Customer Reviews for

Counting by 7s

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

There are few books I have read that I would describe as 'specia

There are few books I have read that I would describe as 'special', but Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan is one of them. Twelve year old genius Willow Chance insists that her entire life be precisely ordered. She obsessively researches subjects until she masters...
There are few books I have read that I would describe as 'special', but Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan is one of them. Twelve year old genius Willow Chance insists that her entire life be precisely ordered. She obsessively researches subjects until she masters them, including a current topic on how to form teenage friendships as she faces the beginning of middle school in a few days. Willow's matter of fact world view made me laugh out loud, yet tragedy does strike Willow's "everything in its place" world. I fell in love with the touching group of misfits who come together to form a surrogate family for this very special girl. There's that word again. "Special" is the only way to describe Counting by 7s. Willow Chance will stay with you long after the final page. (10 yrs and up)

posted by jessmarisjen on August 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Hhhh

I do not no if it will be good for me becausrb the car crash and i really hate stories with parents dying in a car crash...... alll who read it tell me if its good....... remember i HATE car crash stories......

posted by 17162678 on September 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    There are few books I have read that I would describe as 'specia

    There are few books I have read that I would describe as 'special', but Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan is one of them. Twelve year old genius Willow Chance insists that her entire life be precisely ordered. She obsessively researches subjects until she masters them, including a current topic on how to form teenage friendships as she faces the beginning of middle school in a few days. Willow's matter of fact world view made me laugh out loud, yet tragedy does strike Willow's "everything in its place" world. I fell in love with the touching group of misfits who come together to form a surrogate family for this very special girl. There's that word again. "Special" is the only way to describe Counting by 7s. Willow Chance will stay with you long after the final page. (10 yrs and up)

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Great Novel!

    This book is great. It has a lot of pages...about 350 pages, and is just amazing. Its about a girl named Willow Chance who loses her "foster parents" (and there family is really bonded) and is an orphan. She meets Mai and become friends...through the death of her parents and going into foster care. Now, I'm not going to say anymore incase I accidentally give something away, but all I'm going to say is that its definitely worth the money!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    So good

    I LOVE this book! I could not put it down. It takes awhile to read, pperfect for car trips

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Percy Jackson

    This book is just plain out amazing!!!!

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    The best

    I enjoy this book.like crazy.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Counting by 7's

    This may be the best book l have ever read. Willow Chance is smart, great girl. In the end, she really isn't an orphan. Her family is the people who took care of her.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    The protagonist of this beautiful story, Willow Chance, will sto

    The protagonist of this beautiful story, Willow Chance, will storm the walls of your soul and make it her home. Holly Goldberg Sloan is a writer of immense talent and versatility whose take on an age-old premise makes this book a riveting adventure of the heart. Willow's voice is so unique that you'll ration the story as its pages dwindle. Sloan's prose pirouettes across the page with a depth, wisdom, humor, and range that inspires wonder, and laughter through tears. This instant classic will leave you with a special gratitude for a literary rarity: That moment when a story and teller are so finely matched the resulting book is a key which unlocks the mysteries of the human heart. COUNTING BY 7s will be cherished for many years by young and old alike.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    OMG!!!

    Omg i love this book it is amazing i got it somewhere els for like 6or8 $ but buy it its worth it whoever likes it comment and write on heading "i love counting by sevens" by the way

    HAPPY VALENTINES!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    mm

    So far i have read the summary of the book and i am wonering if i should read this book or not. It sounds like an astonishing great book but yet a sketchy one.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Counting By 7's

    Counting by 7's is a very heartfelt story with saddness and hope. Willow's story is very touching as she finds her way to a new future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Touching and Beautiful

    Counting by 7s tells the story of 12 year old Willow Chance, a genuis who enjoys plants and skin diseases. She finds it comforting to count by sevens. Willow lives as an outcast from the rest of her middle school, and observes the word analytically. But when Willow comes home to a tragedy, it is then she disvovers her true essence, behind the genius persnality. A wonderful story about hope, love, and famliy. For readers who liked Out of My Mind, Mockingbird, and Wonder. I reccomend to anyone!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Can't wait

    Just started reading it . All ready hooked

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    My new favorite book

    This book is amazing. The characters are perfect, the story is wonderful, and the author is able to write it in such a way so that it all flows together. I highly suggest this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Best book ever

    Iloved it andread 200 pages in onee day!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    Counting by 7's is a book that once you start reading, you can't

    Counting by 7's is a book that once you start reading, you can't put it down. It's addicting!

    Why kids will love it - Willow is such a fascinating character; she doesn't behave like normal kids, so the reader never knows what she will do or say.  She is also easy to relate to in her own way and you can't help but want her to find happiness again. At the same time, the other characters are all unique, and reading how they all interact and grow right along with Willow makes for an addicting story.

    What I learned as a writer - Making sure each character is well-rounded, even if they are only minor, is so important. I think that's one of the reasons this book works, each character has been well thought out and it shows.  I also learned that having a surprise at the end of a book, even if it is small, gives such a satisfying ending for the reader. 

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    BEST BOOK EVER

    This book will make you laugh cry and basically fangirl because it is so Dan good

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Read this book now

    This is one of my favorite books.i felt real emotion for the charceters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Ehhr

    Iam reading this book right now it is an amazing but sad story the girl is so strong with what she is going through.


    #gowillowchance

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Great so far

    The sample is So good so i hope i will be buying it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    This book was amazing in SO many ways

    Counting By 7's is an amazing story about an adopted girl named Willowand an emotional life story of a girl genius. This book ll make you laugh and cry. Read this book then comment with #SO GOOD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2