Customer Reviews for

Coup d'Etat

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Give me More!!!

    Every bit as good as Vince Flynn. Mr. Coes first two books in this series are great. They keep you glued to the pages with all the twists and turns a good novel should. I love to read a story that is not predictable. A story where sometimes the good guys don't make all the right choices but some how regroup in the end to save the day. I look forward to reading every book in this series and to watch the characters come and go. You won't be disappointed. I would recommend that if you want to read Mr. Coes you start with the first book in the series to see how it all gets started.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    Highly recommended.

    If you enjoyed this author's first book "Power Down", you will also enjoy this read. Ben Coes is right up there with Thor and Flynn.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Giggle recommended....

    Ben did a great second book.... Well written and a good build up of suspence ...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Terrific follow-up to POWER DOWN. LOVED it!

    I loved this book, even more than Power Down, which I loved a lot. Mr. Coes's writing is more nuanced, complex, and the plot is harrowing and just brilliant. Dewey is the greatest. America has 48 hours to remove the president of Pakistan. They send Dewey. Need I say more? Coes takes you inside the actual coup d'etat, which is fascinating! The violence and tension, as with Power Down, build and build and build until you think you're going to explode.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Highly recommend, excellent read

    Sometimes with new authors they have a hard time following up on a great first book, that was not the case here. Ben gives you another great thrilling read with Coup D'Etat. If you like action, thriller, and great hero books, this is for you. I am really looking forward to his next book, it can't come too soon.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dewey Andreas tries to qeull attacks after nuclear bomb is set off

    Sometimes the word "WOW" is used in extravagance, but not with this book! Ben Coes wrote his first book, "Power Down" and it was one of the best, most thrilling and engrossing stories I have read. This new book is of the same quality or, if possible, even better. It brings back the main character from the first book, Dewey Andreas, who is a master of all actions when it comes to helping his nation. He had been highly trained in all phases of super warfare such as Seals and Rangers are. The main story takes place in India and Pakistan but the interaction goes all over the world. Dewey had settled in secretively in Australia knowing that Aswan Fortuna was constantly searching for him. He had huge sums of reward money for anyone that could catch Dewey and 'dispose' of him. Fortuna's two sons were loaded with money too but one son, Alexander, had been killed while the remaining son, Nebuchar, roamed free. All the Fortuna's were wanted by the United States, dead or alive. Aswan Fortuna controlled or influenced many governments mostly with his money. He speaks and they jump. Fortuna had hired specialized killers to track down Dewey no matter where they could find him, if they could find him! Jessica Tanzer was the national security advisor to President Allaire. Her advice went very far in most all of the cabinet meetings. Jessica also had a relationship with Dewey that set sparks off when either name was mentioned to each of them. Their long distance relationship made life hard for them but they knew that security demanded that distance with Dewey being a hunted man. Fortuna was very influential with Pakistan's leader as well as others in the Asian area. He did all he could to change that part of the world to Muslim. Once again his money spoke tons of words and advice to any leader of a nation who could be influenced easily. Hostilities increased quickly between India and Pakistan. So many were killed, civilians as well as military. Attacks were launched increasingly and more deadly. It didn't take long for Pakistan to drop a nuclear bomb on a small town in India wiping out the entire town killing thousands of civilians. When the news spread around the world of this horrific attack, the rest of the world knew something had to be done to stop this before it grew beyond belief with much of the world being attacked, killed, and left uninhabitable. The citizens of India wanted revenge but the Indian Cabinet had to make that decision. The United States government contacted the Indian president asking for calm thinking but India was reluctant since they were the nation attacked and with all the casualties. Eventually the thought of a Cou D'état was brought up by the United States so the Pakistani President would be "removed" and replaced by a leader chosen by the United States. After much convincing, during a meeting of the United States top officials with India's top leaders, India said they would give the matter 48 hours before they would retaliate with nuclear weapons on Pakistan. Of course nothing was mentioned about a Cou D'état to India. Enter Dewey and hand selected men to track down one of the three men thought to be good to lead Pakistan after their president was removed from office. Dewey and those three highly trained men proceeded on their mission going into and out of danger constantly. If you think I am going to reveal any more of this super story, you might want to sell ice in Anta

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    WOW!! If you LIKED Power Down! You are going to love this

    Mr. Coes is going to be around for a long time. This is going To be one hell of a movie...... Scott G Gilbert, Arizina

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book was great. Action from cover to cover. If you liked Power Down then you will love this book. Can't wait until the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    Highly recommend

    Was a very good book once you got started. Read the first Dewy book and could not wait for the second one to come out. Was not disappointed. After got started read it in a day.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Good read

    This another can't put down book. Can't wait for the third novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    If you like Vince Flynn...

    ...you'll like Ben Coes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2011

    GOOD READ

    I want to know: when is story # 3 coming out. The pace is quick. The seemingly unconnected story lines all draw together neatly with a couple of surprise twists. The closure of this story leaves an entry to the next episode.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Breathtaking, Can't Put it Down Keeper!!

    Dewey Andreas returns as the incomparable, get it done, hero charged with an impossible task to keep two countries from initiating a nuclear armageddon.
    Don't we all wish we had a Dewey in our lives!
    The only drawbacks to this book are having work interfere with reading it and having to wait another year or so for another of Ben Coe's masterpieces.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    If you love Vince Flynn and Brad Thor you really have to add Ben

    If you love Vince Flynn and Brad Thor you really have to add Ben Coes to you list. Great Read keeps you on the edge of your seat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    ENTERTAINING READ

    Nicely written. The book was tough to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Great read. Better than the first book.

    Great read. Better than the first book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Highly recommenended

    It could be applied as a real situation

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Action

    Lots of action, well written, great plot, entertaining, its like reading vince flynn and brad thor rolled into one book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gosh, I Wonder If He Will Win

    The trouble with good guy novels like this one, where one individual must save the world since no one else is capable of it, is that we always know how it is going to turn out. Every battle our man of the hour enters is going to end with his victory. And of course the big battle at the end will resolve in his favor, even if the author does have to kill many of his sidekicks. Yet again, these stories are ki9nd of fun, and Coup D'Etat
    does the genre justice. It is interesting, entertaining, and the product of what seems to have been a lot of research by the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Coup d tat

    Awesome political thriller

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5