BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Courage and Consequence: My Life as a Conservative in the Fight

Average Rating 3.5
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

winning courage

"courage and consequence" is one of the most remarkable bestsellers writtion by one of the greatest campaign consultants who has won many races and campaigns from the smallest to the largest campapaigns. since iam involved in many local races I have found karl roves boo...
"courage and consequence" is one of the most remarkable bestsellers writtion by one of the greatest campaign consultants who has won many races and campaigns from the smallest to the largest campapaigns. since iam involved in many local races I have found karl roves book to be very inspirational with lots of ideas to reach out to the voters and I also found this bestseller to be very historical cause I was able to learn alot about the historical campaigns and major figures that the press did not cover. very hard to put down great gift idea for a friend or family member.

posted by storms1 on March 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Horrifying

Mr. Rove is the devil's spawn. It is obvious from this book that his objective is control, not governing. Scarey.

posted by 8030443 on April 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    winning courage

    "courage and consequence" is one of the most remarkable bestsellers writtion by one of the greatest campaign consultants who has won many races and campaigns from the smallest to the largest campapaigns. since iam involved in many local races I have found karl roves book to be very inspirational with lots of ideas to reach out to the voters and I also found this bestseller to be very historical cause I was able to learn alot about the historical campaigns and major figures that the press did not cover. very hard to put down great gift idea for a friend or family member.

    31 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Modestly honest

    Great that I got curious about this book, if not, then I would continue to carry a very foul impression on Karl Rove - which was developed from watching CNN and MSNBC. Compared to George Stephanopoulos' All Too Human, Karl Rove's memoir seems to carry and provide more value on common sense and principled ideals in reasoning the policies and actions advised or taken by W's administration, although I only able to understand their arguments on the War in Iraq after reading "Ghost Wars" by Steve Coll. Karl Rove was not afraid to name names and to point out their differences, and I hope though that his vicious critics will stop attacking the author personally. A great read, and enlightening, either you're a Democrat, Republican, or Independent.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    Getting down to the real truth

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who would like to know the real truth regarding what took place during the George W Bush years in the White House. A great read written by a man who deserved so much better.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    Understand the background and development of Karl Rove's love for political planning ... then pull up your chair ringside with Rove's invitation to share first hand, many of the most memorable moments in United States history.

    Karl Rove weaves the full cloth of United States recent historical events involving political maneuvers both successful and otherwise from ringside experience. Wonderful writing style that places you alongside the author. You will see the development of Karl's love of political planning from school days to his professional leadership role in all levels of government through the years. The masterful telling of the real stories of President George Bush (43) Texas time, 2000 Presidential Election, Al Gore's challenge, 9/11, and the United States war on Islamic fundamentalist/extremist terrorist groups is riveting. Courage and Consequence is extremely well documented and could change the minds of many who hold President George W. Bush and Karl Rove himself in less than a glowing level of esteem. If you are a conservative you will become more sanguine regarding the events ... if a liberal, you will have reason to desire this book remains unread. If you are a Karl Rove/President George W. Bush hater ... read at your own mental peril ... the truth hurts. This is required reading for those who seek the facts surrounding momentous events in U.S. history told in a balanced format by Turd Blossom.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Courage and Consequence - Karl Rove

    The first few chapters are not very interesting. Karl talks about his days with the College Republicans and how he got started in politics. I bought this book for the same reason most buyers did...to learn more about the "unreported" details of George W. Bush's presidency. Once Karl gets into George's governors campaign, my interest picked up. Karl Rove is a political mastermind and his book is very honest. He admits some of his mistakes but he also clears up alot of the media's biases that sought to tear Bush's presidency apart. I recommend this book because you can't always beleive what the "News" tells you. It's nice to hear another point of view...the point of view that actually was the architect of Bush's presidency.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    EXCEPTIONAL

    NOT JUST FOR POLITICAL JUNKIES. GREAT INSIGHT INTO BOTH TEXAS AND NATIONAL POLITICS. VERY PERSONAL PRESENTATION OF EVENTS AND CHARACTERS.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Frank, Revealing, Informative

    Regardless of individual political leaning or personal like or dislike of the Bush administration, Karl Rove reveals a philosophy worthy of examination during a period of American History which clearly has caused great concern and trepidation. Well researched and factually documented, this is a must read by anyone concerned about the foundation of the United States and worried about the long-term survival of a Republic based on the believe in a free democratic society.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Stop reading: Until this one is absorbed

    A reader is not required to suspend belief to believe this timely volume of America as it should be in this time of uncertainly.

    History will be as kind to the Bush Presidential years as to Abraham Lincoln and Ronald Reagan Presidencies. Karl Rove set out to chronicle these facts. He has done so in a believable and persuasive manner.

    A favorite teacher of creative writing, John Grisham, states that the three most liked subjects of frictional writing are Abraham Lincoln, physicians and dogs. Therefore a book about the dog of Abraham Lincoln's physician should be a best seller.

