Customer Reviews for

Cover of Night

Average Rating 3.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Cover of Night

Widow Cate Nightingale runs a bed and breakfast in Trail Stop Idaho, an isolated community boxed by mountains and a dangerous river. Cate¿s guests are sparse, consisting of rock climbers, hunters and fishermen, and Cate struggles to make ends meet. If it weren¿t for shy...
Widow Cate Nightingale runs a bed and breakfast in Trail Stop Idaho, an isolated community boxed by mountains and a dangerous river. Cate¿s guests are sparse, consisting of rock climbers, hunters and fishermen, and Cate struggles to make ends meet. If it weren¿t for shy handyman Cal Harris, the B&B would fall apart and Cate would be bankrupt. But Cate is determined to raise her two, four-year-old twin boys in a safe environment and this charming town seems the perfect place. Cate¿s nightmare begins when one of her guests climbs out of a window and disappears, leaving behind his personal effects. A few days later, two men show up and demand she turn over the man¿s belongings. Held at gunpoint, Cate fears for her life until Cal intrudes and forces the men to leave. Cate hopes that¿s the end of it, but soon she and the entire town find themselves held hostage by these two men, with the aid of four others. And there¿s no way to escape the road leading into town has been blocked and the bridge over the river has been blown up. Cate and Cal team up to try to save their community. Their forced camaraderie leads them into not only danger but reveals the two share a hidden passion for one another. Linda Howard is tops at romantic suspense. Although holding an entire town hostage seems implausible, she manages to make it real and provides a good read along the way. The chemistry between Cate and Cal is fun as it unfolds over the course of the book. With plenty of suspense, great characters, and a fast pace, Cover of Night will provide plenty of entertainment.

posted by Anonymous on July 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Because I have been disappointed in Linda Howard's last few novels, I waited for this one to come out in paperback. Now I wish I would've waited to pick it up at a used book sale. Though I'm repeating what many of the reviews here state, the plot was unbelievable, the...
Because I have been disappointed in Linda Howard's last few novels, I waited for this one to come out in paperback. Now I wish I would've waited to pick it up at a used book sale. Though I'm repeating what many of the reviews here state, the plot was unbelievable, the characters not easy to relate to, and the ending was too abrupt. I miss the ¿old¿ Linda Howard stuff. Whatever happened to characters like the Mackenzies in A Game of Chance and Mackenzie¿s Mountain, and plots like those of Mr. Perfect and After the Night. Maybe it¿s time for some sequels of these well-established characters and interesting plot lines!! They might be worth reading.

posted by Anonymous on May 21, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    Cover of Night

    Widow Cate Nightingale runs a bed and breakfast in Trail Stop Idaho, an isolated community boxed by mountains and a dangerous river. Cate¿s guests are sparse, consisting of rock climbers, hunters and fishermen, and Cate struggles to make ends meet. If it weren¿t for shy handyman Cal Harris, the B&B would fall apart and Cate would be bankrupt. But Cate is determined to raise her two, four-year-old twin boys in a safe environment and this charming town seems the perfect place. Cate¿s nightmare begins when one of her guests climbs out of a window and disappears, leaving behind his personal effects. A few days later, two men show up and demand she turn over the man¿s belongings. Held at gunpoint, Cate fears for her life until Cal intrudes and forces the men to leave. Cate hopes that¿s the end of it, but soon she and the entire town find themselves held hostage by these two men, with the aid of four others. And there¿s no way to escape the road leading into town has been blocked and the bridge over the river has been blown up. Cate and Cal team up to try to save their community. Their forced camaraderie leads them into not only danger but reveals the two share a hidden passion for one another. Linda Howard is tops at romantic suspense. Although holding an entire town hostage seems implausible, she manages to make it real and provides a good read along the way. The chemistry between Cate and Cal is fun as it unfolds over the course of the book. With plenty of suspense, great characters, and a fast pace, Cover of Night will provide plenty of entertainment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great writing & fun characters

    The wonderful dialogue and interesting characters make this book worth reading. Don't get sidetracked by deciding if the plot is realistic - can a rural town could be held hostage for a few days without anyone noticing - just enjoy the story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    OOH RAH!

    While the plot is too far-fetched for belief, the characters are charming and believable. This is the first romance novel I have read that deals with Recon Marines with any basis in reality. Ms. Howard obviously knows what they do and how they operate. While I am sure that is because she is talking to an expert, at least she has done some research. A good love story set in a sort of silly situation. I read it twice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2007

    Wonderful

    I have never read anything by Linda Howard, and this was a great book to start with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    Great Read

    This is the first book I have read by this author, but will not be my last. Very enjoyable, good imagination and I look forward to reading as many of her books as I can.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    Linda Howard always delivers

    Granted, I always wish for more character 'time' in all of Linda Howard's books but she has yet to fail me. I've read everyone of her books that I can find in the bookstores or ordered used on-line and I love everyone single one of them, Cover of Night included. I loved the characters and isn't fiction supposed to be a little bit unbelievable? That's why I read it, to be entertained and I could visualize the words in this book as if I'm watching a movie except better, so I do recommend this book and all her other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    Modern Day Western

    While the premise of an entire town being held hostage seems far fetched, the variety of characters make this story work. I enjoyed the way the community worked together to defeat the bad guys.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    I LOVED IT !!!

