Customer Reviews for

Counting Coup: A True Story of Basketball and Honor on the Little Big Horn

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    interesting

    Interesting book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Awesome

    Just plain awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Greaat book!

    I got this book for my 16th birthday. It changed my life forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    play

    haven't read it yet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent true account

    This reviewer normally would not read a non-fiction work about sports, but my spouse used to coach girl¿s basketball and persuaded me to do so. It turned into quite a surprise as this work drives the lane with its in depth look at the divisions in society. Author Larry Colton went to Little Big Horn to follow a local high school boys team, but quickly honed in on a female superstar, Sharon Laforge


    The Crow see Sharon as a symbol that will break the cycle of their children living miserable lives. That pressure of tribal hope almost obscures Sharon¿s simple dream of wanting to be the first member of her tribe to attain an athletic scholarship. The season is a strong run towards the state title, but the book showcases the racial chasm between the Native Americans and whites even as the team tries to become one to achieve the goal of winning. COUNTING COUP: A TRUE STORY OF BASKETBALL AND HONOR ON THE LITTLE BIG HORN is slam dunk look at high school women¿s sports on a reservation that is more than just a minor chronicle or journal. Though a sports book, this account is actually an insightful look at a segment of life that serves as a microcosm of our larger society

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2005

    Overcoming Odds

    Larry Colton is a journalist, wanting to write a story on a high school basketball team. He ends up in Hardin, Montana. Hardin is a town made up of whites and Indians that live on a reservation. Colton begins to follow the girls team around with the permission of Coach Mac. He tells not just about basketball but the players¿ home lives. He learns about their struggles and the poverty most of the kids live in. Colton shows great insight into this town¿s love for basketball and their need for something more. The characters in Counting Coup could be stories by themselves. What made the book good was that Colton didn¿t dwell on one person or issue too long, so it helped the book flow. Reading this book would be a good read for anyone who enjoys women¿s basketball and seeing people overcome life¿s obstacles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2005

    Counting Coup: Jounrey Of Life.

    The book Counting Coup is about a reporter Larry Colton that comes to a small town in Montana to write a book about the boys basketball team. When he gets to Hardin High School He saw a girl playing basketball Sharon Laforge and knew right away that's his story was in the girl's team. This book is for any age, race, or gender. If you appreciate basketball and people getting their problems this will be a fast read for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2003

    Trouble on the rez

    This book follows a star Basketball player through her senior year, showing you the trials and hardships on the little Big Horn reservation. Sharon Laforge is a star basketabll player who has everything going for her, but after losing the championship game she lost it all. Theres alot more to it but I don't want to ruin it for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2003

    A great book!

    'Counting Coup' is a very interesting book. The book shows the life of a girl, named Sharron, and her basketball team, the Lady Bulldogs. The book portrays all Indians as drunks and all white people as racist, which, arguably, is a good thing, because the author doesn't take either side. Along with the prejudice of the book, it shows America as still unequal. Sharron was the star basketball player, yet no collage took interest in her because she was Indian. This was a great book. I can see why some people may find it offensive, but I don¿t have a problem with any of it. This book was a true story, so if anyone really does have a problem with this book, they don¿t realize that this is the truth and they have to face that this is how it is always going to be. Like it or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2003

    intense

    i think counting coup could have been better.I think that the the author could have focused on sharon's positive side more then her negative.i think that he could have wrote some of the negatives of the town.He could have worte more about the team grades in school and the school the kids went to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2003

    fascinating story!

    As a former basketball player and current coach I found Colton's book to be very well done. I was particurlarly impressed with how he meshed the girls cultural differences with their team unity. It was a fascinating look inside a culture using basketball as the microscope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2003

    Disappointed ball player/Crow Tribal member

    I am a member of the Crow Tribe from Pryor, MT, a basketball player, and a college student. I look at it from those three views. The picture the book paints of the rezervation makes it seem really ugly, which it is not. There's plenty more to the rezervation then what's in the book. Unfortunately there is alot of racism here in Montana and that is portrayed in the book. He focused on ONE player out of an entire TEAM. There are plenty of Sharon Laforges, or basketball greats, on the Crow rezervation ( i.e. Elvis Old Bull, Lil' Rich McCormick, Chelsey Not Afraid, Garren Goes Ahead, etc., etc). That really talented player on a team here -Lodge Grass, Plenty Coups, Hardin- that slacks off and doesn't really seem to love game. They're just there for the stardom. I know because I was the bench warmer on the side who's seen it all. So that is nothing new. Why did he not focus on Ms. Laforges accomplishments, instead of all of her downfalls. And he didn't seem to write too much about the culture of us Crows, the title of the book has nothing to do with the book itself. Girls do not and have not counted coup. But I love the way that Mr. Colton wrote the book, the way that he describes everything is amazing. I am saying that from a literary point of view. I would recommend this to someone who is interested in basketball, and just that. Please do not take the portrayal of the rezervation too literaly, there is more on the inside of all that ugliness that is written. If you want to know about the rezervation just come down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2002

    Born and raised in Hardin

    I was born and raised in Hardin Montana. I was in eighth grade when Larry Cotton began his research in my home town. Every person that was mentioned in his book I know. So much of what he said I found very true. I still believe he could have left a lot of that out. There were many times i was in shock after reading certian chapters. Though I must add, many people in that town trusted him and invited him into their lives and homes. He didnt do to much when he wrote his book to return the favor. All and all I was truly amazed that he was as honest as he was. I read the entire book in a day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2002

    Remarkable and Incredible

    Counting Coup is and outstanding book that describes the culture of the Crow's and what it was like for whites and Indians to play together as a girls basketball team. Larry Colton describes the girl's life at home and their journey to try and win the state championship.Mr. Colton also tells about abuse and alcholism that most of these girls have to deal with along with family pressure they strive to be the best. With the intense basketball games and the hardships of home life I never wanted to stop reading because I always wanted to know if they won the game or not. This is a awesome book espescially for those of you who like basketball and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1