Customer Reviews for

The Cove (FBI Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 496 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(127)

3 Star

(90)

2 Star

(56)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

good

I am fortunate to get B@N gift cards so I decided to try an author new to me, and have gotten several of her books. The only one of her FBI series worth reading is this one. The rest of the series reads like a teenager wrote the love scenes, the women and most of the fi...
I am fortunate to get B@N gift cards so I decided to try an author new to me, and have gotten several of her books. The only one of her FBI series worth reading is this one. The rest of the series reads like a teenager wrote the love scenes, the women and most of the fictional agents are all similar in looks,temperment and actions-in other words-boring.

posted by Anonymous on February 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

put the book down, back up, turn around and walk away as fas as you can

I read the Eleventh Hour and Blow Out - they were great. I had this notion to start with her very first FBI Series and work my way up - The Cove was at best, a horrible and painful read. But oh no, I thought, I just had to read The Target after that, MAYBE it would ge...
I read the Eleventh Hour and Blow Out - they were great. I had this notion to start with her very first FBI Series and work my way up - The Cove was at best, a horrible and painful read. But oh no, I thought, I just had to read The Target after that, MAYBE it would get better, but it didn't. Then I read the next book - what WAS I thinking. The characters are just plain stupid and then what's worse, the characters even communicate with each other in dialog that is just plain corny (which is what I've found in the other books as well). The plot could have been good if it was just better written and developed and not so contrite.

posted by Anonymous on May 14, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2006

    put the book down, back up, turn around and walk away as fas as you can

    I read the Eleventh Hour and Blow Out - they were great. I had this notion to start with her very first FBI Series and work my way up - The Cove was at best, a horrible and painful read. But oh no, I thought, I just had to read The Target after that, MAYBE it would get better, but it didn't. Then I read the next book - what WAS I thinking. The characters are just plain stupid and then what's worse, the characters even communicate with each other in dialog that is just plain corny (which is what I've found in the other books as well). The plot could have been good if it was just better written and developed and not so contrite.

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2006

    STOP...Walk Away! Dangerously BAD Series

    Save yourself some time and money and move on. If you are looking for romance you are not going to find it here. This series is pure mystery.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    Ugh! Drew me in...but what a waste!

    I can't believe I spent time reading this book! Fortunately I took it out of the library and didn't pay for it! While the plot had great potential, the choppy, conversational writing style was extremely painful to read. I kept reading thinking that it HAD to get better...boy was I wrong!!!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    Boring.....

    I was excited about this book till I started reading it. Very predictable and very boring.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    Not her best

    The Cove was a great disappointment and not worth my time. But.....I'd purchased the ebook and my mother taught me to never NOT finish a book ---- but this one was a waste of time.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Lousy, poorly written

    One of the very worst books I've ever tried to read. The plot and characters were unrealistic, stilted and juvenile. It was a waste of time. I gave up and skipped to the last chapter but the ending was as bad, or worse. Certainly NOT recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Lame

    I'm sorry I wasted my time reading this book! I gave it one star because I had to to finish rating it. Also, it deserves a star for the time and effort to produce it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Hated it

    I have read many of Ms. Coulter's books and really liked most of them. However, I really hated The Cove. It had a contrived plot,stilted dialogue,and unlikely characters and behaviors. I threw the book in the trash when I finished, because I didn't want anyone else to suffer through it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Awkward

    This was my first Coulter book and will be my last. Given that fiction should have some lattitude in believability, this book was so far off the edge of reality to the point of distraction and frustration. Not that the basic plot couldn't hold some water, but it was mostly in the way the characters interacted and the manner of speech that drove me to continually toss the book aside only to force myself to pick it up again for one reason, I paid for it. There was an obvious lack of research into the FBI and the basic ways in which the bureau operates which made one of the lead characters simply non-believable and therefore I, as the reader, could hold no connection to him or accept the story as it unfolded (and it was very slow to unfold). The only way I can describe this is that it is so underdeveloped that its as if the author did this as a high school assignment and I felt as though I wanted to pull out a pen and bleed red all over it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    I AM SPEECHLESS...ALMOST. I HATED THIS BOOK.

    I HATED THIS BOOK! IF YOU WANT WRITING AT A 8TH GRADE LEVEL THIS WRITER IS FOR YOU.

    THE PLOT HAD POTENTIAL...REMINDED ME OF A DEAN KOONTZ PLOT... BUT THE WRITING WAS SO JUVENILE AND REPETITIVE THAT I SCANNED THROUGH THE LAST HALF. I COULDN'T WAIT TO GET TO THE END SO I CAN DELETE IT FROM MY LIBRARY!

    IF YOU WANT "ADULT" WRITING SKIP THIS AUTHOR. IF YOU LIKE SILLY COMMENTS FROM FBI AGENTS LIKE "WHEN THINGS GET TOUGH, THE TOUGH GET MOVING" THEN YOU MAY LIKE IT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    I couldn't believe how much I didn't enjoy this book.  I wanted

    I couldn't believe how much I didn't enjoy this book.  I wanted to like it, but it may be one of the worst I've read in quite some time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Nn

    I used to love her trashy romance novels.

    This book? Not so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Awful

    It was creepy and slowpaced. Definitely a waste of time and money. Do not recommend to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    F

    D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    stupid books

    Shutup with yor advertisements! Nobody cares about your books! i'd rather watch tv than reads your insults!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4