Customer Reviews for

Courageous: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing, Enlightening, Thought Provoking!

    The life of a deputy sheriff is no easy job. It requires split-second judgment, level headed confidence, and a genuine concern for the public they serve. Courageous takes a deep look into the lives of four deputies, their choices in life, their wives, their children and their friends.

    The writing is very realistic and believable and gives the reader a front row seat to the drama that is everyday life for them. The amazing stories emphasize life threatening situations on a daily basis and how easily their life's focus can alter their family life

    The characters are well written with distinct personalities, ups and downs, and struggles that many in today's world face. Their development and growth is influenced by their desire to make life better by starting within their own families.

    There are valuable lessons for all in this book, but especially for fathers who want to "man-up" and make a difference to those they love and serve.

    A perfect gift for fathers, young or old.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    A great book for fathers and mature family members!

    Sometimes novels can be as powerful as sermons, and for me this was one of those times. I isn't a perfect book, but it caused me to really think about how much (or how little) time I spend with my family, what the outcomes of my choices might be, and inspired me to want to witness to others more and study my Bible more. There are some mature elements (violence, drug content, etc.), but this is primarily a book for fathers. There were also some moments of humor, though one of them which involved deception seemed a bit on the questionable side to me--funny, but unnecessary. Overall it was a fast-paced book for me. The characters could have been developed a bit more length, perhaps. I hope fathers read this and are truly inspired to change their priorities. Fathers are very important, not to mention the other parts of a family!

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    ME!

    I lovee thiss book i LOVEEEE The movie it made emotional andd im only 11! Its reminds me of losinq my dad because if how he lost his dauqhter

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Courageous

    This is a great book!! I loved the movie too and creid like a baby with a guy that I've neve even met!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    GOD-SEND

    A must read for every man!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Teared and Smiled Throughout Courageous

    Randy Alcorn recently wrote the novelization, "Courageous", to go along with the movie by the same name. The first third of the book introduced me to police action and the characters including:

    1. Nathan and Karla Hayes and children who move to Albany, GA, Nathan's home town, so Nathan can join the police force and be near William Barrett, a man who mentored him when a father had not been there for him.
    2. David Thomson who has a daughter by a woman he never married, but in the meanwhile becomes Nathan's police partner.
    3. Adam and Victoria Mitchell who have high drama in their family including the fear of losing their teen son to other influences.
    4. Tom Lyman, now in a retirement center and in a wheel chair, Adam's older godly mentor.
    5. Brad Bronson, a character in Randy Alcorn's other police novels, as well as a mention of Ollie, lead character in Alcorn's novels. (Brad has moved to Georgia from Oregon.)
    6. Shane Fuller, partner of Adam.
    7. Javy who writes an inspiring letter thanking his father.
    8. "TJ was the son of no man and the father of a gang of men."

    After the first fourteen chapters to page 111 when I had essentially figured out the above characters, I couldn't put the book down until I had read all 362 pages. Then I knew why I had to get all of that early background for the last two-thirds of the book.

    I am not giving away the plot to the book and spoiling it for you because the movie will be coming out in a month and I haven't seen that movie. I wonder what is in the book that will not be in the movie. I know Alcorn is a dog lover and dogs are in the book. I wonder if dogs will be in the movie. Alcorn has been a long-time defender of right to life and that comes out in the novel. I wonder if that is in the movie.

    Alcorn milks this plot for a lot of Christian themes: God's leading, prayer, sanctity of human life, forgiveness, redemption, hospitality, responsibility of parents and even Charles Spurgeon, a favorite preacher of Alcorn, only to mention a few themes. Some will call this a preachy novel. However, everyone is not converted in the novel, and we have an ETERNAL PRESPECTIVES (name of Alcorn's ministry) ending to look forward to, not an earthly Hollywood ending in the book and probably not in the movie that I have yet to see. Adam dreams about one day in heaven dancing with his daughter. One reviewer didn't think that heavenly scene was necessary, but I think this heavenly dream is VERY Randy Alcorn who is also known for such books as "Heaven".

