Customer Reviews for

Covet (Fallen Angels Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 956 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(430)

4 Star

(283)

3 Star

(137)

2 Star

(57)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

An absolutely perfect beginning

I almost finished this entire book during a five hour flight, and I swear that if the plane had gone down, I would have been reading when we hit the Pacific. I haven't been this hooked on a story in ages--so many disparate threads in the beginning that end up woven toge...
I almost finished this entire book during a five hour flight, and I swear that if the plane had gone down, I would have been reading when we hit the Pacific. I haven't been this hooked on a story in ages--so many disparate threads in the beginning that end up woven together into a perfect tapestry. I'm a huge fan of Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood and I'm already hooked just as seriously on this new series. This is not a book to rush through--there are so many twists and turns that you really have to pay attention to every single thing--but I am anxiously awaiting her next book in the series so that I can see what Jim Heron, one terrific fallen angel, gets into next. My hat's off to Ward--as an author myself, I know how hard it is to come up with a totally fresh series. To set one in the same town of Caldwell as her BDB series with reference to some of those characters, and yet create something so unique and so perfectly written is an amazing achievement. I'm definitely recommending this book to my readers.

posted by KateDouglas on October 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Not a Brotherhood book by far!

JR Ward's writing usually has me captivated and I devour all her work like it's brain candy. Covet did not hold that same feeling. I normally finish her books within a day, but this book took me a week. I felt as if I were waiting for something good to happen and it nev...
JR Ward's writing usually has me captivated and I devour all her work like it's brain candy. Covet did not hold that same feeling. I normally finish her books within a day, but this book took me a week. I felt as if I were waiting for something good to happen and it never did. It's as if the The Black dagger Brotherhood and Covet were written by two totally different writers. There was far too many little details and not enough substance. I don't believe I will continue this series. It's a shame, because I love every thing else Ward has written. This just wasn't up to her usually standard.

posted by ericamanda01 on November 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not a Brotherhood book by far!

    JR Ward's writing usually has me captivated and I devour all her work like it's brain candy. Covet did not hold that same feeling. I normally finish her books within a day, but this book took me a week. I felt as if I were waiting for something good to happen and it never did. It's as if the The Black dagger Brotherhood and Covet were written by two totally different writers. There was far too many little details and not enough substance. I don't believe I will continue this series. It's a shame, because I love every thing else Ward has written. This just wasn't up to her usually standard.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    Not her best work

    I am a huge fan of JR Ward, but this story was just not her best. I had to force my way through until the end. There was very little chemistry between the main 2 charachters. Usually, JR writes the kind of chemistry that jumps off the page and has you hooked from the start, but it just wasn't there with these two. Also, the story of Jim the angel really bored me. That being said - don't waste your time with this one. JR needs to stick with the brothers....

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    JR Ward Fan, but...

    I wasn't expecting the Black Dagger Brotherhood but I was expecting something a little better than what I read. I'm a HUGE fan of Ward but this book had way too many characters and too much going on...it wasn't worth trying to keep up. The story was more about the angel "Jim" than a romance between the couple. Ward jumped around so much in her writing that the couple truly was shorted read time. Truly several in our book club would get down on one need to Ward and beg her to drop these books and devote all her time to BDB, or if she did continue, please make it more about the couple and allow the angels to do their 'deeds' in the background. You really can't read this and expect a 'romance' because there isn't enough in there to qualify.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Normally I love this author.

    I was not able to "get into this novel." My favorite character was the dog, Dog. The idea is great, but I did not feel any connection to the characters, as it kept jumping around too much. I felt no empathy towards any of the characters. Hopefully, the second one will be better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely Fallen

    Though I am huge J.R. Ward fan, this book failed to capture my attention. This book is the first of the series and opened the reader to the new world of angels and demons. It sets up the atmosphere for books to follow. I wasn't captured by the characters or plot as much as other J.R. books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    BORING!!!

    This book moves very slow, no action. I had to force myself to finish it. JR Ward let me down with this one. Her first series are to die for--Read the Black Dagger Brotherhood series; Lover Enshrine, Dark Lover, Lover Awakened, Lover Eternal--Now those books a EXCELLENT! I could not get enough of them. The vampires are awesome, fearsome, and very romantic.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Covet.

