BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Covert: My Years Infiltrating the Mob

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    AWESOME READ!!!!!

    Great book!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    A True Crime 5*

    True crime at its best. Delaney captures every moment of his undercover assignment for the NJ State and Feds. His story is a tribute to crime fighting. He has been on CNN to tell the scope of the operation. Project Alpha is A+

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    Covert: My Years Infiltrating the Mob

    Loved this story about an undercover cop now turned basketball official who gathered evidence against the Genovese, Bruno and other crime families - and somehow survived to tell his story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2008

    Covert: My Years Infiltrating the Mob

    A friend recommended Covert, and I was fascinated by the real life mafia story behind this charismatic author/NBA basketball official.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Interesting New Jersey behind the crime scenes

    I enjoyed the book (I am originally from Jersey City) because of the local nature of the undercover work that Delaney was involved in that later became our local news. I have seen Delaney referee at many NBA games in Florida over the years, but did not know his background. He certainly has led a less than boring life!

    If you liked the Sopranos, or the Godfather stories, then you will enjoy this one more because it is true.

    Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great story

    Very simply. BUY THE BOOK. Someday soon, you'll be going to the movie. It's THAT good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    Quick read

    I thought the book was completely fascinating and could not put it down. It is so interesting how someone can go from such a hidden life to now refereeing NBA basketball games. Highly recommend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2008

    Terrible

    I couldn't get through the book, it was terrible. It seems he is a donnie brasco wanna-be with-out the story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    Covert is a must-read!

    Covert has the perfect combination of gritty crime drama and human emotion. This book is an excellent first-hand account of the undercover experience.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    From Mob to NBA

    I know the author 'Bob Delaney' because he officiates in the NBA and was only slightly aware of his background as a New Jersey State Trooper. This true story goes into detail of his life infiltrating organized crime in one of America¿s largest undercover operations. Even more interesting was the transition from this assignment into his next vocation of officiating LeBron James and Kobe Bryant in the NBA. This story captivated me from the very first page and kept going until the final chapter. An excellent read for anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    A reviewer

    A young New Jersey State Trooper, author Bob Delaney, goes deep undercover in order to infiltrate organized crime at it's highest and lowest level. A true and gritty story that will keep the reader captivated throughout the entire book. Not only does Delaney give a true and closeup look at the mob, but relates how it affected him after working three years undercover. You don't have to be crime drama buff to enjoy this book. It's for everyone. A fantastic read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    Very good intro to the real personalities of mobsters

    I heard the author speak at a Barnes & Noble in Walpole, Mass. He is a fascinating speaker and has written a good description of the very unglamorous personalities involved in organized crime. This is not a TV movie portrayal of the 'Don' as played by Danny Aiello.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2008

    Covert smash hit AAA+

    picked up my copy of covert last night at nine......finished it at 5 am........wow , fascinating book from page one I could't put it down....forget the sopranos this is the real deal!!!this whole story is 100% true-I know because I lived in west caldwell nj back then and was best friends with pat kelly's family so i saw this thing play out from a different angle. I was inside alamo trucking on communipaw,I have eaten at the bella vita...what bob and pat did takes more guts than you can ever imagine.Its one thing to watch it on tv ...... another thing to sit 2 feet from tino fiumara wearing a tape recorder! All sopranos fans will love this book- this all went down in the same area where the sopranos take place. Thanks bob for all you guys did ,my only regret is losing my good friends the kellys when they were relocated.....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    Mind Set

    February 8, 2008 The book 'Covert' by Robert Delaney and Dave Scheiber, is an extraordinary story of a 'deep-undercover' New Jersey State Trooper entering the psychic world of 'organized-crime'. This is a well written book driven by anecdotal events describing the personal and emotional encounters witnessed by a dedicated New Jersey State Trooper. It is an honest representation of someone¿s fears and apprehensions as seen by Bob Delaney for taking on an assignment to infiltrate and live with organized crime family members. The authors¿ script an excellent 'self-analysis' of the meetings and incidents with organized-crime members and others throughout the book that allows one to visualize the characters in ¿virtual-reality¿ and beyond knowing their names. It is a book that is recommended for anyone intrigued about what it takes for a police officer to live the life of a 'deep-undercover' agent in a criminal lifestyle, while learning the personal and psychic sacrifices that go with this most dangerous assignment. ¿ Joseph M. Paulillo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    Honest, fast-paced book

    I'm neither a big sports fan, nor a mob cult type, but I really liked Covert. Delaney's story is honest and thoughtful and a really swift read. Highly recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    Couldn't put it down - RIVETING!!!

    Much more than a MOB story - it's a life story. As stated in the foreward, it was one heck of a ride!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    Covert is Tremendous...

    I enjoyed every word, every chapter. This is a book that most readers will read in one night.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2