Customer Reviews for

Cover of Snow

Average Rating 4
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Suspense That Will Chill a Reader's Bones I¿ve dithered over wr


Suspense That Will Chill a Reader's Bones
I’ve dithered over writing this review more than any other I’ve ever written and it’s all because I want so much to do it justice without seeming to be overly influenced by the fact that I know the author. I don’t post reviews ...

Suspense That Will Chill a Reader's Bones
I’ve dithered over writing this review more than any other I’ve ever written and it’s all because I want so much to do it justice without seeming to be overly influenced by the fact that I know the author. I don’t post reviews on Amazon but this is exactly the kind of review their new rules would target even though it is not the least bit fake. So, let’s get the disclaimer out of the way. Yes, I know Jenny Milchman. Yes, I’ve shared space with her on various online elists and groups for a few years now and, yes, we finally met when she and her family traveled through Richmond several months ago. Yes, I have long admired Jenny’s work since before she became published.

It seems like eons ago that Jenny asked if I would read the manuscript of Cover of Snow but, at that time, it seemed to her as though the eons would never end because she had been on the query and submission path for eleven long years. Here’s what I had to say about it (not a formal review) in May, 2011—

COVER OF SNOW is one of the best books I have ever read, hands down. The suspense is almost unrelenting and her characters practically breathe on the page because Jenny is so good at bringing them to life. Is it literary? I’d say “yes” because my personal definition of literary is high-quality writing in the mechanics of grammar and construction but also in the evocation of the author’s vision. Most of all, I was struck by the weather which is perhaps the most important character in this story. I’m not talking about weather in the sense of a disastrous storm; this weather, snow and bone-chilling cold, is perfectly normal for the geographic setting but, in Jenny’s hands, has become more than an integral element. It is essential and it is alive. I truly felt the sheer intensity of the cold and saw the seemingly endless vistas of unrelenting white while I was reading as though I were there in the story.

The truly good news was that Jenny had finally reached her goal and found the publisher, the editor, that loved her work, just before I blogged about what I thought then was one of the most engaging manuscripts I’d ever had the pleasure of reading.

And, today, having read the book that was finally published yesterday, my opinion hasn’t changed one bit. The first thing that struck me was that not a whole lot changed from the manuscript I read to the final version. Are there some differences? Of course there are; it’s part of an editor’s job to find ways to tighten the prose, to make it just a little bit better, to catch discrepancies or misplaced words and the like. The truth is, though, that I remembered so much of the story and the words even two years later that Jenny’s editor must not have found many things to “fix”. This finished product is a testament that a talented author’s hard work, patience and perseverance can pay off.

Wedeskyull is still one of the most bone-chilling towns in the lower 48 and it’s not just the weather that causes that feeling. Secrets from years gone by, the heartbreak that can be the result of those secrets, the evil that power can bring, the lengths to which people will go to protect the things that must be hidden, the fear that comes from knowing trust has been misplaced—all come together in a story that kept me on tenterhooks from the shocking beginning to the very sad truths that come to light when Nora refuses to blindly accept her husband’s suicide. What lies behind the deaths that seem to have no connection? Nora finds that her questions lead to more trouble and frightening events come to a surprising conclusion and make Cover of Snow the perfect literary suspense novel for a cold, wintry read.

posted by BuriedUnderBooks on January 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

!

Come on bn. Put a stop to these long winded plot spoilers. They totally ruin books for others. These ppl should be banned from posting if they cannot write a review.

posted by 8888649 on January 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Suspense That Will Chill a Reader's Bones I¿ve dithered over wr


    Suspense That Will Chill a Reader's Bones
    I’ve dithered over writing this review more than any other I’ve ever written and it’s all because I want so much to do it justice without seeming to be overly influenced by the fact that I know the author. I don’t post reviews on Amazon but this is exactly the kind of review their new rules would target even though it is not the least bit fake. So, let’s get the disclaimer out of the way. Yes, I know Jenny Milchman. Yes, I’ve shared space with her on various online elists and groups for a few years now and, yes, we finally met when she and her family traveled through Richmond several months ago. Yes, I have long admired Jenny’s work since before she became published.

