Customer Reviews for

Course in Miracles: Combined Volume

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Reclaim your emotional control!

Great book. Bought it 18 years ago. Very intellectual at first but it gets easy. Well worth the read and study if you are determined to reclaim control of your life. Learn how to release guilt, people, and the past through this study. Things, people, and situations will...
Great book. Bought it 18 years ago. Very intellectual at first but it gets easy. Well worth the read and study if you are determined to reclaim control of your life. Learn how to release guilt, people, and the past through this study. Things, people, and situations will no longer control your life.

posted by Anonymous on May 28, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Significant Omissions render it a useless version of an otherwise valuable book!

I am so disappointed in ths eBook from Nook due to the many omissions of significant phrases, sentences, etc. Started reading and finally put it aside and went back to my paper copy. Parts of the Nook version didn't even make sense due to the poor quality of the trans...
I am so disappointed in ths eBook from Nook due to the many omissions of significant phrases, sentences, etc. Started reading and finally put it aside and went back to my paper copy. Parts of the Nook version didn't even make sense due to the poor quality of the transfer to the electronic version. I found it totally worthless. I wouldn't even give it one star, but this won't post otherwise!

posted by 5057807 on January 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2002

    Reclaim your emotional control!

    Great book. Bought it 18 years ago. Very intellectual at first but it gets easy. Well worth the read and study if you are determined to reclaim control of your life. Learn how to release guilt, people, and the past through this study. Things, people, and situations will no longer control your life.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2001

    After 30 years, I've finally found it

    The last spiritual book anyone needs. Quite possibly the most important book ever written. Once you find out Who the author is, you need look no further. Not for everyone. You have to be absolutely dedicated to spiritual enlightenment to be able to take advantage of the advanced concepts and knowledge contained in the course. The simply curious should save their money. After a chapter or two, you'll put it down. All I did was begin the course, and immediately had the most profound experiences of my life. The course then went on to explain what had happened to me. Talk about your basic paradigm shift... I've done several spiritual diciplines, some for years. I've never experienced anything like this.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    Significant Omissions render it a useless version of an otherwise valuable book!

    I am so disappointed in ths eBook from Nook due to the many omissions of significant phrases, sentences, etc. Started reading and finally put it aside and went back to my paper copy. Parts of the Nook version didn't even make sense due to the poor quality of the transfer to the electronic version. I found it totally worthless. I wouldn't even give it one star, but this won't post otherwise!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    So worth the money!

    I bought a different version first from Amazon, and used it to study with a group and the others had this version with the Preface, and the preface alone is worth the money for the book. Definitely get this volume which was published by the Foundation for Inner Peace. The Preface, which is amazing and priceless and is such a necessary part of the entire course. The other publishers don't have the preface. The Course in Miracles has been life-changing and healing for me and I highly recommend it.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    Expect your life to change for the better!

    The book can be difficult to read at first but stay with it and watch your life, attitudes, and beliefs change for the better. It is the finest book about the reason for existence and the Trinity that I have ever read. It is a book which you hope never ends.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    "...seek and ye shall find."

    For those who wrote negative reviews of "A Course in Miracles" are showing their ignorance of who actually wrote the Bible. Does anyone recall the Emperor Constantine? or King James? Who was watching over their shoulders when they were EDITING and TRANSLATING/RE-WRITING the Bible? When quoting the Bible one is actually re-quoting Constantine or James. Truth is the light that speaks for itself in the heart and in the soul. Reading "A Course in Miracles" shines the light for all to see.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2000

    The Sum of All there is

    A Course in Miracles (ACIM) ties everything together - yoga, meditation, metaphysical readings. It's a shortcut that includes all the wisdom in all other studies. Note that I didn't say it's the ONLY road to the Kingdom, but it can stand alone. It's been fantastic for me, especially since concentrating on the text.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    A Course in Miracles

    I have studied the Teachings of Don Juan and also the Fourth Way. This book answers a lot of questions that were not explained in either of these teachings. It also explains in great detail how the ego works and why it works the way it does. It has the most plausible explanation of how this world came to be of anything I have ever read. And there is a lot to read. It seems that this book can help to evolve one's spiritual level just by reading it. It is the fast track to enlightenment.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2007

    Beware False Prophets Coming in the name of Christ

    Very Christ inspired but I caution you to nto readily believe that someone channeled Jesus Christ when writing this book. The daily lessons are great at Christian based cognitive behavior therapy BUT .... the New Testament is the real source of Christ's teaching. Use this book in context but don't let it mess your theology.