    I Loved it! I thought the characters are great and the story line were a good fit. To have gone into greater details and lenghten it, would have made the story to long. I liked the ending, but would have liked to had alittle more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    A Gripping Story

    Cover Of Night by Linda Howard is another fast-paced, gripping, emotional tale. B & B owner Cate Nightingale is quietly raising her twin four-year-old boys in Twin Stop Idaho. She moved there after the death of her husband over three years ago. Cate wanted a quieter, simpler life. She has slowly made some friends and making a go of her business. The local handy man Calvin Harris seems to be dropping by all the time to fix one thing or another. When a guest leaves suddenly without taking his processions Cate is at a loss. Soon there are strangers demanding at gunpoint the missing guest things. Saved by a protective Cal, they think that things will get back to normal. But the strangers have other plans for Twin Stop. They decide to hold the whole town under siege. It will take all of Cate and Cal¿s strengths to get them and their neighbors out alive. Along the way Cate realizes that Cal is someone she and her boys need in their life. Linda Howard¿s Cover of Night draws you into the quiet little town then pulls you further into their world when it is turned upside down. The dynamics of the characters shines on every page. I couldn¿t read it fast enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    SMALL TOWN IN CRISIS MODE - A+ NARRATIVE

    Fans of Linda Howard's previous works ((Killing Time, To Die For, etc.) will relish this story of a small town in crisis, especially as read by Joyce Bean and Dick Hill. These are two of the most talented voice performers behind a mike today, always bringing authenticity plus professionalism to their narratives. Life is good for Cate Nightingale, not plush but good. True, it's a bit of a battle to balance her budget every month but she has two fine four-year-old twins, Tucker and Tanner, and runs a B & B in Trail Stop, Idaho, barely a dot on the state map. It's a rather unique place as it can only be entered or exited by one road. Cate has been in Trail Stop for about two years now, and she's beginning to feel like a native. Deciding to open the dining room of her B & B to locals was a good idea - more hard work but profitable. This was almost a necessity as her six rooms were seldom filled. She had little need for a 'No Vacancy' sign. From time to time, the B & B, which was in an old house, was in need of repair. For this there was the local handyman, Calvin Harris. On one particular day her morning was not at all unusual - she was bustling from kitchen to dining room with platters of ham and hot coffee. Little did she realize how dramatically her life was about to change - definitely for the worst. She had a single guest who suddenly disappeared, without taking his belongings with him. That was mystifying enough but when armed men broke into her house a few days later asking for the man's personal effects she was shocked - and so frightened for the safety of her sons that she acquiesced. Calvin to the rescue! He sends the intruders off into the dense forest that surrounds Trail Stop. As it turns out chasing them off is one thing, getting rid of them is quite another. It's not long before the entire community finds itself imprisoned, with no way to contact the rest of the world for help. Cover of Night offers action, suspense and, of course, doses of romance. Enjoy! - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Its good

    Oh come on lighten up people!!! it was a fun fast read its fiction fun to read dont over think it likesome book critic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2006

    Too long at Beginning, too short at Ending

    I love all of Linda Howard's books, but. . .this one started with too many locale descriptions when all it needed was one or two more complete ones at the beginning--they were important. Too wordy at the start, intriguing, but didn't get going for me until Chapter 7. The ending was too abrupt leaving the two sets of lovers too quickly, didn't include Cate's twins enough--a few sentences. The ending was with another character! Also would have appreciated an ending involving some of the town people we got to know and like. Although I have found the same abrupt endings, without the supporting characters involvement, in Nora Roberts' 'Angels Fall', and other popular Romance writers. Are the publishers saving pages or the authors saving time? Or both?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    great until the ending

    i really liked this book but it just ended way too soon. i was really into it and then it just seemed to end. i think it would have been better had she drawn out the ending but i loved the characters and even the over the top(not surprising)setting. despite the ending i really like this book and can't wait for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    Very Different

    I have read all of Linda's books and I found this one to be very different than the others. She seemed less focused on the romance aspect and more on the intrigue. Her last book seemed much the same to me. Once I got into it (about chapter 4), I had a hard time putting it down just like all her other books. I found it to be a good entertaining read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2006

    A GOOD READ

    Flat out. This was a good book with lots of action and just enough romance. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2