Customer Reviews for

Corsair (Oregon Files Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 194 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A pirate story with an Islamic twist

    The story begins with America's first contact with Islam and what today is called terrorists. The Barbary Pirates.

    Thomas Jefferson sent a squadron from the new U.S. Navy to teach the pirates to respect the stars and bars. After firing the captured USS Philadelphia in Tripoli' s harbor, A U.S. frigate tangled with Al-Jama's ship. The first officer and Al-Jama fight and fall overboard. Stranded on the desolate beach, the two men learn to respect each other and learn about each others religions. Al-Jama, a feared pirate that delighted in killing infidels begins to think the two religions, Islam and Christianity, can peacefully coexist. Later, myth has it that Al-Jama, who is also a respected imam, writes a fatwa that say this is true. A second myth has it that Al-Jama has the "Jewel of Jerusalem."

    Fast forward to today, and a new terrorist who has taken the name Al-Jama. His mission in life is to prevent a peace conference to be held in Tripoli from happing. At this point the usually cast of Oregon File characters enter the story.

    This is a fast paced, page turner with heros, villains and weapons larger than life. An enjoyable read.

    I recommend two other books that include Islamic terrorists and North Africa.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A hardcover, at last!

    Up till now all of Cussler's "Oregon" books have been big paperbacks. This is the first to merit a "hardcover" of it own. The story is more of the Dirk Pitt kind, where the action is non-stop in many places at once. This book has more action than others in the Oregon series. And this is the first that it feels "comfortable" to read, as there are so many characters in these stories, unlike in the Pitt and Austin books. One finally knows whose specialty does what.
    A first time reader of the Oregon books may have trouble keeping up with "who's who", but the story, like all Cussler books, is fast-paced. Plus his "behind the story" story is topical today. And his attention to detail is meticulous.
    A quick read that can be read in 3 or 4 days, as the action is non-stop.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome imagination

    Custler just keeps getting better. Every new adventure is is a whole new world. Some same characters on a totally different mission. Next page couldn't come fast enough.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    CUSSLER DOES IT AGAIN!

    Clive Cussler is one the best action novelists of all time! His ability to create identifiable, lovable, and also despicable characters is second to none. The Oregon Files series (co-written with Jack Du Brul) is as good as the other Cussler series starring Dirk Pitt or Kurt Austin. Great action, superb plot twists, heroic fetes...buy anything with Cussler's name on it, and you will not be disappointed!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    Cussler Does It Again

    Another great adventure story by Cussler. Would love to see this series in the movies, but we all know what Hollywood can do!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    As usual Clive and Jack grab your attention at the first sentence and don't let go until the last page.

    I bought this book because I have never read one of Clive Cussler's books that weren't worth reading again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Outstanding audio book! Does not get any better than this

    The books plot is well written and very exciting. I actually want to read it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    Great book

    First off I love the Oregon Files series. I have also read every single Clive Cussler book except for the brand new Fargo series book, and the nonfiction books. Over all It's a great book I love his books and I hope this review helps. Please read this book and possibly almost every single other Clive Cussler book too:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Geart

    Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    We need more Oregon Files books!

    Dirk Pitt is great, but the Oregon Files are the best. Clive... please keep them coming! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    THEY'RE GRRREAT!

    Juan Cabrillo and his crew on the Oregon are the BEST!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    GRREAT

    AS usual

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Shem

    This is the best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    great book

    story keeps your insterest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    A must read for any fan of action packed books!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Just finished this book last night. Went to bed late because I could
    not put the book down. The last thirty pages were so action packed
    I felt like I was on the Oregon with the rest of the characters. Have already ordered book # 7 and can not wait to dive into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Best Clive Cussler Ever

    Corsair is the best Clive Cussler book I have read to date. The story was new and exciting and not as predictable as some of his books in the past have been. I love the Dirk Pitt novels, which are great for pure escapism and fun. Corsair takes the fun and escapism one step further with a novel that also includes intrigue, multiple plots, and more than one likable character! While this book retains some of the elements of the Dirk Pitt novels, ie the characters always seem to have just enough bullets, it spins a more complex web and is harder to figure out the ending or whodunit. The only unrealistic part was having Khadafi in the role of someone who wants peace! We can wish! I would highly recommend this book to Clive Cussler fans and anyone else who likes good action packed fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great Oregon story!

    I just eat up this wonderful series and can't recommend it enough. Love that Jack Brul... teamed with Clive Cussler, they are unbeatable adventure writers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great a read as ever.

    Always look forward to Cussler's books. Even reread them. Upbeat. Makes this 85 year old female feel young again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5