Customer Reviews for

The Cowboy (Bitter Creek Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A CAPTIVATING STORY!

Welcome to a century-old feud between the Blackthornes and the Creeds. And a couple caught up in the feud and having to choose sides. Callie Creed and Trace Blackthorne are the couple caught up in the feud. They want to put their differences behind them and plan on m...
Welcome to a century-old feud between the Blackthornes and the Creeds. And a couple caught up in the feud and having to choose sides. Callie Creed and Trace Blackthorne are the couple caught up in the feud. They want to put their differences behind them and plan on marrying until Callie receives a phone call while attending the University of Texas in Austin that will shatter their dreams. Callie¿s brother Sam has been permanently disabled while practicing football and the one that caused the disabling injury is none other than Trace¿s brother Owen. Callie knew the family was going to have a hard time adjusting to her and Trace¿s relationship and then this happens which would make it impossible to marry. Callie refuses to marry Trace and he swears he¿ll never forgive her for turning her back on him. But little does Trace know that Callie is carrying their unborn child. Callie is desperate and marries another. -------------------------------- Fast-forward eleven years¿¿. Callie¿s husband has passed away and the Creed¿s are close to going broke and she is desperate to save them. Callie tries to save the ranch by breeding and training cutting horses for competition. Winning the large amount of prize money in the competition is her goal. Trace¿s father dies and Trace must come home to Bitter Creek, Texas and take control of the ranch. Trace is no longer the man he was and is bitter but he can¿t hold back the feelings he has for Callie and he offers to marry her and save her family from ruin. There is an intense mutual desire that continues to draw them both to each other but the secret that Callie keeps threatens to destroy their happiness. --------------------------------------------- Joan Johnston has once again masterfully created very real characters, a captivating story and interesting sub-plots. Ms. Johnston who is known for her historical romances has successfully reached a new level in THE COWBOY stretching her talents into the contemporary romance genre. THE COWBOY just screams sequel and I for one will be the first in line to read it! Reviewed by Paula Palmer 2/11/2000

posted by Anonymous on February 20, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

not great

I thought this book just went around in circles. The main characters started out great they got you interested but the rest of the book was the same stuff, "I love you-- No I don't/can't love you. Don't touch me you are the devil, then ok lets jump in bed together." Abo...
I thought this book just went around in circles. The main characters started out great they got you interested but the rest of the book was the same stuff, "I love you-- No I don't/can't love you. Don't touch me you are the devil, then ok lets jump in bed together." About the last 15 or so pages she is all the sudden ready to get married, be a family, and o yeah move to Australia. I expected more and did not get it.

posted by sharp1022 on April 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    not great

    I thought this book just went around in circles. The main characters started out great they got you interested but the rest of the book was the same stuff, "I love you-- No I don't/can't love you. Don't touch me you are the devil, then ok lets jump in bed together." About the last 15 or so pages she is all the sudden ready to get married, be a family, and o yeah move to Australia. I expected more and did not get it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2000

    A CAPTIVATING STORY!

    Welcome to a century-old feud between the Blackthornes and the Creeds. And a couple caught up in the feud and having to choose sides. Callie Creed and Trace Blackthorne are the couple caught up in the feud. They want to put their differences behind them and plan on marrying until Callie receives a phone call while attending the University of Texas in Austin that will shatter their dreams. Callie¿s brother Sam has been permanently disabled while practicing football and the one that caused the disabling injury is none other than Trace¿s brother Owen. Callie knew the family was going to have a hard time adjusting to her and Trace¿s relationship and then this happens which would make it impossible to marry. Callie refuses to marry Trace and he swears he¿ll never forgive her for turning her back on him. But little does Trace know that Callie is carrying their unborn child. Callie is desperate and marries another. -------------------------------- Fast-forward eleven years¿¿. Callie¿s husband has passed away and the Creed¿s are close to going broke and she is desperate to save them. Callie tries to save the ranch by breeding and training cutting horses for competition. Winning the large amount of prize money in the competition is her goal. Trace¿s father dies and Trace must come home to Bitter Creek, Texas and take control of the ranch. Trace is no longer the man he was and is bitter but he can¿t hold back the feelings he has for Callie and he offers to marry her and save her family from ruin. There is an intense mutual desire that continues to draw them both to each other but the secret that Callie keeps threatens to destroy their happiness. --------------------------------------------- Joan Johnston has once again masterfully created very real characters, a captivating story and interesting sub-plots. Ms. Johnston who is known for her historical romances has successfully reached a new level in THE COWBOY stretching her talents into the contemporary romance genre. THE COWBOY just screams sequel and I for one will be the first in line to read it! Reviewed by Paula Palmer 2/11/2000

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Plot and Story Line The Cowboy is the first book in the series.

