Customer Reviews for

County Line

Average Rating 3.5
( 844 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(257)

3 Star

(244)

2 Star

(89)

1 Star

(96)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

You Have To Get This Book!

Bill Cameron is a writer who knows when to slow down, speed up, and carry you along at just the right pace that you can't help but yearn to finish his books, and County Line is no different. With an intriguing opening, killer chapter endings, no mercy for his characters...
Bill Cameron is a writer who knows when to slow down, speed up, and carry you along at just the right pace that you can't help but yearn to finish his books, and County Line is no different. With an intriguing opening, killer chapter endings, no mercy for his characters, twists that will spin you like a wheel, and shocks that come like punches this is a book that delivers.

The characters are nailed to the wall. Cameron portrays, to a painfully real degree, a young girl trapped in the weaknesses and mistake of those meant to protect and love her. You will feel as though you have walked through hell holding Ruby Jane's hand. You'll want to kill for her, hold her, cheer her on and in return she will entertain and amuse you with plenty of wit. Ruby Jane is impossible not to love. The heroes of the story, Pete and Skin, make for quite the grumpy team providing great tension, awkwardness, and light laghter throughout the entire story. You will love, hate , hurt. What more can you ask for a in a story?

Having read most of Bill Cameron's books, I can say that he meets all my expectation as a reader. His books have become an automatic buy for me. The icing on the cake is that with every book his edge gets just a little sharper. You will want more.

posted by CrystalPosey on June 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

55 out of 115 people found this review helpful.

Write a rewiew only

Why do people write a synopsis of the book and not a review like they should? I dont enjoy coming here and having the book spoiled for me by some overzealous reader

posted by klcnely on July 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    All over the place

    This story was written, the pages tossed in the air then placed out of order before printing. Not very well put together.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Too dlow

    Meh

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    I almost stopped reading at several points but I persevered... j

    I almost stopped reading at several points but I persevered... just not a book that I felt drawn to the characters and really cared about. Didn't like the jumping back and forth, while I could follow it, I found it distracting and just not worth taking "notes" on what happened when... approach with caution...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Disappointing

    The plot was pretty good. It was a nice mystery that made me curious. Barely curious enough to keep reading. I finished it, because it wasn't horrible and I kept hoping it would get better. It didn't. My problems with it were:
    1 It jumped back and forth between at least three different timelines. I can handle POV changes, and even flashbacks, but this was WAY too jumbled. I had to write down the dates to keep track of them.
    2 It spent way too much time on little pointless scenes that added nothing to the story. Why spend so much time talking about basketball? Maybe it was intended to build the character, but it dragged on far more than was necessary.
    3 The characters weren't even all that likeable. I never cared much what happened to them. The main female character was borderline, but too much time was spent in her 'perspective' without any of her character knowledge. If I'm going to look through her eyes I want to know what's in her head.
    Lots of buildup. Lots and LOTS of dragging, dull buildup. And the payoff was relatively uninteresting. Meh. I'm glad this book was free.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Where is the rest?

    All that reading, and to be left with questions. I hate that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    Ok i guess

    I found the book confusing and had to go back several times to figure out what i missed. Turns out i didnt miss anything. Agree that it needs to be edited some more. I almost quit reading it, but it was a freebie and i have never found a book so boring i quit reading it. This came close. Glad i stuck with it cuz the ending was decent although predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    Lowly recommended, story hop scotch

    If you pick up this book read the first then last parts. Just as I thought I knew what was going on the chapter would end. The next chapter would be confusing- where and when
    are we know. Looking for Ruby Jane, finds her finally, then abruptly goes back twenty or
    so years before. Glad I caught this book FREE, It is just Too Long, too confusing and too many characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Okay

    Worth the one read. Steady pace, but not much of a thriller in my opinion. Didn't get sucked into it right away. Only started to pick up and make me want to keep reading non-stop towards almost the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Not too bad

    I will probably read one more book by this author before I make up my mind if I like him or not. The writing was unrefined. It should have went through a few more edits. The story itself was interesting but unorganized and at times confusing. It jumps around a bit and sometimes it is difficult to picture. All in all not too bad but it could have been written better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    Just the facts, Mamm!

    The author is a genious at describing detailed minutiae to the extent that focus on the subject is lost. The majority of the story takes place in high school, and although insight is gained into the reasons for the sequence of events, I wasn't given a peek into what was going on in Ruby or Skin's brains, psychologically. There was a hint of romance but the author never explored that relationship. It seemed inappropriate when he called her "Darling" since there was never any interaction that justified that. Is this a book for teenagers???? I didn't really begin to care deeply about any of the characters. It could have been soooooo much more interesting. Sorry. PS: I did enjoy the term "gesticulated". That makes me think 'digital gesticulation' might be useful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Anonymous

    A little dark for my taste but it kept me turning pages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5