Customer Reviews for

Cover-Up: Mystery at the Super Bowl

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Alright book

Cover up is a good book about two kids who frequently find out conspiracies in sports. Steven and Susan Carol catch Don Meeker who is covering up that all five of their linemen tested positives for steroids. I liked that they did the right thing, but its kind of far fe...
Cover up is a good book about two kids who frequently find out conspiracies in sports. Steven and Susan Carol catch Don Meeker who is covering up that all five of their linemen tested positives for steroids. I liked that they did the right thing, but its kind of far fetched in the series the way that every major sports event they go to has a some kind of conspiracy. If you like suspense or mystery books, then you might like this one.

posted by CookA47 on May 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Loooonnnggg

This book is long and boring.

posted by 1526247 on May 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    Alright book

    Cover up is a good book about two kids who frequently find out conspiracies in sports. Steven and Susan Carol catch Don Meeker who is covering up that all five of their linemen tested positives for steroids. I liked that they did the right thing, but its kind of far fetched in the series the way that every major sports event they go to has a some kind of conspiracy. If you like suspense or mystery books, then you might like this one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    This book is about Stevie and another girl Susan Carol both are

    This book is about Stevie and another girl Susan Carol both are in the 8th grade and 14.  These two are reporters but one reports for CBS and another is a TV star for USTV.
    In other events they have broke big stories in basketball and tennis now they have gone to the super bowl to cover the California Dreams and the Balitmore Ravens.
    Yet again they have found another huge story to break like any other book this guy has written.  Don Meeker owned of the California Dreams is trying to cover up that his offensive line is on steroids and is trying to cover it up
    what they don't know is who is in on this but they soon realize they're in a huge mess because of all of this their parents are made because its happened again. 
    To be honest I did not enjoy this series or any of the books but i just kept reading its a awful book one of the worst books I've seen in a while its the same book in different sports there is not action i wouldn't reccomand this book unless your really in to mystery.  I liked how in the end it works out in the end like in every other book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    In the book Cover-Up It is about two 14 year old reporters, Stev

    In the book Cover-Up It is about two 14 year old reporters, Stevie Thomas and Susan Carol, who analyze sports data. They have became a bit famous by cracking huge like a kidnapping at the U.S. open and blackmailing in NCAA championship basketball. Two small teens cracking 2 huge sports scandals. Then the biggest most watched event, the super bowl was right around the corner. The Los Angelas Dreams were the team projected to win it all. Just to make sure their was no sports enhancers taken by any players, all the players were to be tested so it would be a fair game. A week before the super bowl, there was a party for the Los Angelas Dreams. The Doctor for the Dreams enhanced to much alcohol and was intoxicated. He started blurting out secrets that nobody should have known. One of them included that all of the Dreams' offensive lineman had taken steroids and failed the test. He also said that the coach of the Dreams is trying to cover it up just so they would win. Just when Stevie and Susan heard that they went straight to investigating. A week went by and it was the day of the super bowl. Over 20 million people were tuned in ready to watch some football. Will Susan and Stevie save the super bowl? Will the cheaters get caught? That is up for you to find out. If you are into suspense and sports this book is a great choice. I give this book a 7.5 because even though im all into sports im not a fan on mystery/suspense books. For some reason they never really make me want to read more. But you and I could be very different that is just my opinion. Also if you are around the age group from 6th grade to Sophmore year, this is a great choice for your level.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Loooonnnggg

    This book is long and boring.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Cover Up

    Cover Up,by John Feinstein,entertains the reader with vivid description and lots of drama. Feinstein did a great job of putting a good picture of the charecters and drama in your mind. The reader can easily picture the authors stress when Stevie was waiting for the QB to show up with the documents,making him wonder if he was joking about when he said he would meet them at the pool. This story tought a great lesson- even though you have a cover up you still might be caught. I would recommend Cover Up to anyone who likes sports mysterys.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    Really good even for older than age range

    I'm older than the tweleve range but this book is still good. I'm a huge sports fan. It gets the attention of sports people, but even the non-sports people. Also you don't have to really understand football to get the book. Great plot and book you hate to put down. Totally recommend this to all ages and interest in books. My cousin who's three years younger and her mother both enjoyed this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    A great book thats part of a trio