    Jim Heron died, electrocuted. but then he had a dream or he thought he was dreaming. There were 4 guys who basicalyy told him that he is now on the playing field. Saving souls, saving mankind.-whooosah! Of course he thought it was ridiculous. But then he woke up and he realized that yeah he's was really on a mission and first one is his boss. Vin di Pietro. Real Estate Mogul, filthy rich. - the 7 deadly sins that he's guilty of was Avarice. So at first he thought that he was supposed to help him propose to his uber hot and pretty girlfriend (to be on the right path), Devina Avale, whom he had an encounter inside his truck the night before he died. So yeah he was feeling a littlke guilty and ashamed of himself because Jim is not like that. Vin on the other hand was being haunted by the memory of his wife-beater dad and suddenly had doubts. Devina came home with her stunning Blue Dress on the night that he was supposed to proposed but he noticed that she doesn't have a lipstick on, and for Devina that's just odd. Especially when he met Marie-Therese, a prostitute with morals and has zero personality. I was conflicted at first but as the story goes that actually turned out ok. So then Vin and Jim got into a fist fight with a couple of college douche that was harassing Marie-Therese and from then on everything got weird for all of them. Killings, Nightmare of having sex with a corpse, pre-cognition resulting to death, mystery stalker, knowledge that there are demons lurking on earth, etc. But at the end the good won but not quite. It was a very cheesy ending and don't even get me started at the hideous book cover.

    What I really think?
    At first I wasn't sure If I can continue reading. The prologue and first chapter was weak and I'm thinking, I have too many tbrs to waste my time on this one, but I endured the boredom and force myself into reading it. This was my first J.R Ward experience which turned out to be a disappointment.

    I like Jim, he reminds me of Standard Alpha male, bad ass attitude that suddenly became all vengeful towards a death of a girl that he doesn't know. Vin di Pietro's all manly concern for Marie-Therese's safety and the mystery killer. Typical. I really thought it was Marie-Therese's ex-husband who was executing all this men. He sounded like the kind of guy that will pull a McGuyver to get out of prison.
    It was a promising start for a new series (if you get impressed) but I wasn't blown away by this book. A certain chemistry is missing, for me to put this series into
    "I cannot wait for the next book and see what happens to him." bookshelf. It doesn't also help that I keep thinking about my favorite TV show Supernatural as there was some semblance to it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    I have books 1-3 by J.R Ward, and I have tried to read this book

    I have books 1-3 by J.R Ward, and I have tried to read this book twice and I can't get passed the first couple chapters! Is this book essential to read the others?? I can't make myself try to read this one again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    Did not like. T.he Brotherhood series is so much better

    Did not like. T.he Brotherhood series is so much better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Mathew

    Zoe zoe!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    It kills me to give this book 2 stars and leave a negative comme

    It kills me to give this book 2 stars and leave a negative comment. I loved J.R Ward’s BDB series, but this book lacked a good story line. I thought it was dull and not very exciting. It took me almost a week to finish this book, which is very slow for me. I just couldn’t get into the book and the characters at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    OK but could have been better

    I'm torn on this one. As usual, Ward has great world-building and character development, and she's a really good writer. Problem is, it takes her forever to get to the point. And she goes off on these beautifully written tangents that have absolutely nothing to do with the story.

    My main issue with this one: what the hell was the point of the stalker story-line? I mean, I actually found it interesting, but it was totally unnecessary. The story could have gone on as it did without it (with a few small tweaks), and been exactly the same. It brought nothing except fueling fears in Marie-Terese's past. Along those same lines, I feel like the Devina story-line (which was kind of the whole point) fizzled out. It all resolved a little too easily for me. Although I did like the ultimate ending and the way things worked out for all the characters.

    P.S. You MUST read the prologue. I think I would have been kind of lost without it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    Dull

    Not even sure if I can make myself finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    Don't waste your time...or money

    What a dissappointing book!! I have read all of Ward's published books, and was excited to read this one. But, it's very uninspired. The "fallen angel" idea is a great premise, but Ward fails to deliver. Even the love scenes are not as erotic as one would expect. A plus is that the world of Caldwell ties in some of the beloved characters of the Black Dagger Brotherhood series. A major downside is that Ward uses the book as a platforn to put is messages of morality and little life lessons (safe sex, spousal abuse, spirituality drugs, alcholism, etc..) I won't continue this series. If you're a hard core Ward fan (like I am) you'll probably want to read this book for yourself. But buy the book second hand, check it out from the library, read some of it in the bookstore an make your own decision. But please, don't go into this novel thinking its anything more than a mildly amusing waste of time. Don't say you weren't warned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    liked the new world, didn't like the writing

    the writing for the 1st of the fallen angel series is just clunkier and maybe even too hesitant--therefore, not as compelling for me as the black dagger brotherhood. i did like the new, tangent world to Ward's BDB series, the ending was nice (the usual happy ending) and the beginning intriguing. But inbetween, Ward just about lost me. i may try reading the next installment, but my expectations are not high.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hmmmmm

    This book was a huge disappointment. I absolutely love JR but this book was well below par. I don't know what she was thinking to accomplish with this new "Fallen Angels" series but boredom and confusion was the overall theme. This book finally started getting slightly better the last 150 pages or so but even then it was weird and unbelievable. I sure hope the rest of this series isn't as bad as this one was. I must say I am a little shocked by JR. WHAT HAPPENED????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3