BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Courtesan

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2005

    awesome

    i read this book (500+ pages) in less than 48 hrs, while still managing to be a full time mommy, student, and work too! it was impossible to put down! i cant wait until the next book, i'm counting the days! you must read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Romance and intrigue in this wonderful read

    This book was good! Gabrielle is by far the most exciting sister to read about! I loved the intrigue in the court and how beneath everyone's plans there's always a hidden agenda of what they really want. This is a great mix of historical fiction mixed with paranormal and fantasy. The plot was interesting, the romance was there but I was able to tolerate it, and the ending was great and I'm really looking forward to the next book. There is also a helpful author's note at the end of the novel to explain what's fact and fiction - very helpful and a nice explanation done by Susan Carroll.

    I really liked how each Cheney sister has her own unique personality and characteristics. Ariane the oldest, is very calm, a healer, and strong. Gabrielle is quite the opposite, she's reckless, ambitious, outspoken, and stubborn. Miri, the youngest, has an affinity with animals, but tries to see the good in everybody. Each of them has a love interest and although I liked Ariane and Renard, Gabrielle and Remy were much more passionate and "heated". There were more explicit scenes in this one - I suppose it makes sense as Gabrielle is a courtesan but I let that slide, her and Remy had a nice chemistry and they just seemed to be great for each other. (I actually think Martin and Miri are rather cute together, I suppose we'll see what happens next with her in the following book).

    There is a good element of plot twisting and surprises, which keeps the plot interesting and keeps you turning the pages. I have to admit, some parts were a little eye rolling; especially when one is in danger and suddenly the rescue team arrives just on time. However I enjoyed this book too much to let that bother me.

    My favorite part, would be when Remy surprises Gabrielle at the masquerade party. It had great descriptions and you can vividly picture Gabrielle's gown, and the party sounded like something I just wanted to jump into. It was a perfect scene to develop a lot of intrigue and mystery into the plot!

    Overall I recommend this book to those that love a good historical fiction, mixed with magic and passionate romance, with a very passionate couple.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2014

    Second book was way more interesting then the first one. Gabriel

    Second book was way more interesting then the first one. Gabrielle is a more interesting character to read about and her relationship with Ramy was intense and passionate. It's a romance book it was a bit cheesy at times but it's was a pretty entertaining read with all the drama with the Dark Queen, witches and witch hunters the plot was twisted and keeps you going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Nadia

    A bit sappy and corny but overall was a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Not very good

    This book was mis-titled and poorly written. If it werent for the adult content it read more like a children's book than an adult one. I was sadly mislead to believe it had some historical content. I was bored throughout and the storyline was predictable at best. Ill not waste my money on thid suthor again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Loved it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    I loved this book

    passion, romance I do not know if it is my age but at the moment I am LOVING this series - I went straight from the airport to the book store to by the silver rose and am halfway done - strong man - damsal in distress - but strong - I LOVED IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2007

    One of the Best Books Ever!

    This is a great book! I'm loving the whole series so far. Susan Caroll is great and I'm reading all her books!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    It was absolutely phenominal!

    It was a battle to read because there were some parts that made me feel that the characters were very stubborn but that just added to all the excitement. I LOVED the novel and have been recommending it to anyone who would be interested. It had so many twists and turns that even when I stopped reading I was still thinking about the book. Normally when I find a great author they only have one or two books but luckily Carroll has a whole bunch of them. I can't get enough of Carroll's novels!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    I absolutely could not put this book down! the first two or three chapters seemed to drag by, but after that, the amount of intrigue and various schemes really keep you wondering what's going to happen. I didn't read the first book in the series, but i didn't feel like i was missing anything. truly a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2006

    Not Up To Susans Standards

    Susan has done much better work. I realy could care less about gabby. I wanted to hear more about Ariane and Renard. I wanted to hear more from simion and miri. I wanted more out of the queen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    Amazing

    I absolutely adored this book. Im with the girl below, you fall in love with the characters and their plight and you find yourself cheering on gabrielle and her love. A must read and a real page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2005

    A MUST MUST READ!!!

    you HAVE to read this book, I LOVE it so much! I am completly in love with Remy, oh god... I would give this book a Million stars!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2005

    Amazing!!!

    Once again Susan takes magnificent words and spins a world that is unreal. I fell into the book from page one all the way to the end. This series is alive with each and every word, its as if it breathes! The attention to details and original ideas make this series, and this book, one of the best I have ever read. I cannot wait for the final one, Miri's journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong historical enhanced by otherworldly and romantic elements

    In 1575, courtesan Gabrielle Cheney visits reclusive friend Cassandra Lascelles at run down Maison d'esprit where the latter¿s family were killed as befitting witches. Gabrielle wants to insure her friend is okay and ask Cassandra to communicate with her only love Captain Nicholas Remy who her brother informed her died. The séance conducted by Cassandra brings up the spirit of Nostradamus but fails to find Remy whom Gabrielle wants to apologize to for her behavior towards him on Faire Isle when they met three years ago (see THE DARK QUEEN). Cassandra knows that means he still lives but says nothing. --- Just after leaving her friend to return to her sculpturing studio though she no longer uses her talent, Gabrielle is stopped by Remy who followed her. At first believing he is a ghost, she finally realizes her beloved lives. As Gabrielle walks a thin line between being the Courtesan of King Henry of Navarre and her love for Remy, the Dark Queen Catherine de Medici, the most powerful and most connected witch has plans of her own for the upstart. --- The second Cheney sister historical tale combines otherworldly and romantic elements into an insightful look at the de Medici impact in Paris. The story line is action-packed starting with the séance and never slowing down until the final climax in which Catherine¿s bewitching minion and her political power seems too daunting to be overcome by a bewitching courtesan and her beloved soldier. Fans will enjoy this sixteenth century suspense thriller and seek the first tale when sister Ariane battled THE DARK QUEEN while looking forward to the third sibling¿s story. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2