    5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2006

    this book will change your life

    This is the spiritual book of all time if you are ready for it. It is a life changer and a mind clearer. I cannot describe how it has changed my life for the better and how it has helped me cope with life situations I could not have dreamed of a year ago (I am currently on lesson 283 in the workbook). This is a one on one course with Christ himself and the Holy Spirit. It is the way back to sanity. If you are ready, this course will help you immensely.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Like biting into a bit of cheesecake.. you have to chew!

    Yes, there are several places in this book where you go two or three sentences and you really must go back and chew on it for a while.

    What this book teaches is really very simple; however we humans love our complexities. So this book accommodates that human need to over-think and all the while it is getting you to chill out and stop over thinking. I have never seen a spiritual path which has done this in this way, yet.

    Personally I see parallels with Buddhism and Mystic Christianity as well as some of the more advanced modern Pagan Mysteries.

    This is the genuine article. I will not lie however; it took me three years to read the Text. Upon completion I went back to the beginning and realized I was hearing what I had read from an entirely different perspective, it all sounded so different (not contradictory). And this was just after having finished it.

    I don't think I would have made it through this book without the aid of several other books written by some highly educated people. The temptation is to dismiss this book but that would be a loss. A Return to Love by Marianne Williamson is a good introduction.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    A must have.

    This is the best book ever written. It explains everthing so you can know who you are, why you are here and what you should do.Take your time reading it or you will get confused and not understand the book at all. If you will read and follow the work book you life will NEVER be the same.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    Beware! Beware!

    The Holy Bible teaches us in the last days that 'other gospels' will be preached. To deny that Jesus Christ is our ONLY access to the Father and the Kingdom of Heaven is nothing but apostasy! Don't read this book unless you are versed in the Scriptures and know them very well. Otherwise, you can easily be led away from the Truth and accept an 'other gospel.' The teachings within these pages are not remotely 'The Gospel' but are, for a fact, one of the 'other gospels' Christians were warned to 'flee from'in the last days. This author was inspired for sure, but not by the Spirit of the Living God, but by demonic forces! Any teaching other than 'Jesus Christ is the Way, the Truth and the Life' is false teaching and everyone should Beware! Beware, before you are led astray!

    4 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Amazingly Insightful!!!

    This book just made perfect sense from a spiritual and psychological perspective. I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a straight up, honest view of the inner workings of every mind & soul.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2000

    Release from Guilt Yes!

    This book and An Encounter With A Prophet both say guilt is totally insane. Think about that for a moment. Imagine never feeling guilt again does that feel peaceful. Read the books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Thank you very much. Was exactly what I was looking for/needed.

    I've ready many books on Spiritual thought/being. Dan Millman, Buddhism, bible, Chi Kung, etc.

    Have had some pretty amazing results over the years. But, this book finally answered the question with clarity and information that has helped me to search no more, since it holds the answer's that make the most sense. Before this book I was always in search mode. Well, this seems better or that seems better, how come I feel such and such.

    Anyhow, It is my daily reader and unlike some books I actually feel compelled to open it and read it. I practice the lessons as I move along and love to share with others the truth that has been given me.

    My loved ones and my closest friends can see a profound difference in my attitude and it really is a miracle.

    Thanks so much. Jennifer

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What a valuable book for people to read and know

    What a blessing to have this book in print, it is inspirational, spiritual and divinely guided words put out there for our reading, using and knowing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    Touching

    Absolutely a great read.<BR/>Opens up a lot of things simply overlooked for thousand of years and has to have credibility.<BR/><BR/>I rate this book as tops.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2000

    A Monumental Book!

    Truly a momumental book! By developing the ability to feel the presence of the Holy Spirit and learning to trust that every event in life will lead one to a universal experience, makes my dealing with life's trials far easier.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    ...if you want to rebuild your self & your life, these books will open your mind to ideas & truths that have never been introduced to you in your life. 30 years later I've finally processed some of the lessons & see a much bigger picture of myself & my life & my connection with others, the earth & the universe...I'm still reading & growing & learning - since it's a never-ending process & I have to get up & go to work again tomorrow, I might as well get more of the real picture -I'm so grateful I did all these years - my life isn't perfect, neither am I, so, might as well keep learning & actually seeing the changes with me & my life when they happen...this' what we take with us, not all the toys - though I LOVE my Nook & other toys, I know they are not me or my life...live long & prosper.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7