Customer Reviews for

The Corruptible

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    Must Read

    The Corruptible begins with Ray Quinn, an ex-cop, private investigator working on a case with his sidekick, Crevis. They team up and work on cases along side the police, which Ray has very good connections with. Ray deals with an internal battle everyday due to being shot while on the job and is masked by his friend, Jim (alcohol). While struggling to do his job with the pain, Ray lands a case that sets him in a tornado of events throughout the book. The events were well thought out and keeps the reader guessing.

    The plot ran smoothly and pulled the reader in from the very beginning. Ray finds himself dealing with a murder, secrets, and arrogance of a wealthy man who hired Ray to find important information that was stolen from him. The twists and turns throughout the book, never gives a hint on how the book will end.

    For those who are into reading detective/mystery type books, I would definitely recommend reading, The Corruptible by Mark Mynheir. The journey throughout the book leaves the reader feeling the need to find out what happens. This is definitely a page turner and I have added it to my favorites list. I have given this book a 5 (five) star rating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent read for mystery lovers

    Back cover: How much money would it take for you to betray the truth?

    Ex-homicide detective Ray Quinn never had glamorous thoughts of the life of a private investigator-but being cornered in a bathroom stall by the enraged philandering husband of a client? That's something he could live without. Retired from homicide and living with a painful disability, Ray's options are limited. Stick to the job, keep impetuous sidekick Crevis alive, and spend quiet evenings with trusted pal Jim Beam, that's about the best he can hope for.

    As a new client emerges, Ray finds himself in an impossibly large boardroom holding a check with enough zeros to finally lift him from his financial pit. The job seems easy enough: find Logan Ramsey, an ex-cop turned security officer who's taken off with sensitive corporate information. But few things are easy in Ray's world, regardless of the amount of zeros in the check.

    In what should be an open-and-shut case, Ray stumbles across Logan Ramsey in a seedy motel room. Only Ray wasn't the first to find him. Now Logan's dead, the client's information is nowhere to be found, and Ray's employer is less than forthcoming with the details. Suddenly the line between the good guys and bad guys isn't so clear. With a foot in both worlds and an illuminating look at an unhappy ending that could well be his own, which will Ray choose?

    My Thoughts:

    Let's look at the cons first:

    Ray Quinn drinks. A LOT. But it's not shown in nearly as much of a glamorous light as in The Maltese Falcon, nor is it even shown to be funny like it often is in the Thin Man series. Ray pays the prices for drinking and he knows he has a problem.

    I think there was one or two mild cuss words in the book.

    And, this is a detective story. It's full of nasty people doing nasty things like cheating and taking drugs, and there are suggestions of boyfriends/girlfriends living together/sleeping together. However, it doesn't show any of these things nor dwell on them, unless a detective is speculating about how someone had the opportunity to kill someone else. Nothing in it made me squirm.

    Now the pros:

    This book reminds me of an old detective movie like The Maltese Falcon or one of the Thin Man movies. And honestly, I love love love the old detective genre. So I really enjoyed this book and I bet anyone who likes Agatha Christe, Dashiell Hammett, or even a more modern book like Randy Alcorn's Deception, would love this book.

    The characters are well-drawn. We have the stereotypes of the story (of course) like the grouchy old codger detective, the bumbling, over-eager assistant, and two beautiful women. But since you can't really have a hard-boiled detective story without some some variation of these stereotypes, it didn't bother me at all.

    The story is well-written and had quite a few twists and turns. I guessed the culprit correctly, but not too much before the end of the book.

    Conclusion:

    I'd definitely recommend this book to people 16 and up, not because there's necessarily anything bad in it (besides the mild cuss words), but because of the intensity of the book. If you like detective stories, buy The Corruptible and look for other Ray Quinn novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great follow-up to The Night Watchman

    I liked this book, but not as much as the first one in the series, The Night Watchman. Apparently, there is some deficiency in my character because the main reason I prefer the first one is that Ray has mellowed a little and he doesn't take quite as many verbal shots at Crevis in The Corruptible. This book is still funny and the crime/mystery aspect is very well done. I'm enjoying watching the relationships build between Ray, who would prefer to be on his own if everyone would just leave him alone, and Pam and Crevis. Ray is also creeping a little closer to God. Oh, and there is the ongoing email exchange with a South African spammer.

