Customer Reviews for

Covenant Child

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    Do yourself a favor get this book!

    Terri Blackstock is in my top ten authors that I would want to have if I got stranded on a desert Island, stuck in the house due to a blizzard you know that kind of thing, so when I found that Book Sneeze was wanting reviewers for a book I was giddy with excitement. The book Covenant Child did not disappoint. It is a page turner for sure and for those who read their books on their lunch hour it will make it harder to return to your work as you will want to not put this book down. Terri’s writing is like chocolate to me, I want it and love every bite of it when I have it and I long for more when I do not. This book is about a set of twins Kara and Lizzie. They were born “ Billion Dollar Babies” but after the death of their mother and later on their father they are taken from their step mother the only mother they know and are raised by money hungry grandparents. They grow up eating cereal for suppers saving the raisins from the cereal for lunch the next day. They grew up with had me downs clothes and celebrating no birthdays all the while their grandparents lived off the money left to the children and kept all they could for themselves. The twins don’t realize the love one woman has for them and how she made a covenant with their father. Amanda Holbrooke made this covenant with their father Jack and she goes out of her way to keep it. She would enter their lives when they need it the most. There is so much more to this story but I do not want to give it all away. I love that the book is so entertaining but I love the message more. The message I got is that we are all Billion Dollar Babies to God. I also love that this is not a preachy book, so if you never read Christian fiction you will still enjoy it just as much as those who do read it. Do yourself a favor get this book! I don’t care if you buy it, check it out at the library or borrow it from someone any one. I truly think you will not be disappointed. I give this book a five star rating. Now it’s the time in the blog where I have to tell you I got this book from Book Sneeze as a complimentary copy to read and review. This review reflects my own opinions and thoughts of the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Love!

    Love this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This has been one of my favorite Terri Blackstock books. I was i

    This has been one of my favorite Terri Blackstock books. I was interested from start to finish, the Christian message was phenomenal, and the ending through its message was joyous. Granted, I did a lot of sobbing throughout the book - it is a tear jerker - but  what an awesome story to show Christ's love for us! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Love this book

    The love amanda has for her two children taken from her shows through

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Covenant Child

    This is a really good book to read and it'll show the importance of God's covenant with his children

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Santana's bio

    Name: Santana Marie Loronzo /// Gender: Female /// Age: 18 /// description: brown straighten hair (sometimes curly) blue peircing eyes with long dark eyelashes with tan eyeshadow, tan creamy skin a pretty smile with dimples wears mostly red lipstick skinny /// clothing: A red band tee with a black leather jacket over it ripped up skinny jeans and converses or black boots wears sunglasses sometimes /// personality: sotimes funny and outgoing kind of shy with an attitude....I can act like a b*** but i dont mean it intentonally (dont know how to spell that XD) /// other: I am Latinio and I am a mortal (plaease dont kill meh DX) I am in a band ( Electric or acoustic gutair and i sing) /// Likes: Music Red Black ummm Boys...and Girls (depending if im drunk or not XP) /// Crush: Notin Relationship: None /// If you have any Questions just ask meh!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Rock

    Name:Rock Profus Kira. Gender:Male. Age:18. Species:Just something a little more than human. Description:He usually wears a black shirt with ripped up jeans on. He is 6ft and 1in. He is slightly muscled and tanned, but not much. He sometimes wear his black cowboy hat. He has bright green eyes. Powers:Try me. You'll find out. Even though you will regret it. Specialty:Shapeshifting and Knives. Weapons:Anything. Except for projectile weapons. Note:He can become invisble and then is infinately more dangeorous with knives when he is. Relationship:None.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Jenna

    Average sized, skinny, darkish skin, long straight black hair usually up in a pony tail, always wearing neon colored sneakers, darker red eyes than most vampires, and instead of drinking blood she drinks the color out of things. e.o she mostly prefers red or orange. Personality..? ^~^ find out yourself.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Taylor(the real vampire)

    Appearance: very tall. Has raven black hair and emerald eyes. Has full, red lips.<br>
    Powers: has all the powers all other vampires have(can change into mist, a wolf, or a bat, and has mind controlling power) <br>
    Weaknesses: he has the same weakness every other vampire has(cannot touch water, enter a house unbidden, touch silver, and of course, get out for a tan)<br>
    Personality: he knows how to role-play a vampire. Is generally happy and easy going but he is a hothead and highly unpredictable. Never let a bleeding human near him.<br>
    Other: in life he was a doctor, so he knows how to care for the living, yet it is hard with the Bloodlust.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Cry

