Customer Reviews for

Courting Trouble

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I love books that show people with problems and issues and must learn to trust God in those situations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Protagonist!

    I've read 4 Deeanne Gist novels now, and Courting Trouble and Deep in the Heart of Trouble are my favorites. I like that Essie is spirited and makes misktakes. It's always easier to relate to characters that do.

    But my favorite part of the book is when she finally forgives herself - it's really one of those sappy touching moments. I read it all it one go, so I think you can guess how much I liked it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    Must Read!!  This book was a very good and fun to read. It keep

    Must Read!! 
    This book was a very good and fun to read. It keep me very entertain and can't wait to read the sequel!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Great book!

    This is a wonderful read set in Texas in the laste 1890s. Essie is adventuresome, strong-willed, independent, naive, and badly in search of love. She is blindsided by a smooth talker and learns a hard lesson. Essie's strong faith helps her come to terms with her future. The logical follow-up to this book is Deep in the Heart of Trouble, another 5 star Gist book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    Loved the main character!!!

    Even though the ending of the book is not what one would think, I was thoroughly entertained. I couldn't wait for the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Great Historical Christian Novel!!!

    This book was surprisingly good. Christian novels like this are usually boring but this is something special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    A Must Read

    This book is an absolute MUST read for anyone who enjoys christian romance. I could not put it down! I have read all of Deanne Gist's books and have found them all to be fabulous! While others have commented on the books being too 'racy', I think they are real and entirely enjoyable! Christian women are not exempt from romantic feelings and emotion and I appreciate an author that is not afraid to be real in her writing! Please keep them coming Deanne!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2007

    Better and better

    Essie, the heroine, is destined to become one of your favorite characters. She's sassy, eccentric, and thoroughly likeable. You'll forgive her flaws and rejoice as she comes into her own. While perfectly moral, the book is realistic and inspirational. I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    To Catch a Husband

    This was my first Deeanne Gist book that I have read. I have A Bride Most Begrudging sitting on my shelf but I haven't gotten around to it. But now I definitely will have to make room for it in my TBR pile. First things first, this was one of the edgiest Christian fiction books I have ever read. Most other stories just hint about sex but never really talk about it. Wow this one nearly made me blush while reading certain scenes! Of course they are still very tame, but quite risqué compared to other CBA books that are out there. I did like Essie very much. I felt her pain and frustration about not being able to find a husband. She sounds like though that she would be a really great friend to have. She'd be a perfect chick-lit character if placed in a modern setting. I love reading about independent women and Essie definitely was one, with her bike riding and snake handling. I like the characters from the town as they made the story more lively. But oh, how I hate gossipy, jealous, bitter women. They seem to want to make everyone's life miserable. When I got to the ending, I was happy with it because of the way the rest of the story lead up to it. But I do hope very much to read the sequel to this book for more Essie adventures. I cannot wait but until then I'm going back to read Deeanne's other two books. Excellent, unusual romantic story with a spunky heroine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    Courting Trouble is my favorite of Deeanne's three historical novels. The author created a dynamic, quirky, unique characterization in Essie. In fact, I can't recall a single 'cardboard character' in this story. They were all expertly developed. The plot was so unique, that I loved it for that reason alone. Plus the spiritual element was very well done. In fact, I related so well to Essie's struggles that I got a choked up when she had her heart broken or was misunderstood--each and every time. I loved how the author showed that changing who you are for someone else will always leave you empty and frustrated. In short, this story gave me a powerful emotional experience. I feel like I learned something about myself, and I benefited spiritually from reading Courting Trouble. Like I said, it's the best of her three books. I also loved how the ending was not the usual scenario, which kept me reading because I honestly didn't know who Essie would end up with/or what she would do. I love any element in a novel that keeps me guessing. I totally understood Essie's thinking process and I identified with her. In fact, I hope that if the author writes a sequel she will include Essie, because I hated to see the story end. Courting Trouble is probably one of the edgiest historical novels I've read in CBA, yet in my opinion, it never strayed into objectionable matter. The author did tackle some pretty big issues in a genuine way, and I am impressed with how well she crafted it. The author is fabulous at putting physical temptation and realism into her stories. I believe it's her greatest strength and her brand as an author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2