    Cover-up John Feinstein Knopf Books for Young Readers Realistic sport mystery Do you want to read about sports? Tired of reading the same thing? Well in Cover-up John Feinstein takes you to the dark side of sports in this mystery at the Super bowl. The main characters, Stevie Thomas and Susan Carol Anderson, have known each other for almost a year, meeting at the Final Four in New Orleans. Stevie and Susan Carol have a T.V. show every Friday about sports, until one day when the hated producer of the channel comes to Stevie¿s house. Stevie is fired, and that's when there is some heat created between the jerk-producer and Stevie. Stevie and Susan Carol get permission to go to the Super bowl with friend and sport¿s writer Bobby Kelleher. Stevie earned the right to go because he wrote a story every day for Kelleher. Susan Carol was still with the T.V. company, and she was at the Super bowl with them, and with a new co-host, a teen pop sensation who took Stevie¿s spot. Stevie and Susan Carol argued for a few days before she called Stevie at 2:00 am. For the third time, Stevie and Susan Carol have got themselves in a mess. A mess to do with HGH, the California Dreams starting linemen, and a huge cover-up. The main character in this book, like the other two in the series, is Stevie Thomas. Stevie lives in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and loves sports. But to his misfortune, in the last year he has gotten about ten people arrested in three different sports. Stevie is about five-foot eight inches, and is athletic, he is very friendly. In Cover-up he eats a lot, due to his growing. He has a special mind for sports, it seems like he knows everything, but he is usually outsmarted by Susan Carol Anderson who is the second most important character in the book. Susan Carol lives in North Carolina, where her dad is a priest. Susan Carol is very tall, about five-foot ten inches. Susan Carol is very emotional through the book, and most people mistake her for being in high-school, or even an adult. Susan Carol is an outstanding swimmer, she is ranked in the top ten butterfly swimmers in the United States. She and Stevie are friends, and both are eighth graders. Don Meeker is the owner of the California Dreams, a fictional football team in the NFL. Don is an older man, and very grumpy. Sometimes, he is a jerk, he is also very stubborn and greedy. Don Meeker is the richest team owner in the NFL. 'Not in real life.' Don is often made fun of by sport writer Bobby Kelleher for being short, these two men have had a grudge against each other for awhile. Stevie isn¿t exactly ¿friends¿ with Don Meeker either. The characters all have different emotions and personalities that make this book as exciting as it is. There are a few things that make this book as good as it is. I think the reason why kids that like sports would like this book is because it has a great football theme and has a good who-done-it plot throughout the story. I also think this is a good book for children is because it introduces the negative aspects of HGH and Steroid use, which is good to learn about at a young age. There is a lot of HGH and other performance enhancing drugs out there today, and kids should know how to deal with them, like Stevie and Susan Carol did. There is a lot of chemistry between Stevie and Susan Carol, and this is a good book to show good friendship, responsibility, and trust. This book has a great example on what media can do to or for kids. Stevie and Susan Carol have to deal with a lot of pressure and stress as a result of the media. This is a great book to teach children what the dark side of sports is and a how important a strong friendship is to have.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Cover up is an amazing sequel to great mystery stories from John

    Cover up is an amazing sequel to great mystery stories from John Feinstein of two romantic teens who are living an amazing life with fame and solving mysteries

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Heart Racing story

    I is one of the best susan carol and stevie thomas book ever it talks about real life situations like all of there other book but this is one of the most recent problem in sports

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Awesome

    On pins and needles mystery!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Five star for a reason

    Such a good book, it is probabaly the best of the series!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Awesome

    This a awesome book great story another great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Greeeaaaattttttt boooookkkkkk. They are boyfreind and girlfriend now. YEAH!!!!!! AND WOHOOOO!!!!!!!!!

    This is a reall good book and another great make by Feinstein. Stevie and Susan Carol always find a way to get themselves in trouble. LOL!!!!!! Susan should have all her information on her library card. SO EXCITED ABOUT STEVIE AND SUSAN CAROL BEING B-friend and G-friend. FROM ANNOYMOS AND # 1 Fan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Help!

    HELP!!!? I LENT THIS TO SOMEONE AND DON'T KNOW HOW TO GET IT BACK!!!!?





    Signed,
    Very Confused Kid???

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Love it

    I read The rivalry as well. I LOVE his books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Loooouuuunnnnngggggg

    This is boring book dont ever ever read it if you do it will wast your time

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Question but might spoil

    I not done yet but why does susan not have her birthday on her liberty card

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Very Attracting Book

    What a Book
    Cover Up, a best seller by John Feinstein was one of the best books I've ever read. I liked the suspense in the book and I also liked the idea of putting kids in the story plot. I think that this book is the best book in the series. Stevie and Susan Carol have solved other mysteries at the Final Four and at the US Open. But this is the Super Bowl. It is the biggest sports event in America and maybe the whole world. Can Stevie and Susan get enough proof to explain that the Dreams offensive line failed their doping test? Find out by reading "Cover Up", John Feinsteins number one seller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    Good book

    Slightly inapropriate

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    Incredible

    Johm feinstein is my favorite author by far. His books never disappoint me and they are so addicting! I love how they get to travel to the super bowl to find out 5 players drug tested positive and the league is covering it up. This is a MUST read for any sports fan, including all his other books. I hope his next one comes out soon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4