Customer Reviews for

A Courtesan's Scandal

Average Rating 3.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A COURTESAN'S SCANDAL in an intriguing refreshing Regency romance

    In London of 1806, Kate Bergeron has come a long way from her impoverished childhood as she has become mistress to a cloth merchant. However, she climbs higher up the social ladder when the Prince of Wales wants her. Prinny is in the midst of a public divorce so must conceal his planned trysts with his latest mistress.

    He asks in a way the duke cannot refuse him, that Grayson Christopher pretend to be Kate's newest lover; he does not even bother to ask Kate as he expects her to comply. Kate and Grayson assume their masquerading as a couple will be a front for the Prince to hide his assignation, but no more. Neither expected to be attracted to one another although each understands the danger if they begin to make love let alone fall in love.

    A COURTESAN'S SCANDAL in an intriguing refreshing Regency romance as inadvertently the Prince plays matchmaker and relationship breaker. The cast is strong including the Prince who sets up quite a dilemma for the lead couple. Fans will appreciate Julia London's charmer as love proves dangerous to a duke and his not so pretend mistress as neither known how the capricious Prinny will react if he learns the truth.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    I loved this one!

    I loved this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    I really enjoyed Julia London's book. This was my first and I th

    I really enjoyed Julia London's book. This was my first and I thought it was really good. I love to read romance novels with a twist. This one was very interesting because a duke falls in love with a courtesan, and he wants to be with her. I am a romantic and I love that Grayson would give everything up to be with Kate. That does not happen very often. Very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Forbidden Attraction predictable yet appealing

    Redonk Nutshell: Attraction ignites between two pawns in the Prince's game to have a forbidden beautiful courtesan to himself

    A Courtesan's Scandal by Julia London is the tale set during London's period of drama between Princess Caroline and and crown Prince. The Prince has his eye set on stunning courtesan Kate Bergeron, but he can't touch her so long as the authorities in England are investigating into alleged "treasonous" adultery between the prince and princess. The prince enlists the help of the Duke of Darlington, Grayson Robert Henry Christopher to lure society into believing Kate is his mistress. (Are you following all this?) Grayson reluctantly agrees, and upon first meeting Kate he treats her with contempt of her lowly station as a whore, more or less, and instead of simpering beneath his boot, Kate throws it back at him.

    Thus, the game begins.

    Though predictable (and entirely unbelievable), A Courtesan's Scandal is a fun read involving tortured souls Kate and Grayson. What really makes this story worth reading is the transformation of Grayson's ducal cold exterior into one of tender compassion. He's stuffy, pompous, entitled, and entirely wrapped up in his own world until Kate is forced upon him and she refuses to accept his disdain.

    Kate chose to become a courtesan to keep herself off the street. Having only ever had one protector, the crown prince is only to be her second lover. It's a job she's willing to take, though she isn't necessarily pleased about it. Kate is a gentle, simple soul. She works to try to help those less fortunate, and she typically manages to find pleasure in the simple things in life. Like baking. When Grayson enters her life, she finds herself thrown a bit off balance, but Kate has always been one to adapt quickly. When the duke begins to soften toward her, however, she unwillingly allows herself to do the one thing she had previous forbidden: fall in love

    Fun, frisky and, at times, humorous, A Courtesan's Scandal is a fun historical romance.

    A Courtesan's Scandal by Julia London 371 pgs, pub 2009

    Rating: C

    Romance: 2/5 Raunch: 3/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Mediocre at Best

    Ms. London did an adequate job of establishing Kate's reasons for her somewhat dubious occupation as opposed to the typically virtuous heroine. However, the chemistry between the hero and heroine took too long to establish, if it was ever established at all. Admittedly, I stopped being interested in their story halfway through the book.

    I was interested enough in their fates to skip to the end. I'd hoped to find something enticing in the last few chapters that would pique my curiosity enough for me to turn back and find out all the juicy details.

    Unfortunately, there wasn't. There was some pontificating on the part of the Duke as he lectured a room full of his peers on their self-righteousness. There was a family reunion of sorts. And there was the obligatory "I love you" exchange.

    Regrettably, this potentially extraordinary love story turned out to fall flat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Scandalous!

    The main character's attraction was good, but the overall story itself, I found to be somewhat boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A slighter book than the first two, but a pleasant read. The raunchy doings of George, Prince of Wales, continue to affect Nathan Grey's friends (The Book of Scandal).

    This time it comes with the demand from Prinny made on Grayson Christopher, scion of the powerful Darlington family, to appear to the ton to be the lover of courtesan Kate Bergeron. Christie is disgusted, but he goes along with it. Parallel themes of slavery and the London (English) poor hold the story together: Christie's brother Merrick is working with the real life Wilberforce to do away with slavery and Kate represents the plight of lower-class women especially, who are kept in abject poverty or forced into prostitution. Then there's the double standard of adultery that is allowed in the ton and punished among the lower classes. Kate has managed to rise out of squalor because of her incredible beauty, which has attracted Prinny who sets her up as his mistress-to-be AND the Duke who at first disdained her. But Kate is plain spoken, feisty, and above all, good. She not only opens her heart to Christie, but also opens his eyes to the politics of the rich vs. the poor and has him questioning what is honor and duty and acting on what he knows to be right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 stars

    I haven't read a romance novel in ages. I've read mystery/romance but not romance alone. So I signed up to read A Courtesan's Scandal for Pocket Book Blog Tours. I am so glad I did; I forget how really good these can be.



