Customer Reviews for

Covenant Child

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    Do yourself a favor get this book!

    Terri Blackstock is in my top ten authors that I would want to have if I got stranded on a desert Island, stuck in the house due to a blizzard you know that kind of thing, so when I found that Book Sneeze was wanting reviewers for a book I was giddy with excitement. The book Covenant Child did not disappoint. It is a page turner for sure and for those who read their books on their lunch hour it will make it harder to return to your work as you will want to not put this book down. Terri’s writing is like chocolate to me, I want it and love every bite of it when I have it and I long for more when I do not. This book is about a set of twins Kara and Lizzie. They were born “ Billion Dollar Babies” but after the death of their mother and later on their father they are taken from their step mother the only mother they know and are raised by money hungry grandparents. They grow up eating cereal for suppers saving the raisins from the cereal for lunch the next day. They grew up with had me downs clothes and celebrating no birthdays all the while their grandparents lived off the money left to the children and kept all they could for themselves. The twins don’t realize the love one woman has for them and how she made a covenant with their father. Amanda Holbrooke made this covenant with their father Jack and she goes out of her way to keep it. She would enter their lives when they need it the most. There is so much more to this story but I do not want to give it all away. I love that the book is so entertaining but I love the message more. The message I got is that we are all Billion Dollar Babies to God. I also love that this is not a preachy book, so if you never read Christian fiction you will still enjoy it just as much as those who do read it. Do yourself a favor get this book! I don’t care if you buy it, check it out at the library or borrow it from someone any one. I truly think you will not be disappointed. I give this book a five star rating. Now it’s the time in the blog where I have to tell you I got this book from Book Sneeze as a complimentary copy to read and review. This review reflects my own opinions and thoughts of the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Unconditional Love

    This book is a great example of having someone who loves you, no matter how badly you mess up. Story of 2 twins that lose their father and step-mother in a short period of time and are used by relatives. The step-mother tries desperately to get them back w/o success. Will the twins return to the woman who loves them when they turn 18? This story is a page-turner for sure....read Covenant Child to find out what happens and to see how the story relates to Christ's unconditional love for us....all we need to do is decide to accept and grasp it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Love!

    Love this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This has been one of my favorite Terri Blackstock books. I was i

    This has been one of my favorite Terri Blackstock books. I was interested from start to finish, the Christian message was phenomenal, and the ending through its message was joyous. Granted, I did a lot of sobbing throughout the book - it is a tear jerker - but  what an awesome story to show Christ's love for us! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Love this book

    The love amanda has for her two children taken from her shows through

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Covenant Child

    This is a really good book to read and it'll show the importance of God's covenant with his children

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    If you are looking for an edifying Christian fiction book that w

    If you are looking for an edifying Christian fiction book that will magnify your love of God, you've come to the right place. Living up to her reputation as a leader Christian fiction author, Teri Blackstock's writing skills are far superior than other authors. Blackstone weaves a very enjoyable and captivating story about family and love in this re-telling of the the prodigal son story. This book leaves readers with a lingering though: "Wow, how beautiful is this story of a savior and an inheritance that sounds too good to be true." This is a story about grace and an inheritance that is free.




    Readers should know that this book does not focus directly on Christianity, Jesus or God, as the main characters are not Christian or shown praying or coming to believe in Christ. I wouldn't have expected to recommend a book where the main characters don't become Christian, but the thing I loved about this book is that by the end, I believe most readers will see God through this story in a stronger way than all those Christian fiction books that portray Christian main characters.




    The story is about redemption and a savior who loves unconditionally. The story shows the main characters come to believe their "savior" (a mother in this fiction story) has good intentions towards them and is not "too good to be true" and not "seeking to use them" and when they finally realize this life with their mother/savior is the thing they want the most, their mother/savior is standing with open arms, welcoming them home. Her love for them is unconditional and she freely forgives their rejection and hatred of her. The only thing missing from this story is relating the mother/savior to Jesus Christ. The reader must ponder the story afterwards to see the deeper meaning.




