Customer Reviews for

Courtney Comes Clean: The High Life and Dark Depths of Music's Most Controversial Icon

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Amazing book!

    I picked this book up last night and couldn't put it down. It's a really fascinating and nuanced portrait of an obviously troubled but brilliant woman. She's really smart and articulate and has lead a fascinating life. During the course of reporting the book, Roshan got hold of all sorts of material that is making national news. But he seems to maintain a really empathetic view of Love. They seemed to have developed a real bond. I think this book is first-rate and I highly recommend it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Full of juicy info you won't find anywhere else

    This is a rare find: a book that has complete access to the subject but isn't sugar coated to please that subject. Impossible to put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Trust me, you haven't heard it all before

    Roshan's access and Courtney's candor makes for a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Compelling read with great access

    The revelations and insight in here are extraordinary - I read it in one go straight! A must-read for anyone who wants to know about Courtney Love, or the wider issues surrounding addiction and celebrity in the new media age.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Just read in one exhilarating sitting, wow!

    What a fresh and fun format: half great magazine interview, half well-researched profile about a very interesting woman with insights into the illness of addiction. Loved the writing, the humor, the pathos, the news, the tone, made me even love Courtney Love and to root for her recovery and the healing of her family!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Smart, Funny, sometimes troubling stuff but really interesting and informative. The book's interview parts are fascinating and so is the research.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Best Courtney book yet -- a troubled woman

    I'm surprised that Love has made it this far in life. Drug addict, drunk, psycho, terrible mother, widow to a junky. It's pretty amazing. And how did Meyer Roshan get this access? Why would she talk to him about all this stuff?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Pharaoh

    Boredly played with his astragali.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Devoured in one sitting, hard for me to normally do, but the sto

    Devoured in one sitting, hard for me to normally do, but the story is just so compelling and Love is such a character, wow. 
    Writer does a good job verifying some pretty fantastical claims. 
    Worth 3 bucks for sure, I waste 5-6 on magazines not nearly as entertaining and smart. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Good read

    I enjoyed the book. Courtney games some info about other celebs that i didnt know did drugs. As crazy as she is she seems very loyal to her friends. The ones that didnt stab her in the back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Great Tablet read!

    Roshan's intelligent and sympathetic portrayal of Love is an entertaining and quick read. You just can't make this stuff up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Loved this book. She's so funny, so sad, so crazy, the author's equally charmed and disturbed by her, and seems a little crazy, too.

    What a fantastic game of cat and mouse, mouse and cat. These two are a piece of work. Twitter stalk much? And wow. Money really does change everything. She needs to just cut her losses. Hilarious lines all over this book. Very touching and sad about daughter Frances. Living with addiction is hard, with a mom addict rock star chasing fame and fraud it must be hell. Bet she had fun at plenty of times though. Addicts can be such fun and so, so, so awful. oh boy are they awful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1