    You have to consider some questions. Why can't Christians wonder about eternity? Must novels only entertain? Why can't they instruct? "Pilgrim's Progress" does. Realistically Alcorn says at the end: "To most people, none of this--not what these men were doing now, nor what He [Christ] did two thousand years ago--made sense. From the outside, grace and truth, honor and courage, seldom do."

    Alex Kendrick and Stephen Kendrick wrote and produced the movie as they also did other films including "Fireproof". "The Resolution for Men" and "The Resolution for Women" are spin-off books from this film, like "The Love Dare", was a spin off book from "Fireproof". The promos for their movie "Courageous" are all about fathers, absent fathers, and the need to RESOLVE to be a better parent. I am not sure how thorough "The Resolution" books a

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Must Read!! 10 stars!!

    God desires for every father to courageously step up and do whatever it takes to be involved in the lives of his children. But more than just being there or providing for them, he is to walk with them through their young lives and be a visual representation of the character of God, their Father in heaven. A father should love his children and seek to win their hearts. He should protect them, discipline them, and teach them about God. He should model how to walk in integrity, and treat others with respect and should call out his children to become responsible men and women who live their lives for what matters in eternity. ~ Adam Mitchell

    Adam Mitchell and Nathan Hayes, both police officers following Christ, have witnessed tragic experiences in their lives and the lives of their co-workers. Adam begins to develop a burden to see the men in his community step up and become the courageous men that Joshua 1:7 mentions. Adam and Nathan witness local gangs further destroying fatherless homes, but they never expect how deep the gangs are rooted in their police force and families. What can these men do to begin to bring change to the city of Albany, Georgia ?

    Author Randy Alcorn masterfully wrote this novel from the script of the movie of the same name, set to be released September 30, 2011.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    great

    A really good book for teens

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    One of the best novels I have ever read. A must read for parents, especially fathers. Don't wait until it's too late. See for yourself now how you can make a difference in your child's life.

    I thought I heard there was a female version of this book. I'd love to read that.

    Cookie62

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Police Procedural and Fatherhood Equal A Riveting Story

    Randy Alcorn in his new book "Courageous" which is a novelization of the screenplay by Alex Kendrick and Stephen Kendrick and is published by Tyndale House Publishers gives us a look into fatherhood.

    Four men work as police officers in Georgia. Each of these men have issues from their own childhoods that they are bringing into their current family relationships and are driving their children away from them. One knows how to deal with his daughter but not his son because his son has interests other than his. One never met his father but is doing all he can to be the best husband and father in his family. Another drinks to hide his pain. These four men sign a Resolution to be there for their children and despite near death experiences at the hands of criminals and the stress of their jobs, they become closer to their children by helping each other make better choices.

    There are amazing themes in "Courageous". Some are gang violence, drug and alcohol use, relationships, restoring relationships and accountability for men. It is an exciting story as these men come against the Gangster Nation and their lives are in danger. I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Mr. Alcorn is an excellent writer and knows how to twist your nerve endings as he tightens the suspense.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours, non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Great Book for Men and Fathers

    I received a complimentary copy of the book "Courageous" by Alex Kendrick and Stephen Kendrick for review purposes from Tyndale House. The book is based on the screenplay, which is to be released on September 30, 2011 and based on what I read in the book I can't wait to see the movie. This book is a great tool for fathers looking to become closer to their children.

    When I got the opportunity to read and review this book, I was sort of skeptical about it because I normally like watching the movie and then reading the book, just in case I missed something in the movie. Now I am glad I have read this, just because I know what I have learned from reading will help me with my own child sooner rather than later. I really enjoyed how the authors conveyed the story of how to be a better father through the trials and tribulations of these different men, all with different backgrounds, and probably different beliefs. All of them ended up having the same goal, and that was to be a better man and father.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Courageous undertaking by Alcorn

