Customer Reviews for

A Covington Christmas

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    recommend for a fun read

    I started reading this book 2 nights ago and have trouble putting it down. I like to read in bed to help get sleepy for the night, and I find myself wanting to keep reading this book to see what the characters will do next. A new pastor has come to the church, and during an attic cleaning he finds a letter that one of their former pastors was never ordained but that fact had been hidden, so numerous couples in the church were not officially married, some of whom had been together for 40 years!! This is a very clean, easy to read book so if you are looking for things like premarital sex and "steamy" scenes, you will be disappointed. If you like to read a book that ANYONE can see, you will enjoy this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    History and Today Come Together

    Medlicott brings together characters from history and today in a heart warming story that continues the characters of Covington. One should surely start from the beginning of the Covington ladies' stories to reap the full benefit of the stories. However, it is possible to pick up any place as Medicott does provide a bit of background in all books. Although this is not my favorite, I did enjoy how the people of Covington once again came together to help the ladies make a successful Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    AS ALWAYS

    A delight to read, so wonderful to come home to covington and be with treasured friends! joan medlicott never disappoints, what a gifted writer! a must own and read over and over and over again, through this journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Afun lighthearted regional family cozy

    In Covington, North Carolina, the new pastor of the Cove Road Church, Denny Ledbetter, is cleaning out the attic when he is stunned to find the letter dated 1963 that states that a former minister never received his seminary degree and thus wasn¿t allowed to marry people. Richard W. Simms was not authorized to perform baptisms, marriages or other rites he was not considered a pastor. Five couples were married by Simms (Craines, Herrills, and three named McCorkle), but none were filed with the courts and thus not husband and wife in the eyes of the church or the state.................. The Craines and Herrills still live in town and want to renew their vows at the church at Christmas Eve. Denny wants this to occur because he feels a strong need to correct a wrong, but also knows the Cove Road Church is in disrepair and not safe in the winter. The Covington ladies led by Grace Singleton, Hannah Parrish and Amelia Declose plan to make the miracle happen................. This is a fun lighthearted regional family cozy as the three elderly but feisty females take charge to make the Christmas miracle occur while also trying to hide the truth from ailing octogenarian Pastor Johnson. As always the story line entertains the audience due to the fine look at small-town life in the Tarheel state. Fans of Covington will say I do to this enjoyable Yuletide tale..................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2005

    Ah, the Covingtons are back.

    Ah! Yes! Our Ladies are back, and just in time for Christmas. To say I was absolutely delighted when I saw this newest book would be to put it lightly. Why? Because, through the years, the adventures of Grace Singleton, Hannah Parrish and Amelia Declose have entertained me more than I can put into words. Their lives are never dull, and, through this book, we have an opportunity to meet even more of their friends and neighbors and have another peek into their warm and creative personalities. ............................... As the story opens, we find Grace hard at work with the Church¿s new pastor, Denny Ledbetter, in the neglected attic of the Cove Road Church. As they clean away the layers of dust, they find a letter from 1963 that gives away the secret of a former minister and has quite an impact on five couples whom he married in the church many years ago. As it turns out, Richard W. Simms, the former minister, was never really a minister, so the marriages he had performed were invalid. Since these couples were never legally husband and wife, what will be the implications for their grownup children and grandchildren? ............................ Of course these couples must remarry ¿ and quickly. So, they enlist the help of our Covington Ladies and settle on a multiple wedding with a Christmas Eve ceremony in the Cove Road Church. There is much work to be done with the new brides, which our Ladies can certainly handle, but the unexpected extra work in getting the church itself ready was soon almost overwhelming. Here in the middle of November, the church furnace dies and there are no extra funds in the church budget to cover the repairs. Of course, everyone recognizes that there must be heat in the church, not only for the Christmas Eve weddings, but also for the yearly Christmas Eve church service! Then, to add to their problems, it is soon realized that the very walls and windows (which sustained a lot of smoke damage during the fire a couple of years ago) must be scrubbed and then painted. Last of all, there was also the problem of rotting floorboards in several areas of the church, which simply must be replaced. ......................... As you might guess, due to the absence of any church funds our Ladies soon organize a wealth of volunteers to help with the work and supplies ¿ no small task in itself. Then, we add to this mix the accidental finding of a valuable painting in the church, an unexpected snow storm, and a mysterious visitor who delivers beautiful, and very expensive, flowers every day as the work progresses. ...................... ***** I was enthralled with this story and with all the brides as they planned their wedding day. Each bride was unique and we got a glimpse into each of their lives up to this point, but I found that the predicament of one of them (May McCorkle) truly tugged at my heart. Regardless of whether you are new to the adventures of Grace, Hannah, and Amelia or a veteran of their antics, you will be mesmerized with this special holiday story. Joan Medlicott has done it again! *****

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1