    Readers should be aware that this book may not be appropriate for younger audiences: underage girls are sleeping around without any remorse or regret or repentance, molestation from father, child abuse from parents, alcoholism, gambling, drug abuse, one severe beating, deaths, abortion with no lasting/deep consequences and very difficult life situations.




    My disclaimer - I received this book from the publisher but I am not required to give a positive review. I always give brutally honest reviews and attempt to critically point out parts of the book that may not agree with the Bible and so not appeal to others. I want you readers to be able to confidently choose a book based on the stars I give it, because I know you have limited money, time and energy to read. So let's make the most of our lives and discern and choose the very best books wisely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Santana's bio

    Name: Santana Marie Loronzo /// Gender: Female /// Age: 18 /// description: brown straighten hair (sometimes curly) blue peircing eyes with long dark eyelashes with tan eyeshadow, tan creamy skin a pretty smile with dimples wears mostly red lipstick skinny /// clothing: A red band tee with a black leather jacket over it ripped up skinny jeans and converses or black boots wears sunglasses sometimes /// personality: sotimes funny and outgoing kind of shy with an attitude....I can act like a b*** but i dont mean it intentonally (dont know how to spell that XD) /// other: I am Latinio and I am a mortal (plaease dont kill meh DX) I am in a band ( Electric or acoustic gutair and i sing) /// Likes: Music Red Black ummm Boys...and Girls (depending if im drunk or not XP) /// Crush: Notin Relationship: None /// If you have any Questions just ask meh!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Rock

    Name:Rock Profus Kira. Gender:Male. Age:18. Species:Just something a little more than human. Description:He usually wears a black shirt with ripped up jeans on. He is 6ft and 1in. He is slightly muscled and tanned, but not much. He sometimes wear his black cowboy hat. He has bright green eyes. Powers:Try me. You'll find out. Even though you will regret it. Specialty:Shapeshifting and Knives. Weapons:Anything. Except for projectile weapons. Note:He can become invisble and then is infinately more dangeorous with knives when he is. Relationship:None.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Jenna

    Average sized, skinny, darkish skin, long straight black hair usually up in a pony tail, always wearing neon colored sneakers, darker red eyes than most vampires, and instead of drinking blood she drinks the color out of things. e.o she mostly prefers red or orange. Personality..? ^~^ find out yourself.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Taylor(the real vampire)

    Appearance: very tall. Has raven black hair and emerald eyes. Has full, red lips.<br>
    Powers: has all the powers all other vampires have(can change into mist, a wolf, or a bat, and has mind controlling power) <br>
    Weaknesses: he has the same weakness every other vampire has(cannot touch water, enter a house unbidden, touch silver, and of course, get out for a tan)<br>
    Personality: he knows how to role-play a vampire. Is generally happy and easy going but he is a hothead and highly unpredictable. Never let a bleeding human near him.<br>
    Other: in life he was a doctor, so he knows how to care for the living, yet it is hard with the Bloodlust.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Cry

    Name: Crystopher Bangalter •~• Age: 19 •~• Looks: Pitch black emo hair. Hair covers his left eye. Scene spikes. Wears short sleeve band tees, skinny jeans, colorful wrist bracelets, vans belt, red high top chuck tayloer converse. •~• Personality: Oh uh...dont fu<_>ck with me and leave me the fu<_>ck alone! Okay? Okay. •~• ABILITIES: controls anything involving the darkness and shadows. Play guitar, and sings (but dont expect sny high school musical song breakouts) •~• Likes music in the screamo, metal, punk, and emo genres. •~• Im completly mad so...bring a tazer with you while around me...or a bendrill needle...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Phoenix/black wolf bio

    Name: Phoenix smith

    Wears* black t shirt blue shorts and nike shoes
    """"""""""""""""""""""""
    Status inlove
    Crush : sid
    Ex: sid
    *preosnalily:
    This for boy YOU HURT A GIRL I WILL KILL YOU im funny mean sometimes imortal and death himself im am black wolf too *question: asi me

