Customer Reviews for

The Count of Monte Cristo

Average Rating 4.5
( 1726 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1081)

4 Star

(316)

3 Star

(136)

2 Star

(64)

1 Star

(129)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

107 out of 117 people found this review helpful.

Best Version I Have Seen

I have noticed that most of the reviews for this edition speak about Dumas' work in general, but I have to make a point that Robin Buss makes in the beginning of the book: almost every other version of The Count of Monte Cristo in English is either an abridgment or the ...
I have noticed that most of the reviews for this edition speak about Dumas' work in general, but I have to make a point that Robin Buss makes in the beginning of the book: almost every other version of The Count of Monte Cristo in English is either an abridgment or the product of Victorian editing.

This book has to be praised for the mere fact that Buss went back to the original French and translated it wonderfully, not abridging or altering the essential storyline.

As of now, this is the only edition of such caliber that I know of, and for now, it is all I recommend that people buy.

Avoid all other editions and publishers, or at least make sure whether the one you want is an abridgment or not.

posted by akihiko on October 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Abridged Versions Dont tell the whole story

I had purchased a copy of this book because I love the story of the Count of Monte Cristo and wanted a version in hard back. It was only after I was reading through it when I noticed stuff different from my penguin soft back version did I flip to the front to discover ...
I had purchased a copy of this book because I love the story of the Count of Monte Cristo and wanted a version in hard back. It was only after I was reading through it when I noticed stuff different from my penguin soft back version did I flip to the front to discover the book was abridged. Who ever edited this book had to have been stupid because they did a horrible job of editing. I could understand cutting material which isn't critical to the story. Examples from the unabridged version included 'How to rescue a gardener from dormice who are eating his peaches' and 'the road for Belgium.' However to deliberately omit major portions which are critical to the whole of the story is wrong and causes the whole story to be misrepresented. Major portions which were omitted included the the final judgment of Danglars at the hands of Vampa, and also the story of Andrea Cavalcanti and how he ties to both Villefort and Danglars. Even the comic book version of the story I read as a kid managed to included all of these. This abridged version of this book isnt worth the paper it is written on. I am extremely disappointed at Barnes and Noble for putting their name on crap like this. Don't waste your money, go get yourself a penguin classics version instead and read the whole story.

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1738 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 87
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Whole Package.

    This book contains mysteries and hidden secrets inscribed in every page. It just touches up on every kind of situation on person could possibly be in. Such as love, revenge, betrayl, murder, and oh there is so much more entertiwned within one book. Hey, don't let the thickness of it fool you, it's what you read that makes it a classic for over a century. Future readers I recommend it highly,the plot line is a unique one, and it'll keep your eyeballs glued to the pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    FINALLY--UNABRIDGED EDITION AVAILABLE

    I have always loved the stories of Alexandre Dumas, esp. from the Dartanion Romance Series, however, it is very difficult to find UNABRIDGED editions. I have seen all three versions of the movie, and read the abridged edition of this book, but now I can finally read THE WHOLE STORY!!! I only wish that ALL the Dumas books were available in an unabridged series/set.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    One of the BEST novels

    This book is amazing. The first time I read it I was shocked by the great plot and characterization. I bought the book later on and read it again and had the same effect. I mean you have to read this book...Alexandre Dumas is a fantastic author

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    Adventurous and Scandalous; What more could you want in a book!!

    oh my god. that's almost all i can say. its almost an understatement to say this was the most amazing book i've ever read. i am only disappointed that i read the abridged version. . . we read this in my english class and i am without words to decribe how much i truely love this book. there are about 52 characters in this book, so i'd recommend a character chart (which will come in handy, believe me. write the relations amoung the characters; husband of..., daughter of..., ect) in the begging the reader is introduced to a bunch of seemingless unassociated characters, but as the story progresses, you begin to see how small of a world they really live in. from illegitimate children to murder to adventure and outright scandal, this book is extremely thrilling and a definate page-turner. from start to finish its unparallelable. i would recommend this book to anyone and everyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2000

    Best Book I've Ever Read!

