Customer Reviews for

The Cove (FBI Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 495 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(127)

3 Star

(89)

2 Star

(56)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

good

I am fortunate to get B@N gift cards so I decided to try an author new to me, and have gotten several of her books. The only one of her FBI series worth reading is this one. The rest of the series reads like a teenager wrote the love scenes, the women and most of the fi...
I am fortunate to get B@N gift cards so I decided to try an author new to me, and have gotten several of her books. The only one of her FBI series worth reading is this one. The rest of the series reads like a teenager wrote the love scenes, the women and most of the fictional agents are all similar in looks,temperment and actions-in other words-boring.

posted by Anonymous on February 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

put the book down, back up, turn around and walk away as fas as you can

I read the Eleventh Hour and Blow Out - they were great. I had this notion to start with her very first FBI Series and work my way up - The Cove was at best, a horrible and painful read. But oh no, I thought, I just had to read The Target after that, MAYBE it would ge...
I read the Eleventh Hour and Blow Out - they were great. I had this notion to start with her very first FBI Series and work my way up - The Cove was at best, a horrible and painful read. But oh no, I thought, I just had to read The Target after that, MAYBE it would get better, but it didn't. Then I read the next book - what WAS I thinking. The characters are just plain stupid and then what's worse, the characters even communicate with each other in dialog that is just plain corny (which is what I've found in the other books as well). The plot could have been good if it was just better written and developed and not so contrite.

posted by Anonymous on May 14, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 500 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    good

    I am fortunate to get B@N gift cards so I decided to try an author new to me, and have gotten several of her books. The only one of her FBI series worth reading is this one. The rest of the series reads like a teenager wrote the love scenes, the women and most of the fictional agents are all similar in looks,temperment and actions-in other words-boring.

    28 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2006

    put the book down, back up, turn around and walk away as fas as you can

    I read the Eleventh Hour and Blow Out - they were great. I had this notion to start with her very first FBI Series and work my way up - The Cove was at best, a horrible and painful read. But oh no, I thought, I just had to read The Target after that, MAYBE it would get better, but it didn't. Then I read the next book - what WAS I thinking. The characters are just plain stupid and then what's worse, the characters even communicate with each other in dialog that is just plain corny (which is what I've found in the other books as well). The plot could have been good if it was just better written and developed and not so contrite.

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wretched Style with Plot Pot Holes Studding the Landscape

    Coulter is a romance writer that has broken out into the mainstream; this book was found in the mystery section. Blessedly, the book lacked the romance genre's purple prose descriptions of the protagonists, but it did have a bad habit of head-hopping that by Chapter Four was seriously getting on my nerves. However, the book also had an intriguing mystery that was pulling me in and had me firmly hooked by Chapter Ten. Unfortunately, the plot holes kept growing until they became a yawing plot gorge. To give one example not a spoiler, the hero, an FBI agent, more than once talked about how his gun was on a hair-trigger. Then, without any mention of unloading it after taking it away from someone, he "tosses" it into the car. Time and time again he and his partner ignore the law and act recklessly and irresponsibly. Eventually little and not so little things like that piled up, the story lost credibility with me, and I stopped reading about half way through and skipped to the end--the resolution of the mystery was silly. This is also the second novel out of six read so far on a romance novel recommendation list where the heroine was involuntarily committed for mental illness by her husband and is on the run to avoid being sent back. Is this something common in the romance genre or what? Part of the FBI Thriller series--I'm going to pass on the rest.

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    Not worth the time if writing quality matters

    This is the first Coulter I've read, based on a friend's recommendation, and I was disappointed.
    The overall plot concept is marginally OK, but the big surprise really isn't.
    The Cove could be made into a viewable TV movie -- and maybe it already has been?
    But the book would be too long at half the length. The writing is sloppy, amateurish and repetitive.
    Parts of the plot suspend belief -- how many times can the heroine get recaptured? 3? 4?
    Avoid THe Cove or your stay might be as painful as some of the missing visitors.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2006

    STOP...Walk Away! Dangerously BAD Series

    Save yourself some time and money and move on. If you are looking for romance you are not going to find it here. This series is pure mystery.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    Ugh! Drew me in...but what a waste!

