Customer Reviews for

Covenants (Borderlands Series #1)

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    Awesome!

    I thought that Lorna Freeman created a wonderfully rich and detailed world that I have enjoyed a couple of times sincce getting my hands on Covenant. I Strongly recommend it to any who love fantasy. I eagerly await the next book and will buy it in either paperback or hardback. Great Job Lorna!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    Love this book!!

    I thought this book was great.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2004

    I have only one thing to say.....

    MORE!!! MORE!!!!! MORE!!!!! (Okay, that was three things. But you get my drift.) This is one of the best, most enjoyable books I've read for a long time, and maybe one of THE best first novels I've ever read. Please, Ms. Freeman, keep 'em coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2004

    Excellent Fantasy Novel

    This novel is a wonderful begining to what will become a great series of books. Freeman has created a complex world of magic and politics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2004

    Beware!!!

    Take warning oh reader, beware this evil book. It is accursed, a most vile mage has enchanted this story. If you wish to have a life then don't pick up this book and open it, if you do you are doomed. You will be trapped, your eyes moving from line to line, nothing will exist for you until you finally reach the end. Time will cease to exist, at least for you. Nothing will matter but finishing. And then the most diabolical thing of all, you have to wait until the next book is finished before you can read more, for, while the mage has crafted a complete story she also leaves you wanting more. Wanting to return to her wonderful world to see what is next for Rabbit. Excuse me, I have to go and read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2004

    Good romp

    Covenents is just a fun little romp of a story. It's got a great world as a basis with strong interesting characters, a good amount of humor, and an interesting plot. The only reason I didn't give this book 5 stars is that I think it would have been better suited broken into too books as it's a little long for it's type and because it tended to go a little over the top.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    Great fantasy

    Covenants Lorna Freeman Roc, May 2004, $6.99, 416 pp. ISBN 0451459806 Once the magicals (sprites, dragons, fairies, etc.) lived in Iversterre until the humans pushed them into the Borderlands. When the humans encroached upon the Border and committed crimes against its inhabitants, the magicals soundly defeated them in a war. The peace treaty was signed and the magicals receded into legend until a Faena, a sentient mountain cat, makes contact with the horse soldier Rabbit, lost with his troops in the mountains. Rabbit enters into a covenant with the Faena.................................. The Faena Laurel desires a meeting with the Iversterre King in the hopes of avoiding another war between the Borderlands and the humans. Smugglers and slaves are kidnapping or killing the magicals and smuggling their remains into Iversterre. The Faena chose Rabbit to play a role in the upcoming events because he has lived in the Borderlands for much of his life and is related to the king. Once it is discovered that all of Laurel¿s claims are true, the king, when not putting down a coup or dealing with evil sorcerers, comes to terms with the Faena. They return to the Borderlands hoping to forge a permanent peace, but first must deal with treachery from within their own ranks............................. In addition to all his other roles, Rabbit is a mage who has just come into his powers and he uses them to stop the king¿s enemies and to battle with a sorcerer who is determined to see his mission fail. Readers will adore this fascinating hero who just wants to be an ordinary foot soldier but is thrust by fate into being the savior of two realms. COVENANTS is a delightful and enthralling fantasy written by an author who excels at world building..................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1