    It seems like eons ago that Jenny asked if I would read the manuscript of Cover of Snow but, at that time, it seemed to her as though the eons would never end because she had been on the query and submission path for eleven long years. Here’s what I had to say about it (not a formal review) in May, 2011—

    COVER OF SNOW is one of the best books I have ever read, hands down. The suspense is almost unrelenting and her characters practically breathe on the page because Jenny is so good at bringing them to life. Is it literary? I’d say “yes” because my personal definition of literary is high-quality writing in the mechanics of grammar and construction but also in the evocation of the author’s vision. Most of all, I was struck by the weather which is perhaps the most important character in this story. I’m not talking about weather in the sense of a disastrous storm; this weather, snow and bone-chilling cold, is perfectly normal for the geographic setting but, in Jenny’s hands, has become more than an integral element. It is essential and it is alive. I truly felt the sheer intensity of the cold and saw the seemingly endless vistas of unrelenting white while I was reading as though I were there in the story.

    The truly good news was that Jenny had finally reached her goal and found the publisher, the editor, that loved her work, just before I blogged about what I thought then was one of the most engaging manuscripts I’d ever had the pleasure of reading.

    And, today, having read the book that was finally published yesterday, my opinion hasn’t changed one bit. The first thing that struck me was that not a whole lot changed from the manuscript I read to the final version. Are there some differences? Of course there are; it’s part of an editor’s job to find ways to tighten the prose, to make it just a little bit better, to catch discrepancies or misplaced words and the like. The truth is, though, that I remembered so much of the story and the words even two years later that Jenny’s editor must not have found many things to “fix”. This finished product is a testament that a talented author’s hard work, patience and perseverance can pay off.

    Wedeskyull is still one of the most bone-chilling towns in the lower 48 and it’s not just the weather that causes that feeling. Secrets from years gone by, the heartbreak that can be the result of those secrets, the evil that power can bring, the lengths to which people will go to protect the things that must be hidden, the fear that comes from knowing trust has been misplaced—all come together in a story that kept me on tenterhooks from the shocking beginning to the very sad truths that come to light when Nora refuses to blindly accept her husband’s suicide. What lies behind the deaths that seem to have no connection? Nora finds that her questions lead to more trouble and frightening events come to a surprising conclusion and make Cover of Snow the perfect literary suspense novel for a cold, wintry read.

    19 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    !

    Come on bn. Put a stop to these long winded plot spoilers. They totally ruin books for others. These ppl should be banned from posting if they cannot write a review.

    11 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This was really a good book with a lot of suspense. Things are n

    This was really a good book with a lot of suspense. Things are not clear until the end.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    Cover of Snow Jenny Milchman ISBN: 978-0-345-53421-7 January 201

    Cover of Snow
    Jenny Milchman
    ISBN: 978-0-345-53421-7
    January 2013
    *This is an ARC copy that I won from a librarything giveaway*
    4 stars
    When Nora Hamilton wakes to find that her husband has committed suicide she is thrown into a cyclone of grief and confusion. In her quest to find out why her husband killed himself the question seems to be buried under an avalanche of mysteries. It seems that everyone in their small New York town is hiding something, even the police officers that her husband worked with and who were considered friends, and the more she digs the more danger she finds. Her one ally in the town has his own questions leaving her to doubt his agenda and reliability isolating her further as she pushes boundaries to uncover the truth.
    This debut author is compared to Gillian Flynn (I don’t pay much attention to comparisons because in my experiences they are usually way off) and I couldn’t agree more when it comes to this novel. I was instantly caught up into the book but not for the obvious reasons. The characters, the town itself being a vivid character too, are what grabbed and held onto my attention throughout. There is just the right amount of dysfunction to make them relatable, no matter how much you don’t want them to be, and not so much that they are unbelievable. The plot deserves a lot of credit too as it managed to keep me on my toes through the majority of the book. There were some spots when the side stories didn’t seem to flow as smoothly with the main plot and I had to go over what I had just read so that I could get back on track. (This is where I point out again that this is an ARC copy) Between the cast of characters and the suspense I am glad that I entered the giveaway for this novel. I will wholeheartedly recommend this one, especially to mystery and suspense fans.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My first 5 star book of the year I am always excited when I fin

    My first 5 star book of the year

    I am always excited when I find a new author whose stories I love. This is the case with Jenny Milchman and Cover of Snow: A Novel,  my first 5 star book of 2013.  I blew through this book in only two days, which is saying something.  




    Nora Hamilton wakes up one morning alone in bed, only to find that her husband has committed suicide.  Dazed, confused, and looking for closure, she begins to search for answers to why he would do this.  Unfortunately, asking too many questions in the small town of Wedeskyul is not a good idea.  As the story unravels, Nora realizes that she may not have know Brendan, or the residents of this small New York town, quite as well as she thought.  




