Customer Reviews for

Covert Warriors

Average Rating 4
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Just OK

    This is my favorite series that W.E.B. Griffin has written, but this book feels like he's mailing it in. The intricate detail of previous books, especially in the military planning and tactics portions, is notably absent from this book. In fact, it feels like the entire ending of the book is missing and was glossed over. The last 5 pages should have been about 250 more pages given the amount of information left out, glossed over, or just flat ignored. This is by far the worst effort in the series and only my love of the characters and their continued development in the first 300 pages makes this book worth a "3 star" rating.

    Quit mailing it in Mr. Griffin. Readers can tell, and Tom Clancy is being nailed for it too.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    A lowered standard?

    While I love most of the characters in this series, this time they seem almost caricatures of themselves. The authoring team approach seems to be having a negative effect on character development and credibility. I am disappointed.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Worst of the series

    Out of all the Griffin books written, this is the worst. The ending was horrible, too maany issues left unresolved. I can't believe that I waited a year for this book.

    It appears W.E.B Griffin or his son, whoever wrote it is just mailing in the story.Bring back Ken McCoy

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Not Good

    Mr. Butterworth killed this series. 25% of this book is going back to the previous books to tell us why they call someone something or how we got here. There are too many jumps in the story especially at the end where the jump is extreme and it feels like he just wanted to finish the book. Very disappointed

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    A good read, but not up to usual Griffin standards

    I really like this series, and have done so from the beginning, but I was worried when I learned that this book would be co-authored with Griffin's son. The son doesn't have his father's skills, and it shows.


    This book works for me, barely, and the several unresolved plotlines leave plenty of room for another book in the series. As usual with Griffin, far too many pages were wasted telling the backstory. Fans don't need that, and find it annoying.

    I especially didn't like the way the two traitor's around the President were written out of the story with the President learning of the problem.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    We the reader deserve better!!

    This starts out great - but it seems that the two authors just gave up on page 318 !! Nothing is resolved - it almost reads like this is the first of two books. They close it out in 5 pages - with many many plotlines left dangling. I was very disappointed, as I own every book and series written by Mr. Griffin and have always enjoyed his writing. If Mr. Butterworth is going to take over this series, for heavens sake - and the sake of all fans of Mr. Griffin, please complete the books !! I feel robbed!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Anonomous

    Just OK. Not up to usual standards.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Not his best work

    Slow in action and the ending was weak. Seems like he has run out of story lines for this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Not so good

    Is Castillo a senior citizen now? Very little action. Kind of bogus plot. Hard to follow. The new thing with italicizing a characters thoughts like a text balloon is cumbersome.

    Not at all up to par with the prior Presidential Agent series.

    What happened?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Loved it

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    So Dissappointed

    Too much repeating from the previous books and what's happening to Charley? He's hardly recognisable as the same character, so much self doubt. The story also just stops, it doesn't end just stops. I'll try another book in this series because I've really enjoyed it up to now, but I'll be crossing my fingers that I won't regret the decision.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Peace Talks

    Go to warriors res 1. Then go from there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The series is losing steam! I thoroughly enjoy the style of wri

    The series is losing steam!

    I thoroughly enjoy the style of writing and the previous books in the series had the entertainment value which kept me yearning for more.  I must say, I was disappointed with this book as a whole.  The buildup was there, but too much space was spent on telling the same backstory and reviewing the previous books in the series.  The overall substance of the book was not satisfying.  With that said, the story was compelling and had intrigue, but the ending was a total of 4 pages that wrapped everything up!  It sets itself up for another book, which I will read because I want to see what happens next, but I wouldn't shell out $25 to buy the hardcover and I have resigned to not even seeing $10 for the paperback of justifiable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Buttfur

    Lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    another good story

    a good dilema on what is the right thing to do....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Hhhh

    Stripper

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Cruncher

    I have had the some of the best and close real deal action since i myself have spend 30 years in CWO5 a Master Cheif Warrant Officer...i have started my frist step into the Airborne Rangers qnd in cwjg school. I went on with that and ending up with a smu,bravo10..Then i went through Q course at the great and frist Special Forces in the U.S.A,Camp Mackall to take the weak or the boys from the men.. i thank W.E.B for his great insite of our sog,sad,cag,SF,Dev group,24th Air Force sts,seals .ct,pj and the Rangers. He knows more then ur guy who r in the TF groups like no other writer u will ever now and to come.. now if we can run this war the way it should be would be great...yea do not forget the ISA,old name grayfox with out my hros no real intel would be worth going after....the truth is the truth.. Thank u W.E.B. for the time and to know the rt men to get this stuff from......tthank you bro

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    What is this clan stuff about?

    Ok I have a bunch of ?s about this clan and mates and that stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    This was a great series, but I thought the last book in the seri

    This was a great series, but I thought the last book in the series left too many unanswered questions. Hopefully, Mr. Griffin/Butterworth will come out with a final book that will explain everything. Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    to below

    Draw a WALRUS

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11