    Karl Rove created fact, not fiction, but any reader who does not find Courage and Consequences well written, verifiable, and researched, should enroll in the equivalent study of music appreciation.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Excellent and informing

    This is a factual and unbiased account of the eight years of the George W Bush administration. Mr Rove also tells about the people and events that shaped his life. He does not promote himself as the greatest political advisor and campaigner in history. He is open and honest in disclosing his weaknesses and faults and readily admits he made mistakes and makes no excuses for them. He also discusses W's strengths and weaknesses and his overall philosophy and reasons for the actions he took. After so many years of the unceasing vicious attacks on W by the liberal politicians and the ultra liberal left wing news media it is so good to read a true account of his time in office and what really happened. Mr Rove freely discloses some of the mistakes made were caused by him. This book is excellent reading for anyone, regardless of their political views or affiliation, who would like to know the true facts of W's administration and W's personality.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Karl Rove's Courage and Consequence was a wonderful read. I felt like we were old friends sitting down with a cup of coffee to discuss a few issues.

    Karl Rove deserves a five star rating on his well written, articulate accounting of his years with George W. Bush. He addresses the issues candidly and always with a sense of humor. I learned so much from Rove's first real accounting of what went on behind the scenes at the White House from 9/11 and afterwards. Karl Rove is certainly a likeable person. When I finished his book, I wanted to pick up the phone and call him to tell him how much I enjoyed "Courage and Consequence!" I highly recommend this book because it will leave the reader with a balanced overview of what the "Architect" witnessed firsthand and how he put together the plans for success for George W. Bush to become the President of the United States. Impressive!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Informative,absorbing, well written and balanced.

    I enjoyed it greatly, although it was much too generous to Algore and John Kerry.Would have liked more about how petty they were throughout the campaigns.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    Interesting and Informative

    The New York Times reviewer said that this book only told one side of the story. In my mind, this book overturns the conventional wisdom that Karl Rove is the "architect" of modern day American deeply partisan politics. Many of the current American political characters are great proponents of "what is green is really red, and what is good is really bad". The Nightly News is happy to propogate these concepts. This book discloses what really went on behind the scenes. It was appalling to me see just how duplicitous the current American polictians are.

    I am really anxious to read the "other side" of the stories that Karl Rove relates in this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    liked the book, the e version???

    I found Mr. Rove's book an insightful look into the political world his knowledge into elections and what it takes to get a person elected is well worth the money. I find Mr. Rove is one of the most misunderstood and one of the biggest fall guys in recent history. I only have one complaint the electronic version of this book did not come with the photo's that appear in the hard copy I feel I should get everything that appears in the hard copy on the e-book version

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    This book opens you view to the White House.

    Answers many of the questions people have. Opens up what you don't hear on the news. Candid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    Telling it like it IS, not like you would like it to be!

    The revisionists will have a hard time with this book. It provides first person insight into one of the most loved/hated men of our time. Rove goes out of his way to debunk the myths of the more liberal who walk among us. He gets his facts straight, which really irks those who push fot emotional responses based on no facts or incorrect facts.

    If you think he is NOT telling the truth, grab a FACT or two from the text and prove him wrong. Don't go for opinions or beliefs, but snatch a FACT... I found them to be right on the mark.

    It is an easy read, and very intertaining. in addition to the book, I also have the audio CD. The book has more details, but the CD is safer to use in the car!!!

    Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Courage and consequence

    The title of Karl Rove's autobiography is very much in order for the legacy that this man carved out for himself.

    By all means Mr Rove did not have an easy childhood and up bringing in a very controversial and emotional home setting due to both of his parents. His father's employment and rumors of being a homosexual and his mother being a very unstable mental state had to be very unsettling for any child and his siblings. His mother did take her life when Karl was in his early manhood.

    But Karl Rove did survive and pursued a career of political management of various avenues from rising to a very prominent position in the Republican Party to running private politico campaigns of some leading office holders including being the "architect" of both campaigns for the 43rd President of the United States George W. Bush.

    Rove delivers a very intimate and detailed blueprint to his philosophic in every aspect of running a very successful political campaign.

    His White House years are very enlightening and he tackles any all topics both historical and personal. The 699 page book is well written and in my opinion a good read especially for any political junkie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Courage and Consequence

    After seeing Karl Rove so much on television it is great to read his writings. His account of White House activities and behind-the scenes in Washington is insightful. His writing and background information is engaging and helpful in understanding today's political climate. Including some photographs adds to the interest of the book. Whether you are conservative, moderate or liberal in your political views you will find this book a great read from someone who is currently very influential and involved in the polital world. This would also be a good reference book for students from junior high through college to help inform them of Washington politics.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A fantastic read for anyone wanting to know the whole Karl Rove

    This is a big book (500+ pages for the hardcover edition), so it took some time to get through. But, if you want it ALL- the early years, college days, working for the CRs, the early campaigns, 2000 + 2004 with W, the Valerie Plame "affair" and more, this book has it. Say what you will about the man (as so many on the deep left of the pool can only spew hatred for this man), but the lifestory of Mr. Rove is an incredibly American story. A man from a very modest background (no silver spoons here), through the early days of finding his place with College Republicans (with so much "politicking" in a political organization -- who could have guessed?), you get a great sense of how Mr. Rove evolved over time to be one of the greatest campaign and political strategists the U.S. has seen. A great life story on display, with some details filled in for all of us who lived through the manufactured "outing" of a CIA agent and other misdirections advanced on Mr. Rove and company (i.e., the whole W administration). I'd recommend the book to Anyone, left or right, to give Mr. Rove the fair shake he deserves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    Courage and Consequence is Fantastic!

    This is a fantastic read. I recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Eye-opening account of History

    A personal look into the life of one of the most controversial and mis-understood figures of recent times .. A genius and influential political figure who has been demonized by the left and the topic of lies and distortions. I have a friend who hated Karl Rove until he read this book .. Now not so much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4