Customer Reviews for

Cowboy Camp

Average Rating 4
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

4 year old's Favorite!

The "read to me" narrator has good voices & the story is really funny. This gets read every night.

posted by Sprouting_Soles_Creator on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Extremely disappointed!

The premise of this story is that a child who lies and decieves when in a pressured situation will be rewarded. Of the numerous accidental ways the main character, Avery, can prove his smarts as a cowboy, the author chooses to show him outsmart a bad guy with a fabricat...
The premise of this story is that a child who lies and decieves when in a pressured situation will be rewarded. Of the numerous accidental ways the main character, Avery, can prove his smarts as a cowboy, the author chooses to show him outsmart a bad guy with a fabrication. My 5 year old picked this up right away. The main character lied to save his skin. He thought it might be okay becaue it was fibbing to a bad guy. That's what he derived from the story. It took a few minutes of explaining. Are five year olds ready for a discussion about this? In their world they need black and white. Avery needs to be taught how NOT to lie when it is inconvenient to tell the truth. Avery already has poor self confidence. His success is built on deception and manipulation. Gee, now he will be a leader. How can this possibly be a book for kids? And to top it all at the end the book the real cowboy character praises Avery for finally acting like an honest-to-goodness cowboy. That is how the author characterizes westerners or ranchers? It's deplorable. I am a New Yorker born and bred. I am not to so jaded to believe that this is the way Texas thinks. And I have not become sophisticated enough to teach my children how to lie successfully. Yuk. I want a refund. Am a dad, and I am disgusted.

posted by MrWoolcott on February 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Extremely disappointed!

    The premise of this story is that a child who lies and decieves when in a pressured situation will be rewarded. Of the numerous accidental ways the main character, Avery, can prove his smarts as a cowboy, the author chooses to show him outsmart a bad guy with a fabrication. My 5 year old picked this up right away. The main character lied to save his skin. He thought it might be okay becaue it was fibbing to a bad guy. That's what he derived from the story. It took a few minutes of explaining. Are five year olds ready for a discussion about this? In their world they need black and white. Avery needs to be taught how NOT to lie when it is inconvenient to tell the truth. Avery already has poor self confidence. His success is built on deception and manipulation. Gee, now he will be a leader. How can this possibly be a book for kids? And to top it all at the end the book the real cowboy character praises Avery for finally acting like an honest-to-goodness cowboy. That is how the author characterizes westerners or ranchers? It's deplorable. I am a New Yorker born and bred. I am not to so jaded to believe that this is the way Texas thinks. And I have not become sophisticated enough to teach my children how to lie successfully. Yuk. I want a refund. Am a dad, and I am disgusted.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    Fun read

    I was really surprised to read the previous reviewer who hated this story because they felt it was teaching five year olds to lie in order to get out of a tight spot. Wow. In my opinion, this is a funny story that is very well narrated and which my 5 year-old was able to follow just fine. When Avery tricks Black Bart, my son loves it, and at the end of the story my son's face was beaming. This is definitely one of the better Read To Me books we've gotten.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    4 year old's Favorite!

    The "read to me" narrator has good voices & the story is really funny. This gets read every night.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Highly reccommend this...

    My grandson is 5, and everytime he comes over he asks to read "his" book on my Nook. He just loves this story, seems like he can't get enough!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Great Kid Book

    This book is perfect for kids! It is well-acted and totally reccomended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2006

    Great Book for the Little Ones

    I have 2 boys the ages of 2 years old and 5 years old and they just love this story. It captures their attention and keeps it all the way til the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Love the storyline...

    i love the storyline for this book. however, word of note that the read-to-me feature is VERY quiet. maybe it would work good w/ headphones?! it is the only reeason that i rate this story at a 4.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Great story

    This is a cute story.Both of my children enjoyed this.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    A favorite!

    This book is habitually requested by my 6yo and 3yo girls. It carries a terrific message of finding our individual strengths and I love that! As an reading specialist, I appreciate the repetition and rhythmic word play. Purchasing it for my nook is a no brainer. It will save me and the buck-a-roos on our upcoming road trip!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    Good message for older children

    I can see how this story would have a good message for older children but it spooked my 3 year old. Also, the story was a bit slow for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    the worst

    this book is the worst book for kids they didin't like it at all. so boring.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    Rustlin' Rattlesnakes! Who ever heard of a cowboy named Avery?

    Exactly! Poor Avery turns out to be a terrible cowboy, but he saves the camp from Black Bart anyway using his terrible cowboy skills. The illustrations are fabulous and the voices of the narrator make the story fun & entertaining. Avery realizes that he's a real honest-go-goodness cowboy afterall, just in his own way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    Okay.....

    Well, this book is great for kids......BUT.....I would recommend this for boys.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    Great Kids Book

    My son loves this, and the read-to-me option is great! I think the storyline is easy to follow and interesting. The narrator reads a little slow, but that isn't that much of an issue. Great purchase!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    My 3 year old grandson loved it. He loves making the pictures bigger and smaller. He has listened to it over and over and almost knows it by heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Very cute story!

    My 3 year old son loves this book! It's a cute story that is well narrated.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    Cute book. nice message

    Both my kids like this book. i have a 6yo and 18mos. i like the message that you dont have to be just like everyone else to be good at something. And what 6yo boy doesnt love cowboys???

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Great on the Nook and approved by a 4 year old

    This was the first NookKidsBook we purchased and our four year old enjoys it. I only gave it three stars because it is not the first book he chooses from a short list of books on the Nook.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    funnny!:)

    i heart this book ::)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Ptp--p-

    T.t.tnt,t,tjt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7