Customer Reviews for

The Corset Diaries

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Had me crying was laughing so hard!

    I am used to reading Katie MacAlister books that are part of a series, so this stand alone book made me nervous! I am def. a huge series reader, as I like to watch the charachters evolve and change! But this book really, very seriously, had me crying laughing sooooo hard!! I was in shock at many of the things that happened, and applaud MacAlister for daring to yes, "go there"!! Once again, she writes a book that is funny, romantic, and down right crude (at times)!! She just knows how to put them all together in a few hundred pages!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Probably My Favorite Book of All Time!!

    So to sum it up... AMAZING!!!.. This book had me laughing so hard I was in tears. Katie Mac-Alister went above and beyond romance comedy with the Corset Diaries. From hilarious best friends you could strangle, hot men with issues, snobby children, to corset 'issues'. This is a great sit down and finish in one sitting romance. FIVE STARS!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2004

    LAST PAGE AND I'M READY FOR ANOTHER

    I'm hooked! I'm am not usually a buyer of romance novels, but the title and the fact that I am also 'skinny-challenged' caught my interest. I'm so glad I took the risk. This is a wonderfully written story that not only fulfills the romance novel lover, but satisfied a suspense novel seeker like me. It's a good thing I didn't have to wear a corset when I was reading this, because I would have split the sides laughing!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2004

    Could not put it down!

    The title interested me so I picked it up. but then I could not put it down all night. I finished this book in one night and have shared it with several co-workers who have enjoyed as much as I have and we have found another great romantic author to share at work. Laughed at quite a few passages and will most likely pick up again soon when I get my book back. Loved It!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    A Deliciously Funny Romance Book!!!

    Hi everyone! I want to recommend this book! It is the funniest & sexiest book I've read so far this year. I just couldn't put it down! The Corset Diaries has everything from a lascivious romp in the sheets to a hilarious upside down bouncing Lady on a horse who couldn't quite figure out how to ride a side saddle, let alone in a confining corset! You will laugh out loud through the whole book, but also, the steamy romance that blossoms between Lady Tessa & Max, well, I won't get in to it. You'll just have to read it, & find out for yourself. Pleaseeeeeeee, don't pass this book up, it's one of the best books written this year. I just hope that Hollywood makes a movie out of this book. It has all those great qualities.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2004

    Exceeding high expectations!

    This was a wonderful book! The characters were vivid and humorous, the plot was intriguing. It was the first book I had read by Katie MacAllister and I can't wait to read another!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    Fun romance

    To pay off the medical bills of her deceased spouse thirty nine years old American Tessa Riordan is elated to obtain a job on a reality TV show in London. The $10K compensation will get the genealogical expert out of debt though she frets that her weight will embarrass her when the producer rejects her for being to plump........................................ Still the ¿skinny challenged¿ woman gets the part of the wealthy American marrying an English duke in 1879 for the show ¿A Month in the Life of a Victorian Duke¿. While the corset makes it impossible to breath, Tessa finds herself very attracted to her ¿husband¿, Max Edgerton, who in reality is an architect, and loves his real life daughter, who also appears in the show. To her shock, she believes handsome Max reciprocates though she feels he is commitment shy. In front of an audience Tessa must persuade her duke that he could fall in love with a woman she feels he cannot lift..................................... This is an enjoyable contemporary romance that places people used to modern conveniences and freedoms into a strict aristocratic environment thirty-five years prior to the liberating of the European masses by World War One events. The story line is fun to follow as an amusing Tessa laughs at her own foibles including some negative bodily exports, but is quite serious when it comes to loving Max and his daughter. Max is a delight as he is ready to lift his beloved to new horizons. Fans will enjoy this entertaining anachronistic look at displacement as the modern crowd struggles with life just over a century ago................................... Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2004

    so funny it hurts

    Last fall, I stepped into a hole in the back yard and twisted my knee. At the time, that was so painful, I did not notice I cracked open the sternum of my ribcage. I woke in great pain during the night and had to be rushed to hospital. The immediately solution was stuff me into a corset to where I could not breath - crushing my ribcage. Surprisingly, you get 'sort of' used it as the weeks pass, but you really are amazed at the women that lived their whole lives in that fashion. It's small wonder they swooned! So, recalling how bad it hurt to laugh with a corset, I am eternally grateful that Katie Macalister waited until I was out of the bloody thing to release the Corset Diaries. Had I read this while trussed up like a turkey, I would have been in serious trouble! I would so hate to have my demise on Ms. Macalister conscience! And I fear that would have been the result. This book is just such a howl. Katie's is a brand of humour that makes one feel good. It's a special gift. Her books won't change the world, solve the rain forest problem or go down into the history of literature, but they are sheer fun. And this one is another special gem from a very talented writer. It's a funny, witty, sexy, Benny Hill - Monty Python bawdy romp. Some people don't get Brit humour, so they miss all the fun. Sorry for them. The rest of us shall delight in this tale of Tessa, a less than stunningly perfect, 39-year-old who takes on the chore of acting the role of Duchess for a week, corset and all. Frankly, I felt for Tessa when her heart goes pitter-patter over her leading man Max ¿ her ¿Duke¿. Rapid breaths in steel stays is just dangerous! Its wickedly sly dialogue charms us as ¿Duchess¿ Tessa adjusts to life as it was over a century ago. Stocked full of charming characters, it¿s a delight from start to finish. Katie's brings her special touch to this amusing story. Still, I am so glad I read it now, instead of four months ago when my brush with a corset left deep impression on me - figuratively and literally!! Keep spinning the magic, and we shall keep laughing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    She said

    An interesting read. Very funny! Outrageous really. A+++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    One of the nest

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Laugh out loud funny!

    Great read! :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Funny!

    This book made me laugh! I enjoyed reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Fun

    I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    laughed til I cried

    I am not a die hard genre fan, rather, I enjoy any kind of book as long as it is well-written and holds my attention. So, while romance novels are not usually my first choice of reading material, I decided to give it a chance, and I'm happy that I did.

    This book cracked me up, from the moment the plucky heroine pukes on the hero's shoes to the final fade to black, I was captivated. MacAlister does a great job of letting you 'hear' the protagonist's voice, up to and including all of her lovable...shall we say...eccentricities?

    Even with the humor and the slapstick fun that abounds, Tessa, the heroine is a real person. She's a little on the chubby side and self-conscious about it, but not to the point that it cripples her. She stands up for herself and goes after what she wants. She's intelligent and she knows it. She's a widow, which gives her both strength and vulnerability. She wants Max, she wants him bad, and she tells him so. But she also tells him she's not quite ready for that final leap into a romance. She uses the hard-earned wisdoms of a long marriage that ended in death to help her figure out Max's 12 year old daughter, even if it means she might lose Max in the end because of it. And throughout, as Tessa navigates this minefield of emotion; crazy, goofy, and absolutely hysterical situations swirl around her, buffeting her this way and that. She slips on a banana peel or two...it's hard not to when they are literally falling from the heavens...but she keeps on going in a generally forward direction, perservering.

    If you like to laugh, read this book. If you want a heroine who is 39 rather than 21, read this book. If you relate better to a heroine who has thighs, read this book. If you like your heroines to always have a snappy comeback, read this book. But most most of all, if you just like a good story, read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    Without a doubt her best book!

    I've read some of her others, but this is by far her best and I've only read the others hoping she can match the wit and charaters she displays in this tome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    Funniest Read I've had in a Long Time!

    I read a Hard Day's Night, but this is my favorite one of hers so far. The wit is incredibly funny and the love scenes are well done. Keep the funny novels coming, Katie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3