    On September 30th, the highly anticipated movie by the creators of Facing the Giants and Fireproof will be released. I had the amazing opportunity by Tyndale House Publishers to review the book Courageous. Yes, you heard me right, the book. Randy Alcorn took the screenplay for Courageous written by Alex and Stephen Kendrick and wrote a novel telling the story of four law enforcement officers seeking to make a God honoring, lifelong impact on their children through their role as fathers.
    Here's the synopsis from Tyndale's website:

    "But as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord." Joshua
    24:15
    Four men, one calling: To serve and protect.
    As law enforcement officers, Adam Mitchell, Nathan Hayes, and their partners are confident and focused. They are willingly to stand up to the worst the streets have to offer. Yet at the end of the day, they face a challenge that none of them are truly prepared to tackle: fatherhood.
    While they consistently give their best on the job, good enough seems to be all they can muster as dads. But they're quickly discovering that their standard is missing the mark.
    They know that God desires to turn the hearts of fathers to their children, but their children are beginning to drift further and further away from them. Will they be able to find a way to serve and protect those that are most dear to them?
    When tragedy hits home, these men are left wrestling with their hopes, their fears, their faith, and their fathering. Can a newfound urgency help these dads draw closer to God . and to their children?
    Protecting the streets is second nature to these law enforcement officers. Raising their children in a God-honoring way? That takes courage."

    I have never before read a book before seeing the movie portrayal of the story. But based on the amazing story found within the pages of this book, I can't imagine being disappointed on September 30th! The book includes subplots, characters and backstory that will not be seen in the movie.
    Alcorn moves the story along, but it is an amazing ride. He captures well the typical humor and raw emotion that we have become accustomed to with the stories from Sherwood Pictures.

    What I appreciated most about the book is Alcorn's careful attention to making much of Christ and the clear message that any good in us comes from Him while at the same time encouraging the personal responsibility of making self sacrificing decisions for the glory of God. You will see this in the conversations between one of the more seasoned sheriff's deputies and his younger rookie partner. The older deputy is portrayed in the very first chapter of the book and through his courageous action in the very beginning, he earns the ability to be able to speak into his partner's life.
    The book releases in August, while the movie doesn't release until September 30th. Whether you read the book before or after seeing the move, DO BOTH! You will not regret having this story in print! There are discussion questions included at the end of the book. This would be an amazing resource for a mentoring relationship or for use with a small group of men meeting together for discipleship.

    Grab this book and see Micah 6:8 played out on the streets of Albany, Georgia!

    "He has showed you, O man, what is good. And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God."

    You can visit my

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Touching and Real

    This is a fantastic book for fathers. It reminds us of what's really important....God and Family are the #1 priorities, which we often forget in the busyness of this world and culture. The book is well-written and makes good entertainment, but more importantly it provides us with life lessons that we can apply to our own lives. This book really made me think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    Great concept!

    This just reminds everyone that life isn't always going to be roses. There will be heartache & God can help you through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Love it

    Love it. The movie is awesome too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Courages

    Everybody should read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Amazing

    We we'er made to be courageous. We we'er made to lead the way......-Mercy Me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Great story, great message!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I was impressed with how the Author gave great guidance to men, husbands, and fathers. It was interesting getting to know the characters in the book and how their lives were very relatable. The turmoil within the characters' lives was realistic which helped me to relate to these characters. I really enjoyed this story and would recommend it to others!! I also was able to find a SUPER deal on this book...it was FREE for one day and I snagged it!! What a DEAL!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Dhdhe

    ;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Love this Book!

    I rented this book from my library last year when it was released & bought it again on my tablet a few months ago. This book is based on the movie Courageous & expresses the duties of men in the force, the responsibility of fathers, the effects of trauma & depression, strength of family, importance of purity, etc. It is a great family book & the characters are so real & vivid, you feel the struggle & triumph. I laughed, I cried, I prayed, & I felt every adrenaline-filled moment. This book is a thriller, which keeps you hooked. Another plus is it reveals the heart of our Father through comfort and grace. A must read you won't be able to put down! You won't be disappointed by amazing author Randy Alcorn & the directors of the movie, Alex & Stephen Kendrick. From the men who brought you Fireproof, enjoy Courageous, & stand up & lead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10