Customer Reviews for

Cosmic

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Cosmic

I have read a few of his books, but Cosmic , by far was the best. A little too easy offa read for my age (12) but it was very easy to relate to. Im not a freakishly tall boy, nor do I live in England but this book was AH- MAZING!

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book

Is flippen awsomeness rat a five and put a agree if you do

posted by 10896483 on January 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Cosmic

    I have read a few of his books, but Cosmic , by far was the best. A little too easy offa read for my age (12) but it was very easy to relate to. Im not a freakishly tall boy, nor do I live in England but this book was AH- MAZING!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    A reviewer

    Frank Cottrell Boyce's new book Cosmic can be appreciated on many different levels, which means both children and adults will enjoy reading it. Twelve-year-old Liam is constantly being treated as though he's much older, simply because he's tall and mature-looking for his age. Boyce sprinkles in many keen life insights beginning on the very first page when Liam says, ¿everyone lies about their age. Adults pretend to be younger. Teenagers pretend to be older. Children wish they were grown-ups. Grown-ups wish they were children.¿ When Liam pretends to be a dad with a daughter who is actually his classmate just so he can win a contest, he finds himself off on an adventure he could have never imagined. He keeps his cool, learning how to be ¿dadly¿ by watching other dads and drawing upon lessons he learned playing World of Warcraft. Liam's innocent observations on human behavior are very funny and perceptive, and you'll keep turning the pages to see where they lead to next. At it's heart, Cosmic is a love story about dads¿what it means to be one as well as what it means to have one. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Cosmic is a story that can be enjoyed by any age group. If you e

    Cosmic is a story that can be enjoyed by any age group. If you enjoy comedy and excitement then this is the book for you. The plot is so good that it makes you want to keep turning the pages until you get to the end. The writer’s style is great. I like how the story is so free flowing and how everything is just pieced together perfectly. And on top of that he always seems to hit you with something unexpected. The level of suspense doesn’t hit the peak as it does in a mystery or horror novel, but the suspense is there. He ends the chapter in such a way where you have to continue onto the next chapter
    Liam is a twelve year old boy who lives in Waterloo, England. He goes to school like every normal kid his age; but he has a problem, he is very tall and big so everyone mistakes him for an adult. He always gets made fun of and really only has one friend, named Florida. She is a girl in his grade that is obsessed with anything that has to do with Hollywood. Sometimes they go places and act as if Liam is a dad and Florida is his daughter. Liam looks so old that people actually believe it. One their father-daughter schemes go a little too far and they end up in china waiting to go in rocket which is going up to space. This story is the sequence of events of how they got there and what happens after they get there. It also is about how Liam learns about himself and how to deal with being taller than everyone else and being able to realize it is not a disadvantage.
    There is really a protagonist and antagonist characters in this book but there is a rivalry between Liam and some other characters later on in the story. The characters and the events they go through are both very believable. The author did a good job of making this fiction novel seem as if it could actually take place at this present time. I have never really read any other books like this one. The plot is very good and it is one of the best books I have ever read. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes an adventure novel that is tied in with a little bit of comedy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review title: Cosmic Confusion & Chaos? Out of this world fu

    Review title: Cosmic Confusion & Chaos?
    Out of this world fun. A well developed storyline along with an engaging protagonist are sure to keep your attention, when you read "Cosmic". Grab your space gear and prepare for a special surprise as you ride with Liam beyond the Earth's atmosphere for a once-in-his-lifetime thrill ride. Kind of makes you think of "Willy Wonka and His Chocolate Factory" yet with an out in space backdrop.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    SPACE

    Liam is a twelve year old old kid who pretends to be an adult. He looks and acts like and adult. But his spaaceship. roles out of orbit. LIam is trapped in a space ship. Through out the whole book he is talking into a recorder. It talkes about when he was a kid pretending to be an adult. He even pretens he has a daughter,and he test drives a car. It starts out he is on a ride called cosmic. It is said to have changed every wgo goes on it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Post

    &clover &clovers &hearts &diamonds &kings &queens

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Great

    This is a great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Galaxy

    She walks in, almost regretting her decision of leaving Sun. She sighed and looked up at the stars. She trotted along the forest floor. "Matter....Ozone......please....." The old fox dipped her head to drink from a river. "River-Dog.......Tell me Ozone is with you."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    To all WATCH

    &hearts &clubs &spades &diamonds &star &omega &beta

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    An old favorite!

    I read this book about a year ago. Probably one of the best books i have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    My name is Pickle

    I have't read any of it, but is good:D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Dbdhsjdj

    Poopy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Amazing

    This book was amazing. Also did you know that this book was an evook and you could get it for free? I got this book for free and it was amazing. You should read this ook if you are bored or have nothing to do at home. Read it a park, maybe under a tree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    The sample was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Cosmic rocks!!!!!!!

    Best book ever! Really humorous. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Really!?!

    People! You are old nough to know to spell the words right in your reviews!!! If you spell things wrong, people can't understand you! It is like saying 2+2 is 5!!!!! It is really stupid when you don't spell your words right. Double check your review before hitting post! PLEASE!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    By anonymous on february 29 2012

    This book was great and i think it is very ironic because i am in fifth grade and i have a friend who is a boy and is like 5 ft.8 and he kinda has facial hair.. anyway i would highly recommend this book! It was a very entertaining story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Best book ever

    Im only elevwn and rrad bigger books than this but it was a realy good book. But now im wondering why he would do that if your wonding wat im talking about then you will just have to purchase the book and find out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Cosmic is cosmic

    This book is about a 12 year old boy who pretends to be a 30 year old man.One day his mom and dad send him off to Little Stars Drama Acting Class, he meets Florida Kirbyftg

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    This sounds so cool

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3