Customer Reviews for

A Cousin's Promise (Indiana Cousins Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Cousin's Promise is a sad story...but filled with problems..of which the faith of the characters over ride iin the end. It's a wonderful story.

It's a wonderful story...sad for a while...but everything turns out fine.
It's filled with caring and compassion...and examples of how people should turn to the Bible and the Lord for help and prayer...and knowledge to help solve their problems. Even Bible verses are...
It's a wonderful story...sad for a while...but everything turns out fine.
It's filled with caring and compassion...and examples of how people should turn to the Bible and the Lord for help and prayer...and knowledge to help solve their problems. Even Bible verses are quoted. They are wonderful christian faith type stories and it also gives you a look at the Amish life.

posted by 1283900 on May 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The beginning of a new series

I have read a few books by Wanda Brunstetter and I have come to a conclusion. Wanda has an amazing following of readers that love her books and her knowledge of the Amish lifestyle and enjoy delving into that simpler side of life that so many of us just don't have. She ...
I have read a few books by Wanda Brunstetter and I have come to a conclusion. Wanda has an amazing following of readers that love her books and her knowledge of the Amish lifestyle and enjoy delving into that simpler side of life that so many of us just don't have. She has simple storylines that are keep your interest and are easy to follow. The only thing that gives me reason to pause is that her style is so simplistic that I feel like she tells me everything I need to know and leaves no room for my imagination to work. This book "A Cousin's Promise" is my favorite of hers so far though. It has a somewhat unique storyline that left me wondering for the first time how things would end (but I had strong suspicions).

What happens when a group of Amish young adults want to go on a little vacation and they hire a driver to take them to an amusement park, but get involved in a horrid car accident on their way there? Not everyone makes it out of the accident okay and now there are some awful consequences. Wayne loses a leg and breaks his engagement to Lorraine because he doesn't feel that he can support her and be a real husband. She doesn't want to give up on him, but he keeps pushing her away. Her old boyfriend hears about the accident and comes back to see how she is doing and quickly realizes he still loves her. What will Lorraine do now?

This is the beginning of what just might be a really entertaining series by Wanda. If you haven't read any by her yet, I would reccomend this one as a good starting point.

posted by Janna6 on April 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Cousin's Promise is a sad story...but filled with problems..of which the faith of the characters over ride iin the end. It's a wonderful story.

    It's a wonderful story...sad for a while...but everything turns out fine.
    It's filled with caring and compassion...and examples of how people should turn to the Bible and the Lord for help and prayer...and knowledge to help solve their problems. Even Bible verses are quoted. They are wonderful christian faith type stories and it also gives you a look at the Amish life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The beginning of a new series

    I have read a few books by Wanda Brunstetter and I have come to a conclusion. Wanda has an amazing following of readers that love her books and her knowledge of the Amish lifestyle and enjoy delving into that simpler side of life that so many of us just don't have. She has simple storylines that are keep your interest and are easy to follow. The only thing that gives me reason to pause is that her style is so simplistic that I feel like she tells me everything I need to know and leaves no room for my imagination to work. This book "A Cousin's Promise" is my favorite of hers so far though. It has a somewhat unique storyline that left me wondering for the first time how things would end (but I had strong suspicions).

    What happens when a group of Amish young adults want to go on a little vacation and they hire a driver to take them to an amusement park, but get involved in a horrid car accident on their way there? Not everyone makes it out of the accident okay and now there are some awful consequences. Wayne loses a leg and breaks his engagement to Lorraine because he doesn't feel that he can support her and be a real husband. She doesn't want to give up on him, but he keeps pushing her away. Her old boyfriend hears about the accident and comes back to see how she is doing and quickly realizes he still loves her. What will Lorraine do now?

