Customer Reviews for

Cover of Night

Average Rating 3.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Cover of Night

Widow Cate Nightingale runs a bed and breakfast in Trail Stop Idaho, an isolated community boxed by mountains and a dangerous river. Cate¿s guests are sparse, consisting of rock climbers, hunters and fishermen, and Cate struggles to make ends meet. If it weren¿t for shy...
Widow Cate Nightingale runs a bed and breakfast in Trail Stop Idaho, an isolated community boxed by mountains and a dangerous river. Cate¿s guests are sparse, consisting of rock climbers, hunters and fishermen, and Cate struggles to make ends meet. If it weren¿t for shy handyman Cal Harris, the B&B would fall apart and Cate would be bankrupt. But Cate is determined to raise her two, four-year-old twin boys in a safe environment and this charming town seems the perfect place. Cate¿s nightmare begins when one of her guests climbs out of a window and disappears, leaving behind his personal effects. A few days later, two men show up and demand she turn over the man¿s belongings. Held at gunpoint, Cate fears for her life until Cal intrudes and forces the men to leave. Cate hopes that¿s the end of it, but soon she and the entire town find themselves held hostage by these two men, with the aid of four others. And there¿s no way to escape the road leading into town has been blocked and the bridge over the river has been blown up. Cate and Cal team up to try to save their community. Their forced camaraderie leads them into not only danger but reveals the two share a hidden passion for one another. Linda Howard is tops at romantic suspense. Although holding an entire town hostage seems implausible, she manages to make it real and provides a good read along the way. The chemistry between Cate and Cal is fun as it unfolds over the course of the book. With plenty of suspense, great characters, and a fast pace, Cover of Night will provide plenty of entertainment.

posted by Anonymous on July 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Because I have been disappointed in Linda Howard's last few novels, I waited for this one to come out in paperback. Now I wish I would've waited to pick it up at a used book sale. Though I'm repeating what many of the reviews here state, the plot was unbelievable, the...
Because I have been disappointed in Linda Howard's last few novels, I waited for this one to come out in paperback. Now I wish I would've waited to pick it up at a used book sale. Though I'm repeating what many of the reviews here state, the plot was unbelievable, the characters not easy to relate to, and the ending was too abrupt. I miss the ¿old¿ Linda Howard stuff. Whatever happened to characters like the Mackenzies in A Game of Chance and Mackenzie¿s Mountain, and plots like those of Mr. Perfect and After the Night. Maybe it¿s time for some sequels of these well-established characters and interesting plot lines!! They might be worth reading.

posted by Anonymous on May 21, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    Started out well enough

    When I started reading this book, I thought it would be very good and fun to read. The ridiculous plot with the bad guys could have been written so much better and the ending was terrible. I did like the characters in the town.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Snore

    BORED! I flipped through this book a lot once I realized that it wasn't one of LH's shining moments. Sorry!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not the Best

    I patiently wait (well maybe not so patient) for the newest books from Linda Howard. Unfortunately, this is not the best one I've read of her. It was enjoyable but did not capture my attention as others do.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    Bad Vision

    I just bought this book today and am currently on chapter 11, but had to put the book down. Linda's description of an unattractive 'Cate' with 'duck' lips ruined it for me. All I could envision was 'Cate' looking like a 'duck'!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2007

    very disappointing read

    This is the first book that I have read written by Linda Howard that was really awful-the story line was horrible-the book was not well written and the end was just not satisfying. I was totally disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    disappointing.....

    This book did not hold my interest very long. It was a disappointment after reading books like open season, Mr.perfect etc. It seemed like a different author wrote this book. I didn't like the last two books either with the heroine Blair. Too much comedy and too little suspense.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    Yawn

    The story could have been interesting but the fact that she went on and on and on and on about every single detail regarding the situation and not the characters made me yawn through the whole book. Cal and Cate's characters were not well developed and even though I am a huge fan of Ms. Howard, I have to say...yawn!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2007

    Disappointing

    This is the first comtemporary Linda Howard that I haven't liked. There's hardly any romance. It's all action/suspense. Don't bother with this one unless you're looking for that genre.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    not realistic

    this was not one of LH's best. Shutting done the town was not realistic. The characters were not developed well. LH usually writes great books. This one was not.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    Disappointed in Buffalo

    I have read all Linda Howards books. I was disappointed in the interaction between the lead characters. There wasn't enough interplay. The premise was good and I was really looking forward to reading this one, but it was missing something,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    Not Her Usual Standard

    The characters were good, but there were major holes in the plot. The premise of a town being held hostage was a bit far fetched. The bad guys' rationale for doing so really dumb. It made for a story that felt forced.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    Not good at all

    I have all of Linda Howard's books, most are great this one was terrible.It was missing the romance and the humor she has in her books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    terrible plot!

    This book was fun to read but the plot was terrible. The efforts the 'bad guys' went through were completely laughable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    Don't Buy This Book !!

    I love all of Linda Howards books, but this one was hardly worth reading! The beginning was too wordy, the plot too far fetched, and the ending was too short. I missed the great mysterious plots, and great romances she's always had in her previous books! What happened Linda?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2006

    Too long at Beginning, too short at Ending

    I love all of Linda Howard's books, but. . .this one started with too many locale descriptions when all it needed was one or two more complete ones at the beginning--they were important. Too wordy at the start, intriguing, but didn't get going for me until Chapter 7. The ending was too abrupt leaving the two sets of lovers too quickly, didn't include Cate's twins enough--a few sentences. The ending was with another character! Also would have appreciated an ending involving some of the town people we got to know and like. Although I have found the same abrupt endings, without the supporting characters involvement, in Nora Roberts' 'Angels Fall', and other popular Romance writers. Are the publishers saving pages or the authors saving time? Or both?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    great until the ending

    i really liked this book but it just ended way too soon. i was really into it and then it just seemed to end. i think it would have been better had she drawn out the ending but i loved the characters and even the over the top(not surprising)setting. despite the ending i really like this book and can't wait for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    The Plot Is 'What'?

    How can a person miss the missing link the Dopp kit...and who can imagine all of the hired 'culprilts' to do the dirty work of some some mob lord in Chi town.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    Very Different

    I have read all of Linda's books and I found this one to be very different than the others. She seemed less focused on the romance aspect and more on the intrigue. Her last book seemed much the same to me. Once I got into it (about chapter 4), I had a hard time putting it down just like all her other books. I found it to be a good entertaining read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2006

    A reviewer

    I love Linda Howard and have all of her books. When I read the reviews on this website I was skeptical, but this book is really very disappointing. The premise of the book is absurd and unless you are willing to completely suspend common sense it is really hard to get into the book. The love story is secondary to the 'suspense' aspect of the novel and is really not a significant part of the book. Wait for this one to come out in paperback or check out the local library but save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2006

    WHAT HAS HAPPENED?

    with a tight budget,i still purchased this book and now regret it.i have never been more disapointed.the plot was unbeleivable.a whole town?the main characters had the howard stamp to them but they were very lackluster.no sparks....so people wait for paperback or get at library.not her best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5