    My favorite passage in the book is a conversation between Oscar, Ray's former police chief, and Ray.
    **"I'll be on my best behavior." I raised my right hand.
    "I don't want your 'best' behavior," he said. "I want better behavior. Much better. No tasering witnesses, impromptu wiretaps, hacking computers, or transporting prisoners in your trunk. You need to do everything right."
    I had forgotten about the prisoner in the trunk.**

    I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Police Mystery w/o the Yuck

    This was a great book! It sucked me in and honestly kept me guessing as to who did what and why. I wasn't lost either (because this isn't the first Ray Quinn mystery) which was good because not all books with the same main character can be read out of order. Great detail, well written, even funny at times. Highly recommended!

    Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    The Corruptible (A Ray Quinn Mystery; Bk 2)

    Mark Mynheir, author of The Corruptible is an excellent writer. This is the second book of the Ray Quinn mystery and it is captivating. I generally feel if I can read a book in three days of less, it has to be good. Private investigator, Ray Quinn finds himself in cases to keep him financially afloat but there are times when this retired cop and living with a painful disbility has limited options. In the meantime, his sidekick, Crevis is learning the ins and outs to become a cop himself witht he guidance of Ray Quinn in the detective agency. Ray finds himself a new client that is rich and could possibly help him out financially. As the case progresses along, of which Ray thought would be a open and shut case, it turns out to be more mysterious than expected. Without the client telling exactly what is going on except to find a computer disk that Logan Reed downloaded company information on to. Logan Reed is dead, but no disk is found. Ray works with the force to help find the killer of Logan, as well as helping his client find the disk. Ray finds that Logan had many enemies and people of interest are holding back the truth since they are afraid of landing back in jail. In the end, Ray solves the complete mystery of the murder of Logan Reed and recovers the disk. This is really a great read; if you read the first book, The Night Watchman, you will enjoy this one also. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    2nd in Night Watchman series is superb mystery

    The Corruptible by Mark Mynheir is the second book in the Night Watchman series about private investigator Ray Quinn. Ray is a former police officer who was shot in the hip while on duty, leaving him in constant pain and forced to use a cane. That day he also watched the woman he loved shot to death. The emotional and physical pain has left him dependent on alcohol to get through each day. Ray has been hired by enigmatic tycoon Armon Mayer to track down missing employee, Logan Ramsey, who disappeared from work after stealing some important files that Mayer is desperate to get back. Ramsey was a cop, so Ray is familiar with the man and his undercover work with a motorcycle gang that led to his firing from the force. Working with his partner, Crevis, who keeps failing his police academy exam, and friend Pam, whose brother's murder Ray solved in the first book, Ray quickly finds Logan's dead body, but no sign of the missing files. The investigation turns from a theft to murder, and Ray works with his old buddies at the police department to solve Logan's murder. From high-priced boardrooms to a motorcycle gang's drug infested lair, Ray rarely loses his cynical sense of humor and quick wits. Mynheir's writing is reminiscent of Dashiell Hammet and Mike Hammer with Ray's running commentary and the where did that come from twists. The writing is impeccable. Ray says he needs Jim (Jim Beam) to get to sleep, and Joe (coffee) to get up each day. He describes his crippled leg as being good for filling his jeans and keep him from throwing his shoes away. Despite Ray's bitter humor, he has a soft heart and an unerring determination to make things right. I can't wait to read the next book in this amazing series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    MY REVIEW Ever watch the Mike Hammer t.v. shows? Read any of Mi

    MY REVIEW
    Ever watch the Mike Hammer t.v. shows? Read any of Mickey Spillane's crime novels? Well, Corruptible has a lot of that style. A tough ex-cop with danger on all sides, Ray Quinn is a character you can't help but love. He's a tough (teddy-bear) ex-cop turned private investigator with an assistant who is ready to back him in a heart-beat. Ray's new client and new case has more twists and turns than a switch-back trail.

    Mark does an incredible job in keeping the suspense high, the humor great and the pace fast, fast, fast. Through-out the story, he also weaves in Pam, the sister of Quinn's last case, who is a Christian. She helps Crevis (Ray's sidekick) prepare for the police exam, encourages Ray to let Jim (Jim Beam) go, and is there for him when he needs someone in a time of need.

