BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Corsair (Oregon Files Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 194 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 195 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A pirate story with an Islamic twist

    The story begins with America's first contact with Islam and what today is called terrorists. The Barbary Pirates.

    Thomas Jefferson sent a squadron from the new U.S. Navy to teach the pirates to respect the stars and bars. After firing the captured USS Philadelphia in Tripoli' s harbor, A U.S. frigate tangled with Al-Jama's ship. The first officer and Al-Jama fight and fall overboard. Stranded on the desolate beach, the two men learn to respect each other and learn about each others religions. Al-Jama, a feared pirate that delighted in killing infidels begins to think the two religions, Islam and Christianity, can peacefully coexist. Later, myth has it that Al-Jama, who is also a respected imam, writes a fatwa that say this is true. A second myth has it that Al-Jama has the "Jewel of Jerusalem."

    Fast forward to today, and a new terrorist who has taken the name Al-Jama. His mission in life is to prevent a peace conference to be held in Tripoli from happing. At this point the usually cast of Oregon File characters enter the story.

    This is a fast paced, page turner with heros, villains and weapons larger than life. An enjoyable read.

    I recommend two other books that include Islamic terrorists and North Africa.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A hardcover, at last!

    Up till now all of Cussler's "Oregon" books have been big paperbacks. This is the first to merit a "hardcover" of it own. The story is more of the Dirk Pitt kind, where the action is non-stop in many places at once. This book has more action than others in the Oregon series. And this is the first that it feels "comfortable" to read, as there are so many characters in these stories, unlike in the Pitt and Austin books. One finally knows whose specialty does what.
    A first time reader of the Oregon books may have trouble keeping up with "who's who", but the story, like all Cussler books, is fast-paced. Plus his "behind the story" story is topical today. And his attention to detail is meticulous.
    A quick read that can be read in 3 or 4 days, as the action is non-stop.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    first "oregon" series for me

    I've read quite a few Clive Cussler offerings.I'm a fan.If the rest of the "Oregon" series are as good as this, I'll be reading the rest. Plenty of action and historical background.I always love the tie-ins to ancient history in Cussler's books.Combined with fast action and a good story, his books are always worthwhile reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome imagination

    Custler just keeps getting better. Every new adventure is is a whole new world. Some same characters on a totally different mission. Next page couldn't come fast enough.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    CUSSLER DOES IT AGAIN!

    Clive Cussler is one the best action novelists of all time! His ability to create identifiable, lovable, and also despicable characters is second to none. The Oregon Files series (co-written with Jack Du Brul) is as good as the other Cussler series starring Dirk Pitt or Kurt Austin. Great action, superb plot twists, heroic fetes...buy anything with Cussler's name on it, and you will not be disappointed!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    Cussler Does It Again

    Another great adventure story by Cussler. Would love to see this series in the movies, but we all know what Hollywood can do!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    As usual Clive and Jack grab your attention at the first sentence and don't let go until the last page.

    I bought this book because I have never read one of Clive Cussler's books that weren't worth reading again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Quick easy read

    Intresting up to date subject,easy to read, will hold your attention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Outstanding audio book! Does not get any better than this

    The books plot is well written and very exciting. I actually want to read it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tops

    Although it's not a truly Clive Cussler/Dirk Pitt novel, this story from the files of the Oregon, is pretty great. For those familiar with the Oregon series, this one is the best of the 6 published so far. Although classically unbelievable, as all Cussler associated novels are as far as their unrealistic action, it is a lot of fun to read and has no slow spots. Lots of actions to keep this book moving forward.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    Great book

    First off I love the Oregon Files series. I have also read every single Clive Cussler book except for the brand new Fargo series book, and the nonfiction books. Over all It's a great book I love his books and I hope this review helps. Please read this book and possibly almost every single other Clive Cussler book too:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Geart

    Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good Oregon Files Story

    This is my second Oregon Files read and I enjoyed it very much. Rich story telling with a broad cast of characters to follow really wove a tight story. Exciting throughout and rich in detail. Cussler continues to write fast paced and intricate suspense stories that brings the reader in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    We need more Oregon Files books!

    Dirk Pitt is great, but the Oregon Files are the best. Clive... please keep them coming! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    THEY'RE GRRREAT!

    Juan Cabrillo and his crew on the Oregon are the BEST!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Recommended reading.

    great writing, Once I started reading, it was hard to put down. Action packed and suspense filled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Eeeey


    M,,o,j.wnoq beoqwn ooq¿...dlfjjgui

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    GRREAT

    AS usual

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Shem

    This is the best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    Cussler is a fabulous story teller!

    The Oregon Files should be developed into movie series, or TV show. All are engrossing, informative and very entertaining. I vote for Michael Waverly (NCIS) to play Juan Cabrillo. So hello screenwriters/adapters-get this moving! Thanks Clive for yet another exciting adventure with the Oregon Team!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 195 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10