Customer Reviews for

Counterfeit Son

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Compelling and amazing read

    Ever since grad school, it's been difficult for me to read for pleasure or to finish a book in one sitting, something I used to do regularly. Until this book. I defy anyone to start this book and willingly leave one single page unread.

    This is a story about a desperate, sad young man who's been through a hell no one should know. And in that desperation, he makes a choice that he believes is morally wrong, and while you, reader, intellectually know that it's wrong, you want him to get away with it. You want him to succeed in his deception. Because, oddly, it seems as if everyone wins then.

    Warning- this book has some dark themes, as the main character has survived physical, sexual and mental abuse. But it is ultimately a story about survival, about healing, and about trying to move forward, and there is nothing graphic in the book, it is more hinted at than actually stated. So if you're just a little sensitive to those kinds of themes, you should be fine. And honestly, this book is not to be missed!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    Counterfeit Son is fantastic!

    As the son of a serial killer, Cameron Miller has had a
    very troubled life. Trapped in a cellar for days at a time, he
    reads the haunting newspaper clips of his father's victims,
    and sits trying not to listen to the muffled screams and
    inhaling the sickly sweet smell of death. His father's
    filing cabinet contains golden information; families that
    have lost their sons to his father, families that need a
    miracle of their son returning.

    When his father dies, Cameron decides to become Neil Lacey,
    a short and scrawny 14 year old with hazel eyes and brown
    hair. Cameron cons the authorities into thinking he is
    really Neil Lacey, and he must trick his new family with
    only the newspaper clippings to provide him with the
    information he needs. He soon realizes that living the life
    in a prim and fancy neighborhood on the coast isn't nearly
    as easy as it would seem to be.

    As he starts to settle into his new life, his bubble of
    protection is soon ruptured when his father's accomplice
    tracks him down. The accomplice threatens his new family
    and Cameron's secret unless Cameron steals valuable items
    from his new house. Will Cameron's identity be revealed?
    Can he manage to trick his rival? Is all hope lost for the
    Laceys?

    Counterfeit Son by Elaine Marie Alphin was spectacular. It
    was short but definitely not sweet. This harrowing yet
    incredibly written tale had the right amount of detail and
    expressed the woe of a teenage boy's experience that no one
    should ever have. The first few chapters were a bit
    confusing. However, once the plot was fully explained, I
    was stuck to the book. The characters came to life, and they
    were easy to relate to.

    This book has many, many unsuspectedtwists and turns, and an ending that will blow your mind. The end of the book is probably one of the biggest
    surprises that I have ever had.

    Counterfeit Son is fantastic, and I would recommend it to anyone (age 12 or older) who loves a good mystery.

    Some material (some frightening situations) and violence
    that may not be suitable without approval from an adult.

    Reviewed by a young adult student reviewer
    Flamingnet Book Reviews
    www.flamingnet.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2009

    Counterfeit Son-IGraham

    Counterfeit Son is a interesting book about young boy who is the son of a serial killer named Hank Miller. When HAnk Miller is invoved ina shoot out and is killed then His son is left all alone. As years passed he watched his father molest and murder young boys now that there is no one to turn to he dosent know what to do. One idea comes to his mind and he remembers a boy by the name of Neil Lacey. His father had murdered him and he remembered his famiily and remembered that neil mentioned he had a sail boast. He alwaays wanted to get on a sail boat. He decided that since he wanted to get as far away as possible from his old life he would take Neil Lacey identity. He did this but detective simmons starte to get really suspicous about Cameron.He dosent know hat to do whether he should drop the act or live the perfect life that he ahs always dreamed of

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    this book was great

    the character in this books goes through so much. and omg the ending is so good you have to read this book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    Counterfeit son was one of the best books ive ever read. normaly i would never choose a book like this. But im glad my english teacher made us read this book. the first couple chapters are a little disturbing. youll want to stop reading it but you just cant put the book down. every chapter has an important part to it. this book is full of suspense. i would definetley reccomend this book for any aged reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    The Best Book I Ever Read

    The Book was awesome. It was honestly the best book I have ever read in my life. I really enjoyed it, and it was different from other books I've read before. It was very suspenseful. In the begining it was kind weird because it was saying all this stuff about a man raping little boys and I just wanted to stop there, but something told me to keep going, and Im very glad I did because every single page in this book was important to the story and was interesting. I would definitly read another book from this author. The ending was very different and very unexpected, I would have never thought that was going to happpen. I kind of pictured this book as a movie. Thats how wonderful the descriptions were. Throughout the whole book I was just saying to myself that this should be a movie. I Loved It. And I reccomend this book to anyone who enjoys suspense and anyone who would want to take a chance and read something totally different from books they've read before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    Cool book!

