Customer Reviews for

The Courtship of the Vicar's Daughter (The Gresham Chronicles Book #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Love this writer

    If you like the style of Jane Austin and that period in time, you will love this series. This is the second of three, easy, fast paced read. The author takes the time to develop each character so you feel like you know them. All in all a very entertaining book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2000

    This book was absolutely wonderful!

    This book was actually about several of the peole who live in Gresham and it was very interesting to switch from one character's story to anothers. You feel like you are keeping up with old friends. The way Mercy Sanders goes about getting her husband is suspenseful and her ending will make you cry with joy. I just finished this book this morning but will read it again immediately. It was just that good. I hope the author writes many more like this book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Read!

    This is the second in the Gresham Chronicles. And I enjoyed it immensely. Again this author is true to the time period and has all historical facts correct. Another fun read by Lawana Blackwell.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Highly recommended

    After reading The Widow of Larkspur Inn also by Lawana Blackwell, I wanted to continue the story of the families and the village. Reading how our ancestors lived has always interested me and good clean living it is.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    Loved the book!!! Looking forward to the next book in the serie

    Loved the book!!! Looking forward to the next book in the series. Recommend Highly!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very good Christian fiction

    Love this whole series! This particular book is as well written as the rest and worth checking out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2002

    It was Great!

    With the combination of faith in God and wonderful Christian friends, people in this book could get through anything, and did. This book was fun to read with new conflicts every turn of the way. This book gave me hope and put me in a good mood. I laughed with joy and I cried with joy. Almost anyone would enjoy this especially if you're looking for something that will make you feel good. Even for a non- Christian, this book could easily have a positive effect on someone's life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    This is my favorite book series

    You find yourself inlove with the charactors - i wish i could live in a town as described in these stories!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Excellent

    Ms. Blackwell has done it again with this second book in the Gresham series. A delight to read and appropriate for all ages. The characters are so well developed they capture your interest and affections. I can't wait to get started in the third book to find out what next happens in Gresham and to the lovely people who live there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    A gentle read

    This book was absolutely lovely.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Loved it

    Really good story. Looking forward to the 3rd one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    A good sequel.

    Enjoyable historical inspirational book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    Excellent romance

    Here is a novel that young women should read as they look for a spouse. And maybe dad of girls should read it also to see how the father role is very important in their daughters' lives

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    ABSOLUTELY GREAT SERIES.

    My best review; I ordered the 3rd in this series. Since it is about a whole village there are many characters. I want to read them consecutively so I can remember all of them. These novels are so well written they keep your interest from first page to last. Gotta go now. Book three is waiting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Courting the Vicars daughter

    AWESOME BOOK YOU HAVE TO READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2014

    Wonderful Book!

    I eventually bought a 4 books in this series because they were so well written. They hold your interest from the very beginning. The characters are interesting and well-rounded. She does talk about their faith in the Lord quite a bit, but that's part of their appeal. That they would put their hope and worries and cares in the Lord instead of constantly worrying about them. I would read any other series from this author...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Terrific

    Love the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Highly Recommened

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    'Tis the best!

    The characters from the previous book are interwoven cleverly within the new story! I can hardly wait to read the next book in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Very well written and I loved the characters. Looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3