    The story that Milchman crafts in this book is deliciously sinister.  Within the first few pages, I began to feel that all was not as it seemed in Wedeskyul and this  feeling continued until the final climax of the story.   I loved the way the characters were all hiding something, that nothing was quite what it seemed on the surface.  They all had layers upon layers, and even when I thought I had figured out their motivations, my initial assessments were not always spot on.  I also loved that this story was set in a very small town, as this is the type of story that could only happen in that type of environment.  One where everyone knows everyone and, even more, knows everything about everyone else.  The residents of Wedeskyul seem more like a clan than a group of neighbors, and like a clan, when outsiders threaten them they close ranks.  Having spent time in small towns, I can definitely see this scenario happening.  




     Although there were plenty of revelations about the characters in this book, there were actually frew twists and turns in the story line itself.  This seemed to fit the book, though, allowing me to focus my attention on the characters, their interactions, and their secrets.   By the middle of the book, it was pretty apparent who the "bad guys" were.  What wasn't apparent was just why they were so intent on their efforts to cover up reality.  This aspect of the book is what kept me hooked and kept me reading, rooting for some characters and against others.    Although there was no huge revelation at the end of the book, there was, in fact, closure, which was satisfying in and of itself. 




    In the set up for this book, the publisher likened the author to such great writers as Chris Bohjalian and Gillian Flynn.  For me, this book did not have the feel of a Gillian Flynn book at all.  If it did have the feel of a Bohjalian book, it would most likely be Secrets of Eden.  What I would compare this book to would be These Things Hidden by Heather Gudenkauf, or The Witness by Nora Roberts.  A good story with interesting characters that keep you invested, but not a lot of surprises.  I highly recommend this book for fans of either of those books listed above,  and am looking forward to another book by Jenny Milchman myself.  

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    I love mysteries. Although this was a new author, I decided to try the book. It was excellent! Cover of Snow was one of those books that I could not put down. Ms. Milchman was very descriptive; I could feel the cold! The story line was a true mystery and kept me guessing. I can't wait until she writes another book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Very well written and enjoyable read.  Looking forward to more.

    Very well written and enjoyable read.  Looking forward to more.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    The Cover of Snow is the story of Nora Hamilton, who wakes up on

    The Cover of Snow is the story of Nora Hamilton, who wakes up one morning alone in a cold bed, a silent cold house and no sign of her husband Brendan. Upon further inspection of the house, she finds her husband had hung himself, an apparent suicide.




    Nora is having a hard time understanding why her husband would commit suicide. She thought they  were a happy couple, he is a police officer in the small town of Wedeskyul in upstate New York, and she restores old homes.




    There are a lot of characters in the story, Eileen her mother in law, Eileen's sister Jean, Ned a reporter researching a story, the officers and police chief and an autistic man. All these characters play an important part to the story. Filled with enough scary situations and creepy people to keep the reader on the edge of the seat.




    I read the book in two days and I was totally involved in the story. I enjoyed the author's writing style and the suspense was first rate...I can usually figure out a book by at least 3/4 of the way through but this one I could not figure out and the ending was a surprise. The chill factor was so intense that I felt I had to put a sweater on... I enjoyed it thoroughly.




    I received an ebook for review from JKS Communications as part of the book tour and was not monetarily compensated for my review. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Anonymous

    A good try for a first novel but it was very disjointed, did not flow easily. A number of pages were skipped because you could not always move from one page to the next. The only way I could move to forward was to indicate a page number.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    I'm a little frustrated at not having been shaking for a story t

    I'm a little frustrated at not having been shaking for a story that seemed promising.

    I have not been appealed or thrilled. Worse, I was disappointed because while reading the synopsis, I was expecting not to be able to put this book down. I expected to be up all night not wanting to miss any scope of suspense and the twists. And that is exactly what I wanted but what I got...




    There are some unexpected outcomes but well buried under descriptions of cold, of snow landscape... As for the behavior of the main and secondary characters, sometimes they are so strange that I struggled to get immerse into this story.




    Yet the plot left me thinking that I was going from revelations to awfully twisted plots that will be ending in a breathtaking way. Unfortunately, this is not what I've felt.




    So when after some chapters, I was still not getting in the mood, I've cursed my lack of enthusiasm and went to see the reactions of other readers.  Most of them have rated it to 4 or 5 stars for this thriller...I supposed they have seen things I haven't. But I have to admit I went through it. So it's not so bad. Sure, the writting is full of descriptions but nice. It's just that I was not swept from my feet at all.