    The book Counterfeit Son was an exciting tale of suspence, mystery, and the struggle to find ones family. I enjoyed this book because it was suspenceful and I never got bored.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    Counterfeit Son

    This book was pretty slow. I only thought that the ending was great. If it wasn't for the end of the book, I wouldn't have liked it so much. I am not a big reader and if this story had more exciting parts, I could deffinatly see myself liking it. The ending of the story was completlely unexpected and that's what made it so good. I would have guessed anything to happen but what actually did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    An unexpected ending*

    This book was pretty good. I think the middle was a little boring and the end was good. It was somethin that I didn't expect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    The book full of surprises

    I really enjoyed this book, The Counterfeit Son. It was full of suspense and excitement. I really enjoyed how the author wrote the book with a lot of detail. I actually felt like I was watching a movie in my head. My favorite part was the surprise ending. I was shocked and holding my breathe at the end of the book. The Counterfeit Son is a very good book that I would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    Counterfeit Son

    This was a great book. The book had many difficult problems for Cameron to get around without getting caught by the Lacey family or Detective Simmons. This is a book that will keep you reading until the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    Suspenseful and Grabbing

    The Counterfeit Son was a book filled with mucho suspense and always left my mind asking questions. I really enjoyed reading this book and I fill that other high school students would too. You can really relate to the events that happened. This book was very well written and had a lot of detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    This book is amazing

    I did like this book. I liked it because it was mysterious and left the reader wanting more. It was suspenseful and shocking. I liked it because of the fact that I never thought about kidnapping that much, and I realize how it happens today. Many kidnappings occur everyday and this book made me realize how tragic it is. It was a catching book and had my attention the whole time and I really think if you are looking for an interesting book i recommend you read this thrilling story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    WOW WHAT A GREAT BOOK!!!

    I think this book was great. It kept me interested throughout the whole book. When I was told about this project, I wasnt looking forward to it at all I was actually pretty mad about it. I dont like to read at all,and never did, but this book was great. It kept me interested almost to the point where i didnt want to put the book down. In the end it turned out that this project was a privelidge, and I would deffinitly want to do it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    A Fantastic Story!

    This was an awsome story with much thought put into it. I can honestly say that I was never bored once while reading this story. The book was filled with great description as well as action. If anyone enjoys reading mystery stories like I do, this is the book to read without a doubt!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    Counterfeit Son

    I thought that this book was really good. The ending was very surprising and it kept you on the edge of your seat. I also thought that kids could relate to this book because the events in the book could take place in real life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    A Rollercoaster of suspense

    I liked this book because the situation that took place in this book could be a real life situation. This book was also a thriller and a mystery that's why I liked this book. Another reason why I liked this book was because people don't know what to expect. I thought the ending was a big surprise. I would recommend this book to teenagers and adults. I would say teenagers and adults because they are old enough to realize how bad people are out their and how deperate people could be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    AWESOME!!!

    Although i don't read all the much, I found this book to be awesome! Counterfeit Son was full of suspense,and kept you wondering what was going to happen next.This book is about Cameron Miller a 15 year old with an abusive father, but his father is killed, and has the chance at a Real Life, with a real family so he takes it. Will he make it through through the end, or will he finally give up, and tell his heart-breaking secret? I highly reccomend that you read this book and find out for yourself, you will fall in love with this book and want to read it all over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2003

    gReAt BoOk!!

    Great book with a twist ending...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2002

    The Greatest Book I have Ever Read!!!!!!!

    This is a real page turner if you like to read suspense and murder. The book sounded so real, almost as if a person went through this an has an outstanding ending!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2