    Name: Crystopher Bangalter •~• Age: 19 •~• Looks: Pitch black emo hair. Hair covers his left eye. Scene spikes. Wears short sleeve band tees, skinny jeans, colorful wrist bracelets, vans belt, red high top chuck tayloer converse. •~• Personality: Oh uh...dont fu<_>ck with me and leave me the fu<_>ck alone! Okay? Okay. •~• ABILITIES: controls anything involving the darkness and shadows. Play guitar, and sings (but dont expect sny high school musical song breakouts) •~• Likes music in the screamo, metal, punk, and emo genres. •~• Im completly mad so...bring a tazer with you while around me...or a bendrill needle...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Phoenix/black wolf bio

    Name: Phoenix smith

    Wears* black t shirt blue shorts and nike shoes
    """"""""""""""""""""""""
    Status inlove
    Crush : sid
    Ex: sid
    *preosnalily:
    This for boy YOU HURT A GIRL I WILL KILL YOU im funny mean sometimes imortal and death himself im am black wolf too *question: asi me

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Goliad' Bio

    Name: Goliad.
    <br>Age: 19.
    <br>Species: Telekinetic Female.
    <br>Appearance: Silver eyes with golden flecks around the pupil, Long straight light pink bubblegum hair and straight bands that stop just above her brow. She is 5"0 and has caramel tinted skin. Her eyes are big and heavily lashed.
    She normal wears a white hoodie with skinnies and whitr fluffy booties.
    <br>Personality: Sensitive but can be sweet. She is loyal to her friends and has a big heart. She cares alot about peiple even if she seems like she is scared to show you.
    <br>Likes: Babies, Her Dolly 'Mo.', her creator, cartoons, coloring, leaves in the fall, fall wheather, swimming, and making arts and crafts.
    <br>Status: Very much single. She has never had a boyfriend.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Jace

    She has black hair that she usually curls. She likes to wear old fashioned vintage dresses and corsets on special occasions and regular cloths on nonso special ones. She used to be a queen but isnt. Sh was a witch who was turned to a vampire. Her sister is A and her other sister is Ava. Anything else is orrelevant or you should find out yourself.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Bella and Co.

    Name: Hedera Helix "Ivy" Gray. Age: looks 20, is 202. Species: Vampire. Looks: He stands at about 6'3", with broad strong shoulders that taper down to a small, trim waist and a muscled stomach. His hair is black and curly, going down to just below the ears and partially covers his silver eyes that glow when he expirences extreme emotion. He has a tattoo on his inner left wrist that reads 'Poison' in black old style script with an invisible outline that glows silver with his eyes. Attire: He typically wears a tight white t-shirt and a black leather jacket with ripped faded jeans and motorcycle boots. Around his neck are dogtags that read 'Gray, Helix.' Family: Sisters Bella and Donna, daughter Bane. Powers: A sheild. |*•*| Name: Bella Jean Gray. Age: looks 18, is 200. Looks: She stands at 5'11", with soft curves and a small waist and a flat stomach. Her curly jet black hair goes down to her waist and silver eyes that glow when she experiences an extreme emotion. She has a tattoo between her shoulderblades that reads 'Poison' in black old style script with an invisible outline that glows silver with her eyes. Attire: Usually a silver silk camisole with black lace trim and black skinny jeans with black flats. Family: Sister Donna, brother Ivy, niece Bane. Powers: A siren. |*•*| Name: Bane Gray. Age: 3. Looks: Stands at about 3'11. She has long curly red hair that goes down to her waist. In her silver eyes are green flecks an a green ring aroun the outside. She has freckles on her nose and cheek bones. Attire: A green sundress and no shoes. Family: Aunts Bella and Donna, father Ivy.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Jane

    Tall with dark brown hair that is shoulder lenfth and in thick curls..looks 18 but is much older...vampire...is fierce when needed and can be serious but is kind...single

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Roxas bio

    Blonde hair gold eyes im a million years old not a full vamp spevies unless u can control my mind or searvh through my ming i ainst saying two bros black coat ctush none gf none

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Sid's new bio

    Name- sid wallflowee<p>
    Age-102<p>
    Looks--<p>
    Hair and eye color change to mood.<p>
    Clothes a black t and a snow white hoddie with blue shorts is the usral. A snow white full leanth gown with small bacicly unoticible black flecks is for special ocasion. A black tankinni is her swim suit. And for super lazy days a black t and pajama pants. Hair is in a messy mun no matter what and with a satchal.<p>
    Crush- Pheonix<p>
    Boyfriend- none<p>
    Ex boyfriend is Pheonix<p>
    Song- safe and sound by taylor swift.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Siren