    This is the beginning of what just might be a really entertaining series by Wanda. If you haven't read any by her yet, I would reccomend this one as a good starting point.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fans will appreciate Ms. Brunstetter¿s opening Indiana Amish contemporary romance

    In Indiana, a car accident leaves Wayne Lambright wheelchair bound. Though he suffers some self-pity and bouts of feeling sorry for his plight, his biggest concern is he deems he is no longer worthy of the love of his fiancee Loraine Miller. Instead he wants her to live a happy life and not have to waste her youth caring for a cripple. Loraine wants to help her fiance, but cannot grasp the deep emotional issues confronting her disabled beau especially since he must adapt from being a healthy do it yourself person to a person dependent on others.<BR/><BR/>Loraine's former boyfriend Jake Beechy has come home to the Amish after tasting the English lifestyle. His only regret for leaving is leaving behind Loraine. He wants a second chance with her. Loraine has a difficult decision to make as she cares for both men, but each in their way at some time deserted her.<BR/><BR/>This is the start of a new Amish saga taking place in the Hoosier State. The strong support cast brings out the strong sense of community, a trademark of a Wanda E. Brunstetter Amish romance; they also set the tone for future stories as Loraine¿s cousins have personal issues that need resolution. The lead triangle is fully developed with each caring about others but carrying flaws. Although at times their discussions seem a bit forced especially with Wayne, fans will appreciate Ms. Brunstetter¿s opening Indiana Amish contemporary romance.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I have not finished the book yet, but it is really good so far. I also bought the other two books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    Old plot with a hasty ending

    I was rather disappointed with this book. By the second chapter it was fairly obvious how it would end, but I was hoping the journey to that ending would make it worth it. She spent too much time on too many story lines to really delve deeply into any of them. You could see the paths that she wanted to take the reader down, but you weren't taken far down any of them. I found the ending to be the most disappointing. I was expecting the story to be continued in the next two books so I wasn't horribly concerned that she had several plots going on. In the last twenty pages everything is tied up and I was left scratching my head wondering how on earth the story was over. The way things ended seemed horribly unrealistic and leaves me wondering if I want to try reading the next two books in the hopes that she goes more in depth or if I should just move on to a better author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    the Indiana Cousins

    I found these books (series of three) very interesting and they really just grab you. I was so interested in these books that I read the series of three within a week. Wanda is great author and her books are very well written. There are Amish in my community and see them at the local stores and I find them to be very caring people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Cousin;s Promise

    True love,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    I love books about the Amish as we did live in the area for many years

    I loved the book and was kept wondering how it would all come together till the very end. I love the stories about the Amish and the way scripture and love and kindness to others are all part f the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Accident Prone

    The title of this Amish romance should be Accidents as it's loaded with one tragic accident after another. I do not remember ever having read a book so crammed full of mishaps.

    The plot is slow moving and repetitive, almost to the point of stopping--only to speed up at the satisfying end. The large cast of characters are rather flat, but since this is the first in the Indiana Cousins series, I expect them to be fleshed out in books to come. Several of the characters have problems that will drastically influence the course of their lives. Tripod is one unique character that's worth watching. I like the author's interweaving of the Plain People's jargon.

    Fans of Amish specialist Brunstetter, will enjoy this one, and be interested in some starter for Friendship Bread. Discussion questions are included at the end as well as a recipe for Loraine's Favorite Chicken.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    "Keeps you guessing"

    A Cousin's Promise
    Written by: Wanda Brunstetter
    Published by: Barbour
    Reviewed by: Stephanie Rollins for ReviewYourBook.com 3/2009
    ISBN: 978-1-60260-060-7
    "Keeps you guessing" 4 stars
    Wanda Brunstetter is the leader in Amish fiction. Her latest, A Cousin's Promise, does not disappoint. When a tragic accident occurs, a few are injured, and a few die. Those dealing with the grief have to learn to not push the ones who love them away.
    Wayne, who lost a leg, is having a hard time. He thinks that he cannot marry because of his handicap. He encourages his fianc&#233;, Loraine, to seek a relationship with Jake. Will Wayne come to his senses before Jake and Loraine plan their future? I really did not know how this one was going to end. Brunstetter is known for happy endings, but she kept hinting at a twist.
    Put this on your summer reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2