BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Courageous

Average Rating 3
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have always been a huge fan of Diana Palmer and own almost eve

    I have always been a huge fan of Diana Palmer and own almost every book she has ever written. I would always look forward to an new book and wait for the publication day to buy it. This book was the same. I don't know what the heck was going on that the editor let this book come out. The story was dragging, the characters were not solid enough, the romance was light except for the side characters, there was way too much history and I felt like I was being taught in a class instead of reading for pleasure, and while I like that Ms. Palmer's characters have morality this book went on and on about no sex before marriage. I really don't know what happened with this book. It was a big disappointment to me. I still think that the proof read of the book should have stopped this from being published and wonder why they didn't.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Anonymous

    Love to read Diana Palmer books she is a good author. But this book was to short 193 pgs. for the cost of $11.00

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Politics ruined it for me.

    I truly enjoy Diana Palmer books. Many of them have an educational aspect to them. However, I was disappointed in this one. I found that it focused too much on the politics rather than Grange's romance. If the politics could have been condensed or toned down somehow, I would probably have been more interested. I did end up skimming over those areas where I deemed "uninteresting" and read the rest. And those parts were just okay, nothing exciting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    I used to be a big fan of Diana Palmer but the last couple of bo

    I used to be a big fan of Diana Palmer but the last couple of books I've read, not so much anymore. I couldn't wait to finish it, to end my misery. The plot line, with Peg going off to South America with someone she doesn't even know, how stupid. She grew up on a ranch in Texas. Now she is in South American and all of a sudden she has a passport. And please, Windslow, military guy, mercenary etc. no sex until he was married! Bad writing, bad writing. Disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    I was very disappointed in this book. What has happened to Ms.

    I was very disappointed in this book. What has happened to Ms. Palmer? If I wanted to read about military strategy, I'd get books from the library and study it along with history. Good Grief woman, get off the over zealous dictators and overthrowing the current leaders and really, haven't we had enough mercenaries? And don't they keep their identity secret? Wise up old girl. I skimmed through most of this book because it was trash. Where was the sexual tension? Where was the romance? He didn't want to get involved, then he takes her to a dance and suddenly they're in love and she goes to South America with some nit-wit woman she doesn't even know and doesn't tell anyone she's leaving? Really???? I'm so sorry I wasted my money on this, and please other reviewers who didn't like this book, forgive me for not taking you seriously. I've been a fan of Diana Palmer's for years but her last few books were horrible. Please don't waste your time or money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    I don't know what's happened to Ms. Palmer, but her last several

    I don't know what's happened to Ms. Palmer, but her last several offerings have been far below her caliber, and "Courageous" is no exception. Peg is completely unbelievable as a heroine, even for romantic fiction, and I ended up skipping pages by the tens due to the boring dissertation on military tactics. Previous books had hinted that supporting character Rourke might have an interesting story; his inclusion here, as well as the female reporter who drags Peg to Manaus, were misguided and borderd on the ridiculous. The few moments of great storytelling could not redeem this novel. I'll be returning it for my money back, and stick to Ms. Palmer's oldies but goodies, when she exhibited better character development and how to tell a love story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    The heroines in Diana Palmer's novels seem to be getting dumber

    The heroines in Diana Palmer's novels seem to be getting dumber and dumber. Or at the least they are gettin more ridiculously naive. This novel is just like her others - young, innocent heroine falls for older man. Misunderstandings abound until they find happiness. However, a lot of this book was so unbelievable. The "heroine" takes off to the jungles of South America with someone they've never met because the person claims her man wants to see her. Yes, in the middle of fighting a war, he wants you to come into the middle of it to see you! Someone should have taught her about "stranger danger". Some of the actions by the characters in this book were just a little too unrealistic and unbelievable and I think that's why I just didn't like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    Yuck!

    I am deeply disappointed in Diana Palmer and her current work. She's very judgemental and seems to have a huge chip on her shoulder. Some of her leading men are downright abusive and the female characters are stupid as hell and can't quite figure out how babies are made. Winslow Grange is a self-righteous douche bag. As much as we are charged for these piles of poo, you would think that she would make a bigger effort to write something a little better. As a fan of her earlier work, I am insulted that she doesn't even bother be consistent with her time lines. Avid readers pay attention to these things. She simply doesn't respect her fans anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2014

    Way too light on romance and too heavy on military tactics. The

    Way too light on romance and too heavy on military tactics. The rush into a 'romance' with Peg was all of a handful of pages and it was lame at
    that.
    She's done this in a couple books and it looks clear to me she's tired of writing romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Avia

    F.ck off.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Yay

    Hi-micah

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Avia

    Srry if it bothers you. So wat do u wanna do?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Ramsey

    Hey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Diana Palmer does it again! Excellent read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Awesome

    very very good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    I am a Big Fan of Palmer but this book was Horrible. It was fun

    I am a Big Fan of Palmer but this book was Horrible. It was fun and exciting at the beggining. All the remarks she was giving him, an he was not wanting a relationship. Suddenly they are at a dance and there in love. Then she suddenly goes across the world to find him. He is on a secret mission, when he see's her, he is thrilled that she is there. Seriously what a load of crap. Wasted my $$ on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    Typical Palmer, story line and plot suprisingly predictible b




    Typical Palmer, story line and plot suprisingly predictible but if it is one thing I will say, once you start reading a Palmer you usually don't put the book down until the last page is finished.



    Courageously Awesome Read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I've been a fan of Diana Palmer for a very long time. Anything she writes is good reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    a must for diana's fans

    I couldn't put it down. just like all her books she combines romance, mystery action all in one. I hope she never retires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    The Cover was enticing.

    I think this book was written by a first time writer. The story was, in my opinion, stupid. It was a waste of time and money to purchase this book. I read it to the end just because I bought it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2