    Kate Bergeron was the mistress of a cloth merchant, who catches the eye of Prince George, who then purchases her for himself. But the prince is currently trying to divorce his wife and needs to avoid scandal. He sets Kate up in a house and and requests his friend Grayson Christopher, the Duke of Darlington, to escort her around town. The prince doesn't want anyone to try to steal Kate from him and knows they will stay away if they think Kate is with the Duke. Grayson loathes the idea, but must do as the prince asks.


    Grayson is surprised to discover the beautiful, down-to-earth Kate, who has only become a courtesan, to avoid living on the streets on London, since she was on her own at age thirteen. Kate discovers love for the first time. But she and Grayson can't be together; he must marry someone appropriate to his station in life and she belongs to the prince. He will destroy them both if they betray him.


    my review:

    I really liked this book. First of all, I'm a sucker for historical novels set in the 1800's London. Second, this was very well-written. Kate is not the usual young virginal heroine, but she is strong and longs for independence. And when she falls for Grayson, she either wants it all, or nothing. Kate gives money to try to help keep other woman off the street. And she longs to save enough money to open her own bakery and not have to depend on any man. She is also searching for her long-lost brother, Jude. There is a sub-plot where Grayson's brother is trying to get the British slave trade abolished.


    my rating 4.5/5

    additional ratings that were inspired (blatantly stolen) from my friend Colette at A Buckeye Girl Reads


    Sigh Meter- High

    Swoonworthy Meter- medium

    Hotness Meter- High

    Cheesy factor- almost none



    thanks to Pocket Books for my review copy.
    http://bookmagic418.blogspot.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An old fashioned regency romance!

    A Courtesan's Scandal is a fun, lighthearted romance with almost old fashioned leading characters.

    Julia London sets up the conflict beautifully. While the attraction between Kate Bergerson and Grayson Christopher, the Duke of Darlington, is clear from the start, they come into the situation with their own prejudices. It's these prejudices that slow down the romance and make the book enjoyable. We gradually learn that Kate Bergenson has come from the lowest possible background and has a horrible past and yet she somehow remains untouched by it. In fact, Kate is so generous that she comes across as a bit of a soft touch. It's easy to sympathize with Darlington when he suspects the worst of her - he is forced into the pretense and expected that she was a willing party. The story picks up when Darlington slowly comes to learn more about Kate Bergenson and treat her with respect. Julia London is masterful in her build up of the characters and increasing the tension in the plot.

    If you are looking for a fun regency romance with an old fashioned sensibility, you are sure to enjoy A Courtesan's Scandal.

    Publisher: Pocket (October 20, 2009), 384 pages.
    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Regency Experience

    Miss Katharine Bergeron had grown up and away from poverty and despair into a stunning and exquisite courtesan. She had found the life through despair and extreme desperation and knew only that this is how she survived. Now she was to the Prince's mistress and nothing will ever be the same. The Prince knows he wants Kate but he was trying to juggle one too many things of which the least was obtain a divorce from the wife he had in order to be free to pursue the life he wanted. So to keep the gossips of the ton off their game he asks his friend the Duke of Darlington, Grayson Christopher to pretend to be Kate's lover and make everyone think that the Prince is a victim of his wife's infidelity not a man who committed it.

    This was a great plan conceived by the Prince who is a master of the duck and cover. It would have proved a success expect for one little problem - Kate and Grayson find they not only like one another they have fallen in love with each other. While at first neither is keen on the idea and they are downright spiteful to one another but once the angry barbs stop and the conversations begin they both realize that they are a good match despite growing up at two different ends of the social ladder.

    How this love came to be so strong neither is sure about but are the obstacles ones they can overcome, the least of which might be the Prince when Grayson's mother finds out. Grayson is a duke with family responsibilities, a name to uphold and a brother trying to overturn the very lucrative slave trade. Kate could lose the only security she has known and the security that comes with money. Are they strong enough to fight the Prince who is a force to be reckoned with but take on the entire London society that can and will throw them both into the street poor and abandoned? How can a duke find himself so in love with a courtesan that he is willing to risk everything for her - Grayson thought simply by taking one look at Kate's smile and you are in love.

    Ms. London has a great story in this final book in the series with such a twist on a romance with the mistress being the lead that you are compelled to find yourself rooting for her to win. Grayson is a standup man who understands family responsibilities but also wants to fight for his own identity which can come from being a man in love and when he goes to bat for Kate he shows why some are better than the way they are raised. Lovely!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2