BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Course in Miracles: Combined Volume

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Reclaim your emotional control!

Great book. Bought it 18 years ago. Very intellectual at first but it gets easy. Well worth the read and study if you are determined to reclaim control of your life. Learn how to release guilt, people, and the past through this study. Things, people, and situations will...
Great book. Bought it 18 years ago. Very intellectual at first but it gets easy. Well worth the read and study if you are determined to reclaim control of your life. Learn how to release guilt, people, and the past through this study. Things, people, and situations will no longer control your life.

posted by Anonymous on May 28, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Significant Omissions render it a useless version of an otherwise valuable book!

I am so disappointed in ths eBook from Nook due to the many omissions of significant phrases, sentences, etc. Started reading and finally put it aside and went back to my paper copy. Parts of the Nook version didn't even make sense due to the poor quality of the trans...
I am so disappointed in ths eBook from Nook due to the many omissions of significant phrases, sentences, etc. Started reading and finally put it aside and went back to my paper copy. Parts of the Nook version didn't even make sense due to the poor quality of the transfer to the electronic version. I found it totally worthless. I wouldn't even give it one star, but this won't post otherwise!

posted by 5057807 on January 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Omissions made a already challenging text a lot harder to understand.

    I love the Course but the transfer from paper copy to ebook is very poor quality. There are parts missing that make an already challenging text that much harder to understand. I ended up having to go back to the paper copy like other readers that rated the Nook version.

    I give it a two because the Course itself has shifted my life in ways unimaginable but I'm wishing there was a refund on Nook Books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    The True Miracle is Completing the Voluminous Text.

    I have been a student of religion for many years and have a status as clergy. I am a member of the AHA. The principle behind ACIM is almost identical with that of Christian Science. One supposedly heals the sick by denying the reality of sin, sickness and death. In fact, the book denies the reality of the physical world altogether. This is not a new attempt. Adi Shankara, the Jnana Yogi wrote about the same. The belief that the physical world is illusion is common to Hinduism and Buddhism. I keep thinking about the Christian Scientists who were prosecuted for allowing their child to die of a treatable illness. Apparently, they denied the illness. I suppose after the funeral they denied the death as well. I dare say they might have found the incarceration hard to deny. The book ACIM has been out since 1977. Surely, at least one practitioner of the course could claim James 'the Amazing' Randi's offer of $25,000 for anyone who can demonstrate a true 'faith' healing, but apparently nobody has. I'll remember using the ACIM defense if I'm ever on trial for murder 'Your honor, I'm innocent of murder, since the person I allegedly killed had no real body anyway, and didn't actually die!' This brings to mind the humorous Zen story. A group of monks were meditating, seeking a flash of enlightenment. The master asked one what he had glimpsed of truth. The disciple said 'Master, I realize now that the Hindus are right and the physical world is illusion. The master promptly bonked the student on the head with his cane. 'Ow!', cried the student rubbing his head, 'Why did you do that?'. The master smiled 'Surprising how painful illusion can be.' But alas. Unlike one of the reviewers above, I received no visions, and apparently have flunked the course!' I think the only place I agree with the book is that I also deny the reality of sin.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1