Customer Reviews for

Countdown (Eve Duncan Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    highly recommend

    love the series, keeps you on the edge of your chair, later books in series are too short though so beware as costs only go up--still, am looking forward to next book

    books are somewhat repetitous the further you get into the series, wasted story space with repeated back story of characters and repeated background

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    I highly recommend all Iris Johansen or her sons books

    It was very exciting and on the end of my chair. I try very hard to read all her books. Please keep them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Excellent

    A Jane adventure--hope there are more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This is a must read series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    Thrilling

    It was a great continuation of the relationship between Jane and Trevor. Loved the mystery behind the treasure. Kept me reading, couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    Amazing!

    As all the rest of these books this one was one of my favorites I think! The love between Trevor and Jane was just out of this world! I love a good mystery with the love that was in this book! It really keeps you guessing and I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2007

    This Was The BEST Book I've Ever Read!!!

    Countdown is so AMAZING!!!! Although I would have preferred to see more of Trevor and Jane's relationship. I hope Johansen continue's to write about them because I feel there's so much potential in their relationship and I'd like to see them get to know each other better. After I read Blind Alley, I HAD to get this bok to find out more about Trevor and Jane! Great book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    loved loved loved this book

    the interaction between trevor and jane is great. i cannot wait til iris comes out with another book, she pulls me in everytime. i hope she writes more about jane and trevor, and i wanna here more about macduff and jock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    What's in store for Jane now?

    I love Jane McQuire and Trevor! I thought this book was as good as the last and I'm hooked now. I would liked to have seen a happier ending for Jane...maybe riding off into the sunset with Trevor or something like that. Maybe a new adventure for our heroine and her leading man that promises happy ever after with some kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    Loved It!

    I can't wait to find out more about Jane. I would like to see what happens between Jane and Macduff. This book was just as thrilling as the rest of them! I encourage you to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    love story

    I love the story line between jane and trevor. I can!t wait until she comes out with another story line between the two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    I couldn't put this one down

    This is a great read! I love the Eve Duncans Series and was excited about reading this one. I think Janes charecter is very good and Johansen did a great job on this book. I couldn't stop reading this one. I definetly recomend this one to anyone who liked Blind Alley, Agian jane is the main charecter and is very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2006

    Great Book!

    I enjoyed this book very much. I agree that it is easier to understand and follow if you read Blind Alley first, but still overall I thought it was well-written and had an interesting plot. I just think that readers who are big fans of the Eve Duncan series will have to accept that she is no longer the main focus of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2005

    SHE DID IT AGAIN

    Perhaps I enjoyed COUNTDOWN so much, because I read it back to back with BLIND ALLEY. By reading the two books this way I lost nothing of the story line. I'm not sure that would have been as true if there had been a long time in between the two books. Though Iris recapped nicely, I had the pleasure of going from one book right to the next. Plus she has left a world of sub characters to write stories about that I would love to read. She's done it before in other books and I can see her spinning off from this book with McDuff or especially Josh. Coming full circle back to Jane, Trevor, Eve and Joe through Josh. Back to COUNTDOWN, once again Iris threw in enough twist and turns to keep you guessing to the end and few due it as well as her. I think the problem most people will have with this book is it is more Jane's story and Jane is grown up now. In BLIND ALLEY Jane was begining to enter adult hood and was as independent as ever but she was still only seventeen, so her relationship with Joe and Eve was still one that reflected that. But in COUNTDOWN, Jane is an adult and for so many of Iris's books, Jane was a child, people don't want her to grow-up and see the changes in her or in her relationship with Eve and Joe. For some that will be hard to accept. In COUNTDOWN, she is making adult choices, and Eve and Joe are having to let her, (they are in the shadow) and another person is becoming important to her. These are not changes everyone would want to identify with. Usually Iris's subcharacter spin-offs are not as focused on parent child roles. As I said at the begining of my review, I find it hard to seperate COUNTDOWN from BLIND ALLEY, since both of the stories are Jane's. So, for anyone that has a problem with COUNTDOWN go back and read BLIND ALLEY again (if you haven't already read it) and I guarantee you will appreciate the intricates of the story more. This is not just a story of parent daughter roles, or suspense, or betrayal, but one of heritage, psychic linkage, loyalty and so much more. Linda, in Pennsylvania

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Iris Johansen has written another winner

    Jane MacGuire, the adopted daughter of forensic sculptor Eve Duncan, is almost kidnapped and her friend is murdered before her eyes. The roommate who betrayed them is killed in a suspicious hit and run. Trevor, who she hasn¿t seen in four years since they caught a serial killer in the ruins of Herculaneum, the ancient city destroyed by Mt. Vesuvius¿ eruption, brings them to the castle he is renting in Aberdeen, Scotland. Dr. Reilly, a brainwashing specialist, wants Jane who is the mirror image Cira, a slave girl who escaped with a treasure when Herculaneum was destroyed. He also wants the gold and coins that she smuggled out the day Vesuvius blew.................. Grozak, a hate filled racist who detests the United States is prepared to go to any lengths to kidnap and delver Jane and find the gold and coins and bring them all to Reilly if he will brainwash people into becoming suicide bombers for an attack on the United States that will make 9/11 seem small in comparison. Trevor who cares about Jane is determined to protect her just as he intends to stop Grozak from carrying out his plan. Jane joins the mission to stop the man knowing it might coast her everything if they fail................... COUNTDOWN is a fantastic action-packed thriller where the stakes are high and failure could result in the death of millions. Over the course of the Eve Duncan forensic thriller series Jane has evolved from a street wise delinquent into a beautiful headstrong adult who will do whatever it takes to save her country. Trevor, an ex-mercenary operating on both sides of the law, meets his match in Jane and their relationships promises to intensify in future novels. Iris Johansen has written another winner that is heading for the New York Times bestseller list............ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3