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Goliad' Bio

    Name: Goliad.
    <br>Age: 19.
    <br>Species: Telekinetic Female.
    <br>Appearance: Silver eyes with golden flecks around the pupil, Long straight light pink bubblegum hair and straight bands that stop just above her brow. She is 5"0 and has caramel tinted skin. Her eyes are big and heavily lashed.
    She normal wears a white hoodie with skinnies and whitr fluffy booties.
    <br>Personality: Sensitive but can be sweet. She is loyal to her friends and has a big heart. She cares alot about peiple even if she seems like she is scared to show you.
    <br>Likes: Babies, Her Dolly 'Mo.', her creator, cartoons, coloring, leaves in the fall, fall wheather, swimming, and making arts and crafts.
    <br>Status: Very much single. She has never had a boyfriend.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Jace

    She has black hair that she usually curls. She likes to wear old fashioned vintage dresses and corsets on special occasions and regular cloths on nonso special ones. She used to be a queen but isnt. Sh was a witch who was turned to a vampire. Her sister is A and her other sister is Ava. Anything else is orrelevant or you should find out yourself.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Bella and Co.

    Name: Hedera Helix "Ivy" Gray. Age: looks 20, is 202. Species: Vampire. Looks: He stands at about 6'3", with broad strong shoulders that taper down to a small, trim waist and a muscled stomach. His hair is black and curly, going down to just below the ears and partially covers his silver eyes that glow when he expirences extreme emotion. He has a tattoo on his inner left wrist that reads 'Poison' in black old style script with an invisible outline that glows silver with his eyes. Attire: He typically wears a tight white t-shirt and a black leather jacket with ripped faded jeans and motorcycle boots. Around his neck are dogtags that read 'Gray, Helix.' Family: Sisters Bella and Donna, daughter Bane. Powers: A sheild. |*•*| Name: Bella Jean Gray. Age: looks 18, is 200. Looks: She stands at 5'11", with soft curves and a small waist and a flat stomach. Her curly jet black hair goes down to her waist and silver eyes that glow when she experiences an extreme emotion. She has a tattoo between her shoulderblades that reads 'Poison' in black old style script with an invisible outline that glows silver with her eyes. Attire: Usually a silver silk camisole with black lace trim and black skinny jeans with black flats. Family: Sister Donna, brother Ivy, niece Bane. Powers: A siren. |*•*| Name: Bane Gray. Age: 3. Looks: Stands at about 3'11. She has long curly red hair that goes down to her waist. In her silver eyes are green flecks an a green ring aroun the outside. She has freckles on her nose and cheek bones. Attire: A green sundress and no shoes. Family: Aunts Bella and Donna, father Ivy.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Jane

    Tall with dark brown hair that is shoulder lenfth and in thick curls..looks 18 but is much older...vampire...is fierce when needed and can be serious but is kind...single

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Roxas bio

    Blonde hair gold eyes im a million years old not a full vamp spevies unless u can control my mind or searvh through my ming i ainst saying two bros black coat ctush none gf none

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Sid's new bio

    Name- sid wallflowee<p>
    Age-102<p>
    Looks--<p>
    Hair and eye color change to mood.<p>
    Clothes a black t and a snow white hoddie with blue shorts is the usral. A snow white full leanth gown with small bacicly unoticible black flecks is for special ocasion. A black tankinni is her swim suit. And for super lazy days a black t and pajama pants. Hair is in a messy mun no matter what and with a satchal.<p>
    Crush- Pheonix<p>
    Boyfriend- none<p>
    Ex boyfriend is Pheonix<p>
    Song- safe and sound by taylor swift.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Siren

    NAME Siren Colt<p>AGE looks to be 21(really is 605)<p>GENDER guy vamp<p>DESC tall and pale. Mascular with shaggy (surfer hair) black hair. Peircing blue eyea.<p>CRUSH none <p>GF nope<p>•••<p> NAME Miley<p>AGE looks to be 18(really is 500) <p>GENDER girl vamp <p>DESC tall with pretty dark brown shoulder length hair and blue eyez. <p>CRUSH no <p>BFno

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3