    Crevis is a wonderful sidekick for Ray. Impetuous, yet faithful, young and strong, Crevis acts as Ray's bodyguard, room-mate, and desires to become a cop.

    The rest of the cast in this great novel are all well-rounded, full-bodied and complete the adventurous tale of Corruptible.

    Fast-paced, an adrenalin rush from the first page to the end. This is one incredible novel. I enjoyed reading this book and look forward to reading more by Mark Mynheir.

    I received this free Kindle copy from Blogging For Books for the purpose of writing a review. I am under no obligation to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Mark Mynheir knows how to write!! I will now be looking for any

    Mark Mynheir knows how to write!! I will now be looking for any others he writes or has written. The story has intensity and a crime mystery thats intriguing as
    you'll find yourself flying through the pages.
    I received this book from WaterBrook Multnomah publishing group in exchange for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Highly Recommended to corrupt your nights of sleep!

    Ex homicide cop Ray Quinn never expected life as private investigator to be glamorous- and being cornered in a bathroom stall by an enraged philandering husband makes it even less so. In the Corruptible Ray Quinn has his own P.I office called The Night Watchman. He and Crevis are on the case this time to solve a very complex case: Logan Ramsey an ex cop turned security guard was found in a run down motel with a knife in his chest, but the plot thickens because it seems as if everyone is a suspect since everyone hated Logan.

    Mark Mynheir sends us on a delicious mystery filled with cop humor, dark alley's and.Crevice. The character development is very rich , featuring beloved personalities from his first book The Night Watchman and in the ever blooming and bright place of Orlando Florida. Mynheir had a career in narcotics and S.W.A.T so the book although very much real life and well told, is also holding truths of what can happen on any case.

    This book was well told and absolutely awesome! I can not say it enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    A riveting novel that goes through the motion of suspenseful and wanting to know the truth and how much money it would take to betray the truth. This novel kept me on edge wanting to turn the pages before I was done with one page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Corruptible by Mark Mynheir

    The Corruptible by Mark Mynheir is the second book in the Ray Quinn Mystery Series. I haven't read any other Quinn books, the story had several references to incidents in past books, but enough background info was given that it was easy to follow.
    It is the story of Ray Quinn; former detective turned private investigator, who had to retire when he was wounded.
    In Quinn's first big job he tries to solve an easy open and shut case for his client. The man Quinn is searching for, Logan Ramsey, a dirty ex-cop who stole from his employer. In what begins as an "easy" case turns complicated. While investigating the motel murder in an attempt to find the stolen property, Quinn comes in contact with a list of unsavory characters.
    Quinn works with his young assistant Crevis, who he is training to become a cop and Quinn's quasi part time employee, Pam (a character from the first book), who tries to teach Crevis enough grammar to pass the written test for the police academy, which he had failed twice already, due to Dyslexia.
    I planned to leisurely read this story but the action on the pages kept me wanting to know more right away. If you like detective mysteries you will enjoy this book. It has interesting details such as: humor, procedural knowledge, brisk pacing, redemption and strong characters.
    I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah as part of their Blogging for Books program in return for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Riveting Story

    Ray Quinn an ex-cop turned Private Investigator, is summoned to the board room of Mayer Holdings. The corporation caters to the filthy rich, and they are missing some vital client information. Another ex-cop turned security, apparently has absconded with this information and Armon Mayer, wants it back, and is willing to pay dearly.

    "The Corruptible", by Mark Mynheir, is a captivating novel that will keep the reader on the edge of their seat. Written so as too be a movie script, I found myself riveted to the pages of this novel, just as though I was watching this story unfold on the wide screen or in real life.

    Ray Quinn, the main character, had his police career cut short by a career ending wound that left him handicapped, but don't let his cane and limp fool you. He knows how to take care of himself, and he is back up by Crevis, his up and coming assistant, who by description, looks like he could take on a Mac truck.

    When Quinn takes on the case of the missing client information, it appears to be cut and dry. Find another ex-cop, Logan Ramsey, and get the stolen property back. But, when Ray Quinn starts his investigation, he finds himself in the middle of a murder investigation, with so many suspects, hour head will be spinning, and the client information is still nowhere to be found.