    Plot and Story Line

    The Cowboy is the first book in the series. I have read this series, but quite a long time ago, about ten years. So one of my goals this year, is to do a couple re reads every month and do a review. It was so fun to get back into this series, and as I started reading this, I came to the conclusion that there is a reason i adore this set up of feuding familes. And in all the feuding family series…this is my favorite of all time. It was also one of the first contemporary series I ever read, so that is also another plus. Its thanks to this series that I started reading Contemporary romance in the first place. This book starts off pretty well, and gives a bit of background information. We see other plots develop for other characters that will become future installments. The Cowboy is Trace and Callie’s story. And boy did I love them as a couple. In the beginning of the story, they are both hurting, still in love with each other, but there are so many other factors that keep them apart. The main reason you see is pride. Pride keeps them from accepting how much they care for each other and just letting their heart lead instead of loyalty to their families. There are some traumatic events that take place, and really adds a deep emotional rhythm to the story that keeps you engaged on every page. I tell you, this is the type of book that will keep you up at night, because the vivid detail and the beautiful work that Joan Johnston Creates is touching in its detail. The flow is pretty smooth, and the writing is so compelling, you feel as if you along side them feeling every emotion, and seeing every color and detail.
    Cover

    Now there are two different covers to this book. The first cover, the older one, is of a Texan sunset with a horse galloping across a field. The second and most latest, is the one I decided to put up. I don’t know about you all, but a bare man’s back with those strong shoulders, and sculpted muscles…and those jeans….(football pants have no contest with those jeans), his booty…so sexy I could squeeze it. :) What do you think of it? Can you resist a sexy cowboy on a cover?
    Overall View

    A riveting romantic tale of passion, personal discovery, and the test of true love…sensitive and powerful!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Overall Rating: 4.75 Action: 3.0 / Emotion: 4.5 / Romance: 5.0 /

    Overall Rating: 4.75
    Action: 3.0 / Emotion: 4.5 / Romance: 5.0 / Sensuous: 2.0 / Suspense: 3.5 // Laughter: 0 // Tears: 4 / Teary: 1

    The Cowboy: 4.75:
    Joan Johnston has a wonderful gift when it comes to telling a story.  Thus, it comes as no surprise that *The Cowboy*, the first book in *The Bitter Creek Series* draws the reader into the lives of the characters that walk through the pages of this book and keeps readers engaged until that very last sentence.

    Hero: 4.75:
    Trace Blackthorne: A steadfast hero who know who he was.  Trace was the kind of hero romance readers dream of.  Who could not help but admire a man who professed his love for the heroine as he undauntingly pursued her -- and made every effort to take care of her.

    Heroine: 2.50:
    Callie Creed: A frustrating heroine.  Callie turned her back on Trace, married Nolan, and when Trace returns after eleven years, she blames him for their breakup.  Her staunch stance against Trace added an irritating, "you're not being honest with yourself" quality to her personality.  Rather than come across as the strong-willed, determined, successful heroine to be admired, it was easy to want to bop Callie over the head and say, quit being an idiot and say yes to your soulmate.

    Story Line: 3.00:
    Johnston did a great job with the Romeo and Juliet story line set in the world of Texas ranches and cutting horse competitions.  Liked the details that proved that Johnston did a great deal of research to get Trace and Callie's world right.

    Action: 3.00:
    There was not a great deal of action filling the pages of this book, but there were enough slightly adventurous events occurring within the story to keep the pace moving forward at a strong, steady pace.

    Emotion: 4.50:
    Johnston did a great job of engaging the emotions of her readers.  While frustration at the heroine is not a positive quality, it is definitely an emotional one.  Surprisingly enough, Johnston managed to bring forth tears during the telling of Trace and Callie's story.  And Trace certainly won hearts in his constant pursual of Callie . . . and the way he treated Eli and Hannah. 

    Romance: 5.00:
    The degree of romance throughout the telling of this story was always constant.  Trace and Callie were always aware of the other, and while Callie may have denied it, she was just as much in love with Trace as he professed to be with her.

    Suspense: 3.50:
    The detrimental and suspect incidents that continued to occur at Three Oaks added a degree suspense to the story.

    Sensuous: 2.00:
    There was just something about the emotional connection between Trace and Callie that added a definite degree of sensuality to their lovemaking . . . even though it was not graphically detailed.

    Secondary Characters: 5.00:
    One of Johnston's great skills as an author is her ability to develop the personalities of her secondary characters to such a degree that they inspire great interest and cause the reader to want to continue reading future books in the hope that Johnston will tell their story.  The secondary characters that drew great interest in this book included: {1} Jackson "Blackjack" Blacktorne; {2} Eve DeWitt Blackthorne; {3} Owen Blackthorne, {4} Summer Blackthorne; {5} Jesse Creed, {6} Lauren "Ren" Coburn Creed; {7} Sam Creed; {8} Luke Creed; {9} Bayleigh "Bay" Creed; {10} Eli Munroe; {11} Hannah Munroe; and {12} "Bad" Billy Coburn.

    A more in-depth, detailed, spoiler-ridden review of *The Cowboy* appears at Wolf Bear Does Books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    The Start of Something Good!!!

