BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Countess (Madison Sisters Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 212 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an intelligent historical romantic suspense

    Reluctantly Christiana Madison marries Richard Fairgrave, Earl of Radnor, so her father can pay off his gambling debts before the family, especially her beloved sisters, is ruined. "Dicky" proves nasty as a spouse treating his wife as an object and not allowing her to see anyone even her family. Having enough she brazenly enters his off limits office to confront her husband, only to be greeted by his corpse.

    Since her sister wants to attend a gala in which she would chaperone, Christiana conceals that her husband is dead as she would have to mourn her loss though inside her she is euphoric. However, Richard arrives to the shock of Christiana. She soon learns the newcomer is the real Richard and she was married to his psychopathic identical twin George. Richard investigates his deadly sibling's murder with the prime suspect being his sister-in-law who he is attracted to. She agrees to pretend this new kind and caring Richard is her spouse as he searches for a diabolical killer who is planning to blackmail the real Earl and his widowed sister-in-law.

    The Countess is an intelligent historical romantic suspense with identity theft being the driver of the story line. This tale is very witty and fans will enjoy the pretend relationship between the real earl who assumes his "wife" is a gold-digger and the title character who fears madness runs in families. With a murder investigation and a blackmailer attempting to extort money, readers will enjoy Lynsay Sands wonderful tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    Great Read

    This was my first Lynsay Sands book. I purchased it at the grocery store yesterday and stayed up, way past my bedtime, reading it. I fell in love with the sisters and the true Earl. They were great characters. I cannot wait for Suzette and Daniel's story to come out later this month.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a splendid, fun and entertaining romance

    Hold the presses my husband is still alive? What a question for a wife who thinks she is a widow to ask, but for Christiana it is a reasonable one since her husband went from a sensitive, caring beau to a controlling, ogre of a husband all of which she thought was dead. Who wouldn't want to be rid of that nightmare unless the nightmare came back to life, or did he?

    So many questions and very few answers but the man who seems to know what is going on is the one presently kissing the complete sense out of Christiana and she is really enjoying it. But how could that be possible when she hated her supposed dead husband who is still alive and more passionate than any man should be. But before the night is over Christiana finds out the man she thought was Richard Fairgrave, The Earl of Radnor was really his twin brother and that horrid man she married attempted to murder the man she is now married to, or maybe she is but she is not sure since she married the other twin. Oh goodness what a mess and the scandal that would go along with it would cripple her younger sister's ability to find a good match. But if this man would just keep kissing her maybe she could forget for one minute anything but his tender touch and warm caresses.

    The true Richard is not a horrible man; he is kind and concerned for Christiana's wellbeing and cares for her reputation. Richard offers to marry her, again as the real Earl and no one would be the wiser and this would have been a great plan but Christiana can't keep a secret and before long everyone and her sister knows what is what and who is dead and who is still alive. The problem is someone already knew the little trick they are all playing and that the body they are moving around is the imposter but who could it be and can they stop that person before Christiana becomes a widow again? Lots of suspects with no answers and too many attempts on Richard's life make him say enough of this game and he is tired of trying to find a place to hide his twin so the mystery has to be solved.

    What Richard did discover is one redeeming factor in his twin in that he had excellent taste in wives. Richard finds too many other horrible things about him to dismiss and the deceit with which he tricked Christiana into marriage is so shameful but in the end when they are snuggled under the covers Richard realizes that there are some good things that don't leave you.

    This book is so lovely and romantic you forget that there is blackmail, murder and assorted other crimes going on. The story with Richard and Christiana as well as her sister's is so full of happy thoughts you just know something wonderful has to happen as these women deserve it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    good read

    I loved this book. I couldn't put it down. There were part where I laugh so hard my husband had to ask what was so funny. You will love the dead body. This is a highly enjoyable book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    highly recommended- a must

    love the series. you have to real all so all the pieces fit in their places. love the humor and the mistery

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    Highly Recommended-A must read!!!

    This by far is Sands best book ever. It had it all, humor, romance, mystery and sensitivity. I could not put this one down. I loved it, and it will be a keeper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Good Read

    I enjoyed this book within the trio it did have a twist that the butler did it. NOT. LOL I was actually a nice turn of events and exchanges with the characters. Some believable some a stretch, but it took you on a ride to a place of entertainment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Must read!!!!

    Lynsay does it yet again with the perfect combination of humor and the perfect plot. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    Must read!

    I love the series. When you read the first, you are compelled to read the other two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    5 Stars! Lynsay Sand¿s historical romance, The Countess, is so

    5 Stars! Lynsay Sand’s historical romance, The Countess, is so much better than the brief description and the book cover even hint at. This book is absolutely, delightfully hilarious! A true farce! You will discover romance, a little mystery, appealing characters, a dead body, a butler, and oodles of situational funniness. I could easily see this transferred to the stage. The audience would be rolling in the aisles! The plot was intriguing and the tale was rife with twists and turns. The audio version, read by Sarah Coomes, was a joy to listen to. If you like a little madcap with your comedy, you will enjoy The Countess!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Interesting idea but poor follow-through (LVR)

    I liked the idea of the storyline, but when you actually get into reading the book, it seems contrived. Introduced and involved in the activities of all three sisters in this first book of the series, I felt the other two sister's stories were all but finished. Reading ahead the reviews of the next two books in the series, it appears they will be a retelling of the same story from the other two sister's points of view. No, thanks! I'll quit while I'm ahead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Sweet story

    Quick read....sweet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Always good

    Really like the book, its a great read and funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Loved this book.

    I loved this story. It was very sassy and quite funny at parts. I was very happy when reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I actually enjoyed this story. I'm not usually into historical romances but this one was funny and intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Just plain stupid...............................................

    Just plain stupid.............................................................
    It was the 3 stooges type of humor--so if that's your bag........     The writing was cliche.   Everything was said DRYLY.   Richard said dryly.   Suzette said dryly.  Robert said dryly.  Etc, etc, etc.  Once in awhile they said it grimly.   A few times they said it wryly.   But mostly they said it dryly.   This writer needs a new set of adverbs.  As another reviewer pointed out it's a rewrite of  Weekend at Bernie's.   Without the  humor I'm afraid.   The writing was just so grating.   The errors so  obvious.   Did anyone edit this book?    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Good winter read

    This book was funny with both mystery and romance A good read for a cold winter weekend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    Weekend at Bernie's meets historical romances!

    Weekend at Bernie's meets historical romances!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Fun read.

    I really enjoyed this book but was constantly distracted by the fact that this author used the word"dryly" a million times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11