    See if you can solve this complicated mystery before it's too late.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    The Corruptible: A Ray Quinn Mystery by Mark Mynheir

    The Corruptible: A Ray Quinn Mystery by Mark Mynheir is an action packed book with an even more adventure filled plot. Each page is a real suspense right to the very end! It opens up with Quinn about to be beat senseless by an angry husband of a client they had investigated. Just as he was about to be pulverized- his friend helps him out; opening up to be a real adventure. He and his partner Crevis opens up a private investigator's office, receiving a call from a man who's employee an ex-cop stole some sensitive information, when he goes to track that information down he finds the person he was going after dead in a sleazy Orlando Florida Hotel; leaving him with more questions then answers. On top of that the information that was stolen from his employer was taken from the one who originally took it. It sometimes lacks in originality but the plot really moves and you find yourself turning the page and unable to put the book down. I definitely recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    High recommend

    I received a courtesy copy of this book from Multnomah and loved it! From the first few pages, I couldn't put the book down. It was enjoyable, and I will look for more books written by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Riveting-- Another Winner

    I was introduced to Mark Mynheir via the Blogging for Books program when they sent me The Night Watchman. I loved it. So, when I got an advanced reading copy of The Corruptible, I was ecstatic. I expected it to be amazing. I wasn't disappointed.

    A part of me wants to say, "Just go order it right now" and leave that as my review, but I suppose that's not fair. This book wasn't a disappointment. So many second books are a little disappointing, but this one, if anything, is better than the first. I was drawn in immediately and had a hard time not being rude and ignoring my husband as I read it. Mark Mynheir has an incredible talent for writing. His books are perfectly edited, but not so narrowly that they are dry and read like a laundry list. However, unlike most books written in the first person, his books are so tight that I actually missed the fact that it was first person until several chapters in-- again.

    The character, Ray Quinn, can drop a line so perfectly that you can hear it. These books read like a good movie. You can feel the tension, see the colors, smell everything from the humidity to the stale pizza; you can live the story with the characters. His characterization is perfect, the plot is solid, and thankfully, the twist isn't uber predictable. He got me on one part. That's hard to do. I think I might have figured it out faster if I had read it in one sitting, but maybe not. It's just that good.

    Buy it. Just buy it. I love the book so much that I'm not giving it away. It's going up on the shelf right next to The Night Watchman and waiting for another one to join it. Five stars. Period.

    This book was provided to me by Multnomah for review-- my opinions are biased only by the quality of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The second Quinn fun inspirational Noir (see The Night Watchman) is due to the hero

    Ray Quinn retired from the Orlando Police Department due to a perpetrator shooting his hip; shattering the joint. His replacement hip forces him to use a cane to walk slowly as the ache is unbearable. To numb the mental and physical pain, Ray turned to alcohol.

    Quinn has opened up The Night Watchman Detective Agency where he mentors a rookie Crevis Creighton who wants to become a cop and employs Pam Winter, a former client. Armon Mayor of Mayor Holdings, Inc. hires him to recover stolen confidential client information. The prime suspect is Logan Ramsey, who before working at Mayor Holdings, was employed as a Narc for OPD but was forced to leave the force.

    The second Quinn fun inspirational Noir (see The Night Watchman) is due to the hero, who sets the tone early when he explains to his employees that he broke the other guy's fist with his face and uses his cane as a weapon. Other subplots add to the entertainment when for instance he electronically poses as an elderly woman scamming the email scammers offering to share money from overseas banks in crisis countries for a fee. The banter between the Night Watchman trio is amusing but caring, which enhances an exciting private investigative mystery in which Quinn ironically misses clues the audience will not.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Suspense, Humor, and Likeable Characters=A+

    "Dying on the toilet was not how I envisioned leaving this world." When I read that first line of Corruptible, I knew I was going to enjoy this book. Ray Quinn, an ex-homicide detective, recently went into the private investigating business after an injury left him unable to work on the force. His latest case has him investigating the murder of a former colleague with his sidekick, the goofy Barney Fife-like Crevis Creighton, and friend Pamela Winters.

    This book, as I state above, had me interested from the first page. I love a good suspense novel, especially with humor and quirky characters mixed in. The book had numerous twists and turns, and I definitely didn't expect the ending. Mynheir creates in Quinn a very likeable, dynamic character. Corruptible is the second and latest in the Ray Quinn series and I look forward to reading the first book, and the books to come.

    If you love reading mysteries with a twist of humor and interesting characters, you will love Corruptible.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1