    I can't believe I spent time reading this book! Fortunately I took it out of the library and didn't pay for it! While the plot had great potential, the choppy, conversational writing style was extremely painful to read. I kept reading thinking that it HAD to get better...boy was I wrong!!!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    Boring.....

    I was excited about this book till I started reading it. Very predictable and very boring.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    Not her best

    The Cove was a great disappointment and not worth my time. But.....I'd purchased the ebook and my mother taught me to never NOT finish a book ---- but this one was a waste of time.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Excellent

    I have thoroughly enjoyed all of the FBI series. I replaced my first CD audio "The Cove" with the MP3 CD format. I believe it is safer when listening while traveling. The MP3 CD has the entire book on one CD (11 hours) so you aren't distracted by changing regular CDs while traveling at 65-70 mph.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    Couldn't put it down!

    This was a great book! The action never stopped and I fell in the love with the characters... My only hope is that I love the rest of the series as much as I loved The Cove and The Maze! Catherine Coulter has definitely made it to my top favorite author list!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Lousy, poorly written

    One of the very worst books I've ever tried to read. The plot and characters were unrealistic, stilted and juvenile. It was a waste of time. I gave up and skipped to the last chapter but the ending was as bad, or worse. Certainly NOT recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2000

    Another Good Book by Catherine Coulter

    I have just finished reading The Cove. I found the first 100 or so pages of the book uneventful and boring but I kept reading hoping the story would get better which it does, so if you find yourself in a similar situation reading this book, take my advice and keep reading! The ending is worth it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Lame

    I'm sorry I wasted my time reading this book! I gave it one star because I had to to finish rating it. Also, it deserves a star for the time and effort to produce it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Hated it

    I have read many of Ms. Coulter's books and really liked most of them. However, I really hated The Cove. It had a contrived plot,stilted dialogue,and unlikely characters and behaviors. I threw the book in the trash when I finished, because I didn't want anyone else to suffer through it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    Not Worth Your Time

    I have not read this author before. I found the story totally implausible and the characters one dimensional. The writing style is amateurish at best. I will not read anything else by this author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Awkward

    This was my first Coulter book and will be my last. Given that fiction should have some lattitude in believability, this book was so far off the edge of reality to the point of distraction and frustration. Not that the basic plot couldn't hold some water, but it was mostly in the way the characters interacted and the manner of speech that drove me to continually toss the book aside only to force myself to pick it up again for one reason, I paid for it. There was an obvious lack of research into the FBI and the basic ways in which the bureau operates which made one of the lead characters simply non-believable and therefore I, as the reader, could hold no connection to him or accept the story as it unfolded (and it was very slow to unfold). The only way I can describe this is that it is so underdeveloped that its as if the author did this as a high school assignment and I felt as though I wanted to pull out a pen and bleed red all over it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    The Cove

    I started reading her books years ago then I read one with the FBI series. I love Dillon and Savich! I have read all the the series and can't wait for more!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    It was okay. Took me a couple of starts to get into it. Not great not awful

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not recommended - difficult to get through...

    I had high hopes for this book. The plot is great, and the twists and turns are creative and will keep you guessing. Unfortunately, the character dialogue is stilted and unnatural. The characters do not interact like any humans I've ever heard of. The vocabulary is odd, the colloquialisms are on the side of ridiculous, and the "jokes" between the characters (and in their own heads) are overly PG. If you skip the parts of the book where you see quotations marks, then it goes pretty well.
    Otherwise, I'd recommend Iris Johansen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    Don't judge the author by her first book

    It's been a long time since I read "The Cove" but I can tell you her more recent books are better written. Give her another chance and try one of the Bishop/Sherlock stories.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 500 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25