    Very good story line, in-depth characters. Loved it. Love this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Great read. One of the best in a long time

    I am very impressed with Ms.Johnston's writing. This story had me from the beginning right through to the end. I was so impressed with THE COWBOY! that I bought the next three in the series without hesitation. She managed to bring out each character. Thank you for such a marvelous literary piece of work.
    I intend to put all her other novels on my Nook. I look forward to enjoying them as much as I did the first one.
    Thank you Ms Johnston for putting your thoughts and words down and sharing them with the rest of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    AWESOME STORYTELLER

    First book in the Bittercreek series. I loved this novel. Johnston creates interesting, realistic characters. Some of her characters make J.R. Ewing look like Mary Poppins. Worth every penny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Good Read!

    I enjoyed this book. Will buy more of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    good reading

    my husband read this book he really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great series

    The cowboy by joan johnstone
    2 families have a feud, The main from one hooks up with a girl from the other.
    11 yrs later they are brought back together again.
    Lot of things that happened in the past are brought to the forefront and the ones involved now
    find out the truth of what really transpired and why things happened the way they did.
    A lot of misunderstandings along with her and he finding out about their parents misgivings takes its toll.

    She packs a picnic lunch and sends her parents out to the meadow so they can light a spark in their marriage.
    Problem is it's after dinner and they've not returned.
    Between murder and horse thieves and just plain backstabbing, bar brawls and going behind others back, this book has that and more.

    Like the details of becoming a cutter-never knew that occupation existed and like finding out about horses as I am terrified to become closer to them.
    Even though there are a bunch of characters they are easy to keep straight and what's going on with each of their lives. Like how things are brought up and the problem things are dealt with and how. Being disabed it's good to know others will light a spark under your butt to get you moving and functioning to be self sustaining and not have to rely on others for everything.

    Secrets are enough to break up a marriage but it never happened and she married another. The things that come out 11 years later-I don't know if I'd be able to forgive one for withholding the information that finally comes to the surface.

    Love the structure of the family and those in charge.
    Love and remoance was just enough to make this an enjoyable novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hmmmmm

    I guess it was an alright story. I didnt care for the writing. First she tells him to go away then blames him later because he did. She was so wishy washy. To the end she was so determined to throw away fate. His character was weak, and the sex was really lacking.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Cowboy...amazing book!

    This book was amazing, read it in one day. Could not put it down!
    Trace and Callie fall in love young. Their families have been in a bitter feud for years (kinda like the Hatfields and McCoys). Their ranches are located back to back in acreage. Trace and Callie have a difficult time with their relationship and when Callie's brother is injured by Trace's brother they break up. Eleven years later Trace comes back to town to help his family as his dad recovers from heart surgery. He and Callie see each other and flames ignite. Their relationship is very rocky. Just when they are really making headway, Trace realizes Eli is his son. Things get explosive. This book keep me on the edge of my seat. It was so refreshing to read a "real life" story and not a total fantasy with a lot of sex. I thought the writer is amazing. Loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    Love This Book!!!

    I ABSOLUTLEY LOVE THESE BOOKS... TRUE LOVE ALWAYS FINDS ITS WAY AROUND... MODERNDAY HATFIELD AND MCCOY. THE SUSPENSE IS GREAT THE LOVE SCENES ARE AMAZING!!! THE WHOLE SERIES IS GREAT!!! I HIGHLY RECCOMEND THESE BOOKS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    Deliciously frustrating!

    Trace wanted Callie and Callie wanted Trace. It should have been that simple but it wasn't. With family feuds and family loyalties and just plain stubborness, it seemed like Trace and Callie could never get to where they truly needed to be. The passions kept them together sooner than anything else. And thank goodness for passion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    Wonderful!

    I don't read much, but I couldn't put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2004

    My kind of Cowboy!

    This is one of the first romance novels I ever read. You can immediately feel the tension between the Blackthrones and the Creeds. You can also feel the intense heat & passion between Trace & Callie. Joan takes you through the emotional highs and lows of Callie & Trace's quest to have happiness - even after murder, alcoholism, and unknown parentage. I've read this book once a year since I've owned it. It's a must have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2003

    Absolutely Amazing

    This is the first book that I've read by Joan Johnston and it was great. I loved the depths of the characters and I really fell in love with Callie and Trace. You can tell that they really loved each other and have learned to put the past behind them to have a wonderful future together. I can't wait to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2003

    A Fantastic Start to the Best Series

    Joan Johnston is the best. She captures your heart with the tale of Trace Blackthorne and Callie Creed in this remarkable love story. It shows the deepths of what a person will do for the love of their life and the love of their family. If you can only read one book, this has got to be it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2003

    The Cowboy

    In my apion this is one of the best books that I have read in a long time. Sence reading this book I have also bought a lot more books written by Joan Jonston's. Thanks PS. To Joan Jonston- Keep writing your books are really a pleasure to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2001

    Don't miss this Book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This Book was one of the most entertaining books I've read in a long time. It kept my interest from moment one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4