    Sentences




    From Gabriel: "Don't we always keep things from the people we love most ? Especially from them?"

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Gee, I dunno.....

    Afraid I'm not getting what the buzz is about this book! I think the writing is sophomoric, and the suspense quotient almost comically thin given Milchman's propensity for word-filler-style dramatic descriptions of every little thing that happens. Yes! We get that it's snowing! And that it's icy! But atmosphere? That's something you create with good writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This debut novel from Jenny Milchman has been getting a lot of b

    This debut novel from Jenny Milchman has been getting a lot of buzz in the very short time since its publication, and it is easy to see why. The protagonist, 35-year-old Nora Hamilton, living in the remote town of Wedeskyull in the Adirondack Mountain region of upstate New York, is reeling from her husband Brendan’s suicide. When she discovers that he purchased a prescription bottle of sedatives a week before his death, all her assumptions about how well she knew Brendan are challenged, and she wonders what else is going on around her that she has been too blinded to see clearly.

    A relative outsider in the town [inasmuch as she has only lived there for 6 years, and not for three generations, as seems to be required before one stops being considered such], Wedeskyull begins to seem like anything but the safe harbor it had always seemed. When she goes to Brendan’s fellow cops for answers, or her mother-in-law, she comes away with more questions than answers. The small town and its inhabitants are very well-drawn, the wintry landscape made palpable.

    My only reservation is that at times it seemed evident that this was a first novelistic effort, with some awkward word choices, but as the plot moved forward and the suspense grew, so did my enjoyment of the book, and I find myself looking forward with great anticipation to the author’s next novel. Recommended.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the

    Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide.
    The first few hours following Nora’s devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them.
    Unraveling her late husband’s final days, Nora searches for an explanation—but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan’s best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown . . . and its darkest secrets hidden.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Snowy 'beach read'

    There wasn't much depth here for me, but it was a decent read none the less. It would be a good 'beach read' if you're looking for something that doesn't require too much brainpower or focus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    Started off okay...

    Read this for my book club and I was disappointed. Not great not bad. Just meh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cover of Snow is Chilling Cover of Snow is the debut novel by J

    Cover of Snow is Chilling

    Cover of Snow is the debut novel by Jenny Milchman that follows a woman who seeks to find the truth behind her husband’s suicide, only to uncover secrets she never expected.




    Nora Hamilton, the main character, lived an unassuming life in a small town in the Adirondack Mountains of New York. The story opens with her discovering that her husband, who to her knowledge was happy and looking forward to their future together, committed suicide. Stumbling through the shock of the first few weeks, Nora begins to search for a way to understand why her husband would take his seemingly happy life. Along with her reporter friend, Nora faces deadly obstacles as she seeks for answers.




    Hauntingly realistic, the story weaves a tale of small town secrets, deception, corruption, and power. Cover of Snow is part mystery, part crime, and part thriller. But it is all intriguing and I couldn’t put it down. Many authors, new and old, oftentimes struggle with weaving a story that has unpredictable twists and turns that result in a realistic ending, and Milchman nails it on her first try.




    I absolutely recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Different

    Enjoyed this mystery, refreshing in that the writer doesn't resort to bad language and sex to try to capture your attention - did it better with creativity!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    Did I miss something? I read this book waiting for twists and su

    Did I miss something? I read this book waiting for twists and suspense based on many reviews. I thought the book was predictable and I knew who the bad guys were and whodunit from the first chapter. I read a lot and I'm the first to admit I am not a critic. I love new authors and I really wanted to be impressed. I will try her next book, but I can only give this one 3 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Recommend

    I enjoyed reading this story, but it seemed a little far fetched. I like my mysteries more realistic. I can't picture how this woman could keep driving all over the country in her little car in what was made out to be a lot of bad snow storm's. Everywhere she went it seemed like she had to deal with bad weather and deep snow. If you like mysteries, this was a pretty good one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    This is a thriller! I read it in one day and passed on lots of o

    This is a thriller! I read it in one day and passed on lots of other activities to keep my nose in this book. From page 2, I could not stop. The mystery starts there and ends at the very end. And it keeps getting more and more complicated as it unfolds.The main character is a good woman caught up in a life-altering situation that she decides she has to resolve without the help from people around her. In fact, they try to get in her way or scare her off. Who knew such deceptions could exist in a small and quiet and close-knit town?This is a great, racy read. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5