Customer Reviews for

Courageous (Lost Fleet Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great series... But price?

7.99 for paperback, 7.99 for e-book? That is insane for a 236 page book. We are paying $47.00 for 1416 pages worth of series even if it is a good series. How about a box edition for e-book. Or atleast a price difference between paperback and e-book.

posted by Kyle0622 on August 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Nothing Courageous here

Here's a perfect example of an author/publisher milking the franchise for money. They're still lost and wandering the universe trying to get home against all odds, but more action takes place in the bedroom than in battle with the enemy. Of course our hero wins there t...
Here's a perfect example of an author/publisher milking the franchise for money. They're still lost and wandering the universe trying to get home against all odds, but more action takes place in the bedroom than in battle with the enemy. Of course our hero wins there too, what a man this BLACK JACK GEARY is ,'we are constantly reminded on every page by the author.' Although we do learn one fact to advance the future story line, you can easily skip this book and catch up on the next release, 'where they will still be lost and wandering, trying to get home against all odds led by studly hero 'fabulous Black Jack Geary the great'.......

posted by Anonymous on January 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Great series... But price?

    7.99 for paperback, 7.99 for e-book? That is insane for a 236 page book. We are paying $47.00 for 1416 pages worth of series even if it is a good series. How about a box edition for e-book. Or atleast a price difference between paperback and e-book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2008

    Great!

    I mistakenly read this book first rather than 'Dauntless', which is the first book in the series. What's so good about it, though, is that it can easily stand alone even though it's the third book in the series. The story gripped me immediately and kept me interested---so much so that I finished this one and have now started at the beginning of the series. The other reviewer was correct, however, the previous book could have been lengthened to finish the whole story but I like how it's been broken up and I am definitely looking forward to the next in the series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    Nothing Courageous here

    Here's a perfect example of an author/publisher milking the franchise for money. They're still lost and wandering the universe trying to get home against all odds, but more action takes place in the bedroom than in battle with the enemy. Of course our hero wins there too, what a man this BLACK JACK GEARY is ,'we are constantly reminded on every page by the author.' Although we do learn one fact to advance the future story line, you can easily skip this book and catch up on the next release, 'where they will still be lost and wandering, trying to get home against all odds led by studly hero 'fabulous Black Jack Geary the great'.......

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    Enjoyed this

    These books are great! I enjoy the situations as well as the battles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Great Reasd!

    Great read, I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    More of the same but fun developments keep me wanting more.

    If you have read the first two books in the series then you may feel like things are dragging out a little bit for the first half of the book. There are twists with the romance and a bit of drama here and there with dealing with the fleet itself but for the most part it feels like an extension of the other books. But then there are a few more interesting twists and turns towards the latter part of the book that really kept me on the edge of my seat. The implications of which seem to be real game changers and it is starting to feel a lot less of a sure thing that things with wrap up all nice and tidy for our Lost Fleet. I am really enjoyed it. I wouldn't give it 5 stars because as with the others it feels short and a little bit like the books are divided up too quickly. . . but I'm really enjoying myself in reading them so I'll be a sucker and pony up for more. :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    This is an entertaining and worthwhile series

    I picked up the latest in this series as my first read, which lead me to read the rest of them in order. You miss the nuances if you do not. If you enjoy military science fiction and take the trouble to visualize the author's description of battles and tactics, you will be well entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Really liked,

    this book is really well written, keeps your attention and is not overly tecnical. It is also a book that that young readers can read with out a parent profffing it first.
    Nice to see a book that was not over the top sex and few spelling errors for a change!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2010

    Understands It's Readers

    To me there are few science fictions series that understand it audience better than The Lost Fleet series. Courageous is better than its predictors because it makes the story more about the Captain and less about the women. Which was about time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    The Saga continues

    The fifth in the series continues to present the reader with the ongoing trials/tribulations of a leader attempting to both return home and defeat an old, old enemy. The character continues to struggle with romantic instincts and the dissatisfied commanders who are often unwilling/unsure to follow his lead. Good escapist militaristic reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is a book that will keep you interested all the time.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8