    I have roughly 200 to 300 books in my collection with a great array of authors. But this by far is one of the best books I've ever read. I originally purchased it in paperback, and have just ordered the HardCover book for my elite collection. (I dont think I will ever crack the spine on it)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2014

    Enough

    Jesus christ,enough with you morons just writing nonsense.just about every review section i read ,has a bunch of idiots spouting nonsense. You would think barnes and noble would remove them , but nooooo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    I must admit, I didn't know this book was abridged until after I

    I must admit, I didn't know this book was abridged until after I bought it and looked at the title page.
    I've seen other editions, at Barnes & Noble, no less, that were even MORE abridged, about 57 chapters or so.
    This particular edition has 71 chapters, and many other editions, not just B&N, are this long.  
    I've only found out that the
    unabridged editions are 1000 to 1200 pages. What do the missing parts contain, and are they worth reading?
    I don't know, but if you are interested, reading this particular edition might be a good start, and may help you understand
    it a little better should you want to proceed to the entire unabridged edition.That being said, I really didn't mind the book, and I've always wanted to read it. It is a tale of a seemingly
     innocent man, Edmond Dantes, who, as he started out in life, was a sailor for a merchant ship, captained by
     Morrel, who earned his favor, and had the love of a beautiful woman, named Mercedes.
    This is where the plot comes in; Dantes fortune is eyed with envy by two others,
     Fernand, who knows and wants the girl, and Danglers, who was jealous of Dantes position on the
    merchant ship. So they plot his demise by framing him with a false accusation by way of a letter
     implicating him as an ally of Napoleon, where he is arrested at his betrothal to Mercedes, and with
    the compliance of a Judge, Villefort, throws Dantes in a prison on the an island called the Chateau d'If.
    There he remains for 14 years, where he meets up with another prisoner, where they exchange stories of their
    lives, how they were unjustly thrown in this dark dungeon, and how, as Dantes' friend dies, he leaves him a
    fortune on the Isle of Monte Cristo should Dantes successfully escape. Dantes, when his friend dies, puts himself in the sack of his friend, where it is tossed into the
    ocean.  Dantes, escapes, and goes to the Isle of Monte Cristo to claim his inheritance.An Innkeeper updates him on the
     goings on of his peers, where he finds that Mercedes, with Dantes gone, marries his rival
     Fernand and has a son (Albert), and the three families of those responsible for his demise
     all live close to one another in Paris.Dantes then takes on the title Count of Monte Cristo, and then goes to Paris to live among
     these families, observe their goings on and whatever corruption may surface and he exploits it,
     but passively, without any hint of him being involved, and without any of them knowing who he
     really is, thinking they've forgotten about their evil deed.So the plot comes in like a soap opera. There is no swashbuckling like in the movies, but the
    plot is interesting. Also, the Count saves those who helped him early on, and the villains have
     acquired new names, but the Count see through them, and from here, I'll let the reader figure
    out the rest. You will like the ending, but I that's all I'll say.Anyway, it's a classic, even in it's abridged form, but you do have to go back a few chapters to
     understand the present situation. Also, you have to pair the names (Fernand=Morcerf, etc.)Part of it gets confusing, with the plots and situations of each individual family of which the Count is involved.
     I have the impression the the full version may be boring, but that's just a guess. It may also clear up
    what is missed here, but after reading this particular version, still worth reading, you may or may not
    want to read the full version, depending on what you think of this edition.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    I totally liked this book ... so much that I decided to read the

    I totally liked this book ... so much that I decided to read the critical analysis of the various characters, and then I realized this abridged version isn't at all like the original. Very disappointing! Whole segments are missing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    Dashing young Edmond Dant├Ęs, a sailor from Marseilles, France, h

    Dashing young Edmond Dantès, a sailor from Marseilles, France, has everything. At age nineteen, he is engaged to a beautiful woman named Mercedes, is about to become the captain of a ship, and is well liked by almost everyone. But in 1815, the fateful year of Napoleon’s brief return to power, he unknowingly carries a politically incriminating letter home, merely as a favor to his dying captain, and his perfect life is shattered when he is framed by jealous rivals—Danglars, who wants his position as captain; Fernand, who wants his girlfriend; and the deputy procrureur de Villefort, who wants to keep secret the fact that his father, to whom the letter was addressed, is a Napoleonist. As a result of their betrayal, Dantes is thrown into a dark prison cell at the Château d'If for fourteen years. There he befriends a fellow-prisoner, the Abbé Faria, and learns of a vast fortune on the island of Monte Cristo. Following the Abbe’s death, Dantes escapes, locates the fortune, and becomes “the Count of Monte Cristo.”

