Customer Reviews for

Corsair (Oregon Files Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 194 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    first "oregon" series for me

    I've read quite a few Clive Cussler offerings.I'm a fan.If the rest of the "Oregon" series are as good as this, I'll be reading the rest. Plenty of action and historical background.I always love the tie-ins to ancient history in Cussler's books.Combined with fast action and a good story, his books are always worthwhile reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Quick easy read

    Intresting up to date subject,easy to read, will hold your attention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tops

    Although it's not a truly Clive Cussler/Dirk Pitt novel, this story from the files of the Oregon, is pretty great. For those familiar with the Oregon series, this one is the best of the 6 published so far. Although classically unbelievable, as all Cussler associated novels are as far as their unrealistic action, it is a lot of fun to read and has no slow spots. Lots of actions to keep this book moving forward.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good Oregon Files Story

    This is my second Oregon Files read and I enjoyed it very much. Rich story telling with a broad cast of characters to follow really wove a tight story. Exciting throughout and rich in detail. Cussler continues to write fast paced and intricate suspense stories that brings the reader in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Recommended reading.

    great writing, Once I started reading, it was hard to put down. Action packed and suspense filled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    Cussler is a fabulous story teller!

    The Oregon Files should be developed into movie series, or TV show. All are engrossing, informative and very entertaining. I vote for Michael Waverly (NCIS) to play Juan Cabrillo. So hello screenwriters/adapters-get this moving! Thanks Clive for yet another exciting adventure with the Oregon Team!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    fast action

    great for bad weather days sitting by a fire, the action and suspence kept me going well past my bed time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Cussler Story

    Cussler's books are always very well written. He follows a story line very well. It's not always easy to see how the beginning of the book relates to the rest of the story, but in the end it comes together nicely.
    The idea of a ship that from the outside looks like a tramp steamer and on the inside is a modern ship is very novel. The characters are also very memorable. Their ability to escape difficult situations is at times a little farfetched, but Cussler always has a unique way of the characters getting out of these situations. It's hard to put these books down since the action is non-stop. Sometimes it appears that the situation is hopeless, but they always pull though. I look forward to reading the next Cussler book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    Typical Cussler

    Easy read,very good way to pass some restfull time without deep thoughts.
    I try to keep one of his books on the side table at all times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    better than the recent pitt novels.

    after having read most all of cussler's dirk pitt books, i find that the oregon files are the only ones that keep my interest now. there is a lot more to do with a "super" ship and can keep it topical to today's headlines. certainly more interesting characters as well. it's a pretty quick read for light entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Corsair. Typical Cussler fast read good topical & timely subject plot. Great escapism. I have read every single Cussler & Cussler co-authored book except his non-fiction books. While Corsair is not his best it does not disappoint. Very

    able. Look forward to his next which is scheduled for release in early June. I always buy the first day of release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    Another Thriller By Cussler & DeBrul

    Great read to escape the real world and dream of being a Swashbuckler. Sticks to their formula of the good guys winning after suffering adversity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Wow!

    Exciting book with great characters! A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Classic Cussler

    I may have missed a couple of Cussler, DuBrul series but have read every Dirk Pitt book written by Cussler. This one has been by favorite of the Oregon series. I found the writing superior to earlier books and the chacters more compelling and human. DuBrul and Cussler seem to have hit their stride as collaborators with this book. Juan Cabrillio has gained an identity that is so multi-facetted that I thoroughly enjoyed this character development.

    There was a flavor of Christian spirituallity without any form of brow-beating that seemed real and tender, like the authors were exploring themselves. I felt given the topic Islam/ Christianity finding a respectful balance that this touch was appreciated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The best of Cusslers recent books (thanks to Du Brul?)

    Cussler is one of my all time favorite adventure writers. "Raise The Titanic" being my introduction to the genre back in highschool. However, in recent years I have not been that happy with the Dirk Pitt Series or the other spin off books. The one Exception being the "Oregon Files" Series. And this I attribute to Jack Du Brul (do check out his Philip Mercer series, the most recent of which is "Havoc"). Corsair is another fun entertaining read in the series. An adventure that mixes history with a great thrill ride! If you are not happy with recent Cussler adventure books, you still should give this one a chance. For a rough little gem of a thriller I also have to recommend the thriller cult hit "A Tourist In The Yucatan."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4