    NAME Siren Colt<p>AGE looks to be 21(really is 605)<p>GENDER guy vamp<p>DESC tall and pale. Mascular with shaggy (surfer hair) black hair. Peircing blue eyea.<p>CRUSH none <p>GF nope<p>•••<p> NAME Miley<p>AGE looks to be 18(really is 500) <p>GENDER girl vamp <p>DESC tall with pretty dark brown shoulder length hair and blue eyez. <p>CRUSH no <p>BFno

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    First of all, I’m a huge, huge Terri Blackstock fan. I hav

    First of all, I&rsquo;m a huge, huge Terri Blackstock fan. I have never read a bad book by her and this one is no exception.

    The book is about twin girls, Kara and Lizzie, who are part of a very loving family. Their mother has died when they are young, but their father, Jack, is a loving, Christian man who loves them very much. When he meets Amanda at church, he knows that he has found someone that he can share his life with again. Amanda loves Kara and Lizzie like they are her own and they start the process for her to adopt the tow girls. Jack&rsquo;s father is a billionaire; however, Jack has told his father that he doesn&rsquo;t want the money to be left to him but for his father to give it to charity.

    The complication comes when Jack, a pilot, is taking his father and mother to a family wedding and the plane goes down, taking all three lives with it. Suddenly, Amanda finds herself an heiress to a fortune she doesn&rsquo;t even want but Kara and Lizzie&rsquo;s mother&rsquo;s parents do. When the girl&rsquo;s grandparents find out about the death of Jack and the fortune left for their granddaughters, they decide to go for custody of the children for the money. Unfortunately, the judge awards them to the grandparents.
    Kara and Lizzie are only three years old and are suddenly thrust into an unloving, unclean environment. They are told lies about Amanda and don&rsquo;t remember her or their father, so they believe the lies. The grandparents squander the millions meant for the girls on gambling and drink. Not one penny goes for caring for Kara or Lizzie. Amanda never stops loving the girls and watches over them from afar their entire childhood.

    The story is so wonderful and encompasses the prodigal son and the fact that the Lord has so much for us if we will only accept it. I read this book in less than 24 hours because it was so good I just couldn&rsquo;t put it down.

    I highly recommend this book. It&rsquo;s uplifting and the story is so good. You&rsquo;ll come away caring about each and every character (well, except for the grandparents &ndash; lol). The ending is wonderful &hellip;the whole book is just so well written you won&rsquo;t be disappointed.

    *This ebook was provided to me for my honest review by The Booksneeze Program

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Amanda is not able to have children because of a medical conditi

    Amanda is not able to have children because of a medical condition. She falls for a man, Jack, who has two daughters. They get serious and she reveals her medical condition expecting to be rejected and abandoned. Instead he says that is okay. She can be the mother to his children. He then reveals he&rsquo;s not just a normal man but he is the son of a billionaire but he&rsquo;s rejected his family&rsquo;s money. She&rsquo;s okay with that. And they get married.

    They have a wonderful six months and she loves the two girls Lizzie and Kara. She loves being a mother and the twins love her.

    Then one day Jack needs to go on a trip with his parents and leaves Amanda and the kids behind. The plane goes down and everyone is killed.

    Not long later, the maternal grandparents show up and file for custody from Amanda. They aren&rsquo;t really interested in the girls and just want a piece of the inheritance. Amanda offers them settlements to keep the girls but they refuse them. And they are awarded custody of the girls and 10 million dollars to help raise the kids. She offered the grandparents more for the girls but they were suspicious and rejected the offer.
    Their lives with their grandparents are hard for Lizzie and Kara. The grandparents gamble away the annual payments and the girls have to resort to thievery. In addition, the kids are lied to about Amanda. The grandparents tell them that Amanda killed their mother and their father. And that she wants to kill them too. They plan to try for the family fortune again when the girls are 18.

    Kara embraces that lie.

    This is a great book and I would recommend that you try this book. The book illustrates the horror that some orphans face by the justice system that doesn&rsquo;t always get it right and when the system doesn&rsquo;t take into consideration the character of the people involved. One size does not fit all.

    I would also recommend checking out Terri Blackstock&rsquo;s other books. She is an excellent author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2