    Several years later, the Count comes to Paris where all three of his betrayers now live. Danglars is a rich banker. Fernand, who married Mercedes, is now the Count de Morcerf. And de Villefort is the chief procureur of the King. Dantes seeks both justice and revenge. How will he go about achieving his goals? And what will be the results? The Count of Monte Cristo began serialization in the Journal des Débats in 1844 and was published in book form in 1846, shortly after Dumas’s most famous book, The Three Musketeers, and did even better than its predecessor. The book is not for young children. There are several references to drinking alcohol and using tobacco. The language is not too bad, but the words “God” and “Lord” are occasionally used as interjections. Three individuals contemplate suicide, and two other individuals actually commit it. One instance of ballroom dancing occurs. While no overt sex scenes are described, as in The Three Musketeers, a couple of references to men who have mistresses are found. A character literally goes insane. Seventh grade and up is suggested for the reading level.

    While some might see only justice in thwarting the plans of evil men, revenge is clearly and obviously the theme of the story. However, there are instances where Dantes in mercy relents from his desire for revenge, and in the end he learns that seeking vengeance can cause some unintended yet hurtful consequences for those whom he loves. References to seeking God’s will and trusting in the Lord abound. The beginning and ending are both quite exciting; the middle drags a bit slowly and is a little confusing with all the new names, but, of course, the information is necessary in understanding the conclusion. In Homeschooling Today magazine, Betty Burger wrote, “This story’s plot is crafted so superbly and intricately that nothing can be left out without damaging the story. Read an unabridged version. It is worth all 123 chapters.” Well, if you have infinite wealth to afford a book with 1000+ pages and unlimited time to devote to reading it, that is all right, but for those of us who are lacking in both funds and time, the abridged version, in which the removed sections are explained in brief detail by footnotes, is satisfactory.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Don't buy this version!!

    There was a delay with the turning of the pages from the beginning. When I got to the middle of the book the pages would not turn at all without having to restart the device. I just got off the phone with customer support and we did reristered the device, archive etc. and nothing worked. B&N did say they would credit me for the book (its great by the way). I just wanted to warn others of the problem I had with this version.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Unreadable

    Crap

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Exellent

    I loveed this book five stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    The Count of Monte Cristo was a suspenseful novel that took plac

    The Count of Monte Cristo was a suspenseful novel that took place in Marseilles, France. The story about a man named Edmond Dantes, who is framed for crime by three men who are jealous of his success and happiness. The novel had some very interesting parts, and I learned a lot about the history in France during the time after Napoleon’s rule. Although the book was very long, it was never too dull. The vocabulary was difficult at times, but I learned many new words. My favorite part of the novel was Edmond’s escape from prison. The feeling of not knowing if Edmond would survive or not, was extremely dramatic. It was written magnificently with many details, which made it easy to visualize what was happening.
    Edmond’s struggle with revenge and learning how he hurt so many people around him was eye opening. I realized that though it might feel good to get revenge on people who have wronged you; it is possibly not the best choice. Edmond got carried away with his revenge and it really showed in the novel. His actions hurt many innocent people. When Caderousse gave Edmond vital information without knowing who he really was, it taught me to be careful about what you say to strangers. You never know what another person will do with the information you give him or her.
    The ending of the book was great because it showed a different side of Edmond. He finally realized his mistakes, and he reconsidered the people who had caused his downfall. Overall, I would recommend this book to young adults. Some parts were confusing and hard to understand, so I would not recommend this book to the younger readers. I think this book teaches many lessons, and it is a good tale about revenge and heartbreak.



    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Great Unusable book

    I love this book but am not able to finish it • The pages won't turn and it keeps locking up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Horrible copy. Do not buy!!!!!

    Terrible editing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Dont Bother!!

    You cant turn the pages and so you will end up trying to read a cheaper version and that is like reading hieroglyphics! I was so frustrated because this is my all time favorite book. I wore out the copy I had and thought that this would be a great way to usher in the new age of e-reading. I was very disappointed to say the very least!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Copy with brown cover is garbage

    Dont buy, my keeps freezing and i suspect i should have bought a kindle. Nook sucks, and the freezing is horrible. The story itself is great and a must read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Don't waste your .99 cents!

    I was really excited about reading the full unabridged version! But when I only had about 1,000 pages left the pages stopped showing up. I'd try to turn the page and it would just be a blank white screen or if a page did show up it would be several pages ahead of where I was reading. It never would let me see those pages it skipped which is extremely irritating! So if you are wanting to read the unabridged version DON'T BUY THIS ONE!!! IT DOESN'T WORK!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Don't download

    Could not open the free sample

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    This is horrible!

    I ordered the UNabridged version translated by Robin Buss and it gave me this load of crap. Seriously, it's six HUNDRED pages shorter than the unabridged version so it was like buying a dairy cow just to have it delivered butchered. I want the book that I ordered, not this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1738 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 87