BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Courage and Consequence: My Life as a Conservative in the Fight

Average Rating 3.5
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

winning courage

"courage and consequence" is one of the most remarkable bestsellers writtion by one of the greatest campaign consultants who has won many races and campaigns from the smallest to the largest campapaigns. since iam involved in many local races I have found karl roves boo...
"courage and consequence" is one of the most remarkable bestsellers writtion by one of the greatest campaign consultants who has won many races and campaigns from the smallest to the largest campapaigns. since iam involved in many local races I have found karl roves book to be very inspirational with lots of ideas to reach out to the voters and I also found this bestseller to be very historical cause I was able to learn alot about the historical campaigns and major figures that the press did not cover. very hard to put down great gift idea for a friend or family member.

posted by storms1 on March 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Horrifying

Mr. Rove is the devil's spawn. It is obvious from this book that his objective is control, not governing. Scarey.

posted by 8030443 on April 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Finally the Truth from the Architect and his life...

    Let me start by saying Karl Rove is a Conservative thru and thru. This is the TRUTH about what really happen in his life and The Presidency Of George W. Bush. People who want to learn about the Actual Architect and The Real George W. Bush should read this. It will sure put a different light on some of the most controversal stories of Rove and the Bush Adminmstration. Again you have to read this book to get the otherside since Mainstream Media forgot how to Report the Truth and with the insight of Rove. Karl Rove does not hold anything back for the Republican party and the Democratic party. Guess what the Dems can't blame George W. Bush either for all of the country Current problems and the Debit as Rove will explain in the book. I was very pleased with this purchase....

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    Great Book!

    I found this book to be very well thought out and interesting. Karl Rove's story of his childhood and early years were very touching and inspiring. I found his behind the scenes information to be very rational, well written and concise. Rove addresses many of the rumors and false accusations that have been leveled at him throughout the years - as well as the personal cost to his family. I would recommend this book to anyone with a balanced interest in politics and a willingness to approach this book in a rational manner. Not a book for idealouges who are already blinded by irrational hatred.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    Karl Rove's Truth Or Spin?

    For readers intrigued with behind-the-scene mechanics of political campaigns, "Courage and Consequence: My Life as a Conservative in the Fight" offers some unique glimpses into the process. Indeed, Mr. Rove innovated sophisticated computer modeling based on historical data to identify swing voters, who could propel his strategy in more than 75 elections. His successes include becomming the chief architect of George Bush's career.
    In the book, although Mr. Rove denies any involvement in dirty politics, there are inferences that the failure to properly address a punch/counterpunch campaign with a Rovian mindset, is an opponent's own fault-not his. One such example occured during the 2000 South Carolina Republican primary election, which pitted George Bush against John McCain.
    At that time, Mr. Rove was accused of involvement in a "push poll" and e-mail attack suggesting that McCain has fathered an illegitimate black child. Instead of confronting the allegation with the truth that the child was a Bangladeshi orphan adopted by the McCain's, both John and Cindy McCain lashed out against George Bush and Karl Rove. In Mr. Rove's estimation, McCain missed an opportunity to remain focused on political issues by not properly addressing the distraction injected into the campaign..."Rather than assert he was a victim". And that cost him the election.
    By and large, the lion's share of Mr. Rove's book is written in defense of the Bush Administration, with special emphasis given to pretenses for the Iraqi War. During his recent book promotional appearance in Victorville California, Mr. Rove spent time explaining conjectures on biological and chemical weapons of mass destruction. And then he stated,"Saddam Hussein was a treacherous dictator who intended to sell Iraqi oil to the Chinese. He funded suicide bombers and was an enemy of ours".
    While some readers of "Courage and Consequence: My Life as a Conservative in the Fight" will be entranced and others may become outraged, individuals of all political inclinations can easily fact check Mr. Rove assertions on their computers and decide for themselves. A point in case: It was current Iraqi Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki who sold oil field development contracts to China National Offshore Oil Corporation-not Saddam Hussein
    The book is a must read for all political observers. Karl Rove remains a formidable strategist in American politics and his imprimatur is clearly visible in the 2010 elections. Read the book, learn how to identify a Rovian campaign and then watch the action unfold-from a position of knowledge.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Dad loves it..

    Purchased this book for my Father, who's an avid reader. He literally reads about a book every 2 weeks (sometimes a book a week). I asked him how it was and it said it was great. Very informative and a nice prospective into the life, thoughts and humor of Mr. Rove. I've not read this book so this is coming from my Father. Who in my opinion is one of the smartest and most well read men I've ever met. Love you Dad

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Well written, interesting

    It's engaging and well-written from start to finish. Great perspective from someone deeply involved in both presidential campaigns and White House activities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Game of Politics

    During the George W. Bush era, the work Rovian politics became synonymous with the cut throat rumble and tumble of world of politics.
    In his latest book, Courage and Consequences: My Life as a Conservative in the Fight by Karl Rove shares a candid insiders view to his life in the political arena.

    What is striking is the candor and openness as write opens up to the reader. To his credit, he pulls no punches in sharing war stories from his early days as a college republican to the hallow halls of the White House.

    Rove's less than glamorous youth shares that he was adopted by his father, his mother committed suicide and he was left to his own ambition to find his way.

    Rove is an effective tactician and student of history and politics. He takes on politics more than a blood sport, but a means to an end to effectively win elections that put in place individuals who can make a difference.

    In his own words, Rove gets too much credit for his Machiavellian bravado, he simple has been able to play the political game better by developing discipline winnings strategies.

    Rove's role in the Valerie Plume and Wilson affair, give an interesting perspective of the litigious environment that public servants find themselves in.

    Reading this book, the reader assumes to be peeking into the dark side of politics but comes away with the realization the complexity and simplicity of our democratic system.

    A must read for any student of history and politics, Courage and Consequences: My Life as a Conservative in the Fight by Karl Rove is a fast pace review of the life of one of the most effective political strategist today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    great Read

    The truth is finally revealed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Courage and Consequence Is A Definitive Look Into The Bush Presidency

    Don't let any bias you may have for or against Karl Rove or George W. Bush stop you from buying Courage and Consequence. This book is the definitive insider account of the Bush presidency. Amazingly, it also offers candid details on the life of one of the Nation's most successful political operatives. Whether you agree or not with Rove's politics, you can't deny his success in winning elections. This is a must read for aspiring political consultants, political junkies, historians, students of the presidency, and anyone courageous enough to delve beyond media reports to get the facts.

    While Rove remains a teamplayer in Courage and Consequence, he doesn't skirt the obvious shortcomings of the Bush presidency and is surprisingly frank. Anyone open to behind-the-scene details of America's most defining moments in the first decade of 2000 will be riveted by Rove's account of Bush v. Gore, 9-11, Bush v. Kerry, Iraq and Afghanistan, Katrina, and the freefall of the world economy.

    Overstuffed with insider information makes the 520 pages a satisfying read. Well worth the price and the lines for autographed copies, Courage and Consequence is a definitive look into the Bush presidency.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Karl Rove the Provocative Patriot

    It was enlightening getting the inside look at one of the nation's most provocative presidencies and the so-called "architect" of that presidency.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2