Customer Reviews for

The Countess (Madison Sisters Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 212 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Good Read

    I enjoyed this book within the trio it did have a twist that the butler did it. NOT. LOL I was actually a nice turn of events and exchanges with the characters. Some believable some a stretch, but it took you on a ride to a place of entertainment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    Must read!

    I love the series. When you read the first, you are compelled to read the other two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Sweet story

    Quick read....sweet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I actually enjoyed this story. I'm not usually into historical romances but this one was funny and intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    Weekend at Bernie's meets historical romances!

    Weekend at Bernie's meets historical romances!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Fun read.

    I really enjoyed this book but was constantly distracted by the fact that this author used the word"dryly" a million times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Very Good

    Loved this book, would not have bought the second, just a repeat of this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Start

    The Countess- Lynsay Sands


    Lynsay Sands does it again! While I do so love her Argeneau Vampire series, I adore her Historical Romances even more. "The Countess" ( book 1 in series) is everything that Ms Sands is known for and then some. "The Countess" is charming, funny, sexy, intriguing, and clever and a true joy to read for historical romance fans.
    When Christiana's mean, cruel and totally unsexy husband Dicky Fairgrave drops dead of what they assume are natural causes, she and her sisters decide to put him on ice (literally) and go on as if life hasn't changed except for the better. After all her sisters still need to come out so why ruin life for them? The very first night of Dicky's death Christiana decides to go to a ball with her sisters. Now they are absolutely positive Dicky is dead, so imagine their surprise when Dicky walks into the ball.
    Richard Fairgrave has just come back from America to confront his nasty twin brother who has stolen his identity as well as married under his name. When Richard meets his "inherited" wife at the ball he finds her to be a little less than he expected, but with time and an accidental bit of whiskey on Christiana's part, Richard soon finds that he really, really wants to keep his "inherited bride" and to do that he must build her trust while finding out just what the heck happened to his brother who was murdered

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    nice story

    I loved the plot and the characters. A very enjoyable book. One thing broke the bubble though. On page 340 the author wrote that Christiana was bound and gagged. In fact she described how uncomfortable Christiana was with the wad of cloth stuck in her mouth and the corners of her mouth hurt because of the gag. Then on page 346 and 347, she describes how Christiana squawked "Ouch! That is my bottom", murmured "Oh dear", and finally straightened and patted the butler on the arm "Do not feel bad, Haversham. He wasn't a very good man." It seems that the author completely forgot that she had Christiana bound and gagged! Didn't the editor notice this at all?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4