got me on one part. That's hard to do. I think I might have figured it out faster if I had read it in one sitting, but maybe not. It's just that good.

    Buy it. Just buy it. I love the book so much that I'm not giving it away. It's going up on the shelf right next to The Night Watchman and waiting for another one to join it. Five stars. Period.

    This book was provided to me by Multnomah for review-- my opinions are biased only by the quality of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The second Quinn fun inspirational Noir (see The Night Watchman) is due to the hero

    Ray Quinn retired from the Orlando Police Department due to a perpetrator shooting his hip; shattering the joint. His replacement hip forces him to use a cane to walk slowly as the ache is unbearable. To numb the mental and physical pain, Ray turned to alcohol.

    Quinn has opened up The Night Watchman Detective Agency where he mentors a rookie Crevis Creighton who wants to become a cop and employs Pam Winter, a former client. Armon Mayor of Mayor Holdings, Inc. hires him to recover stolen confidential client information. The prime suspect is Logan Ramsey, who before working at Mayor Holdings, was employed as a Narc for OPD but was forced to leave the force.

    The second Quinn fun inspirational Noir (see The Night Watchman) is due to the hero, who sets the tone early when he explains to his employees that he broke the other guy's fist with his face and uses his cane as a weapon. Other subplots add to the entertainment when for instance he electronically poses as an elderly woman scamming the email scammers offering to share money from overseas banks in crisis countries for a fee. The banter between the Night Watchman trio is amusing but caring, which enhances an exciting private investigative mystery in which Quinn ironically misses clues the audience will not.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    A Great Read

    From the first line of this novel, I was hooked. I was laughing out loud before the end of the first page. This is a great story about Ray Quinn, ex homicide detective turned PI. Hired by an Orlando businessman to help resolve a case of missing corporate information, Ray works through the case with his friend Crevis and the help of his former homicide partners. There is also Pam, sister of an murder victim whose case Ray worked. Pam has the task of being the voice of faith and plays it very well, not pushing when she shouldn't and being there when she needs to.

    I love a good mystery/thriller and really enjoyed this one. I must admit, I thought I had it figured out in the middle of the book. Happily I was only partly correct. There are plenty of twists and turns in this book that make it one you have to think about. The characters are well thought out and work well off of each other.

    This was my first read by this author and it won't be my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Suspense, Humor, and Likeable Characters=A+

    "Dying on the toilet was not how I envisioned leaving this world." When I read that first line of Corruptible, I knew I was going to enjoy this book. Ray Quinn, an ex-homicide detective, recently went into the private investigating business after an injury left him unable to work on the force. His latest case has him investigating the murder of a former colleague with his sidekick, the goofy Barney Fife-like Crevis Creighton, and friend Pamela Winters.

    This book, as I state above, had me interested from the first page. I love a good suspense novel, especially with humor and quirky characters mixed in. The book had numerous twists and turns, and I definitely didn't expect the ending. Mynheir creates in Quinn a very likeable, dynamic character. Corruptible is the second and latest in the Ray Quinn series and I look forward to reading the first book, and the books to come.

    If you love reading mysteries with a twist of humor and interesting characters, you will love Corruptible.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3