Customer Reviews for

The Cove (FBI Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 496 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(157)

4 Star

(127)

3 Star

(89)

2 Star

(56)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

good

I am fortunate to get B@N gift cards so I decided to try an author new to me, and have gotten several of her books. The only one of her FBI series worth reading is this one. The rest of the series reads like a teenager wrote the love scenes, the women and most of the fi...
I am fortunate to get B@N gift cards so I decided to try an author new to me, and have gotten several of her books. The only one of her FBI series worth reading is this one. The rest of the series reads like a teenager wrote the love scenes, the women and most of the fictional agents are all similar in looks,temperment and actions-in other words-boring.

posted by Anonymous on February 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

put the book down, back up, turn around and walk away as fas as you can

I read the Eleventh Hour and Blow Out - they were great. I had this notion to start with her very first FBI Series and work my way up - The Cove was at best, a horrible and painful read. But oh no, I thought, I just had to read The Target after that, MAYBE it would ge...
I read the Eleventh Hour and Blow Out - they were great. I had this notion to start with her very first FBI Series and work my way up - The Cove was at best, a horrible and painful read. But oh no, I thought, I just had to read The Target after that, MAYBE it would get better, but it didn't. Then I read the next book - what WAS I thinking. The characters are just plain stupid and then what's worse, the characters even communicate with each other in dialog that is just plain corny (which is what I've found in the other books as well). The plot could have been good if it was just better written and developed and not so contrite.

posted by Anonymous on May 14, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    good

    I am fortunate to get B@N gift cards so I decided to try an author new to me, and have gotten several of her books. The only one of her FBI series worth reading is this one. The rest of the series reads like a teenager wrote the love scenes, the women and most of the fictional agents are all similar in looks,temperment and actions-in other words-boring.

    28 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2000

    Another Good Book by Catherine Coulter

    I have just finished reading The Cove. I found the first 100 or so pages of the book uneventful and boring but I kept reading hoping the story would get better which it does, so if you find yourself in a similar situation reading this book, take my advice and keep reading! The ending is worth it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    The Cove

    I started reading her books years ago then I read one with the FBI series. I love Dillon and Savich! I have read all the the series and can't wait for more!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    Don't judge the author by her first book

    It's been a long time since I read "The Cove" but I can tell you her more recent books are better written. Give her another chance and try one of the Bishop/Sherlock stories.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Jdjd

    Jdddjjdd

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    The Cove

    I really enjoyed this book. Two stories in one. Really kept you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Nom nom nom nom

    PZZY!

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    The Cove

    It kept you guessing and interested to the last chapter

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    Good book!

    I really enjoyed this book. It had good character development and plot. I found it difficult to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    The Cove - Full of Mystery, love, humor, and surprise ending

    I really enjoyed this book - couldn't put it down. Look forward to seeing these characters in a Series 2 book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    Fast,Fun

    Fast, fun book to introduce yourself to Catherine Coulter's FBI series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    The Cove

    It took me a few days to get into it, but once I did, it was hard to put it down. Not totally predictable either. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2006

    Cove (FBI Series #1)

    I really enjoyed this book. I read the blowout and decided that I want to start from the beginning of this series. This book kept me very much interested and the ending was just mind blowing. Catherine does a wonderful job telling a story. She keeps your interest with a mystery and a touch of romance. Can't wait to read the next one, The maze. Thanks Catherine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2005

    Sooooo Goooood!

    This is actually the first book that I have ever read by Catherine Coulter but I doubt it'll be my last. There were so many twists and turns in this book, you never really had it all figured out until the end. I loved this book! I would recommend it to anyone wanting a good book with elements of 'who-done-it', yummy ice cream (when you read the book the reference to ice cream will make much more sense)and a fast paced ride rolled into one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2005

    If you don't read it you're missing out!

    This book was great! I love reading Catherine Coulter's books. You can always count on her books to never bore you. No matter if you think you have her figured out she always throws a twist in the story. I can't wait to read her other novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7