Customer Reviews for

Cowboy Seeks Bride

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    city meets country

    great story about an up and coming TV exec who is tricked by her father. Carolyn Brown writes wonderful romances set in both Texas and Oklahoma about men and women who live their own lives as they want and take nothing for granted.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    What a way to conclude a series? I wasn't sure how this one was

    What a way to conclude a series? I wasn't sure how this one was going to go over with me. I love this series, but was a bit disappointed with Gemma's story. (It was a good book, but it fell a ittle flat for me.) I put off reading Dewar's story and am so sorry that I did. To see Dewar & Haley's love grow in the "old cowboy way" was fitting to his character. There were several times where I thought that I could smell what was cooking over the open fire and feel the electricity in the air. The fact that Haley got to know some of his family in their time together was icing on the cake. While there was drama that had to be dealt with, there were plenty of laughs too - from lingere on the animals after the stampede to Eyeore farting in Dewar's face. I was shocked at how many tricks Haley had up her sleeve and at how many times she was able to stun the cowboys.  I am now a firm believer that every woman needs a donkey. LOL! There was a bit more that I would have loved to have seen - namely, the party in Louisiana, both of their parents' reactions at the end, and their first dinner at Chicken Fried but the book ended. I really missed the O'Donnell banter on Sundays when everyone is at the table. I have been recommending this series since I read book 1, and will continue to promote Carolyn Brown to all my friends. Thanks for another heartfelt & loving cowboy book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by JoAnne Book provided by the publisher for review Rev

    Reviewed by JoAnne
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Carolyn Brown comes through again with a hot and steamy Spikes and Spurs story that could have set the dry grass along the Chisholm Trail on fire.

    From the moment that Dewar and Haley meet just before going out on the trail the sparks surely did fly. The chemistry between them was immediate and they fought it as long as they could while trying to keep their attraction and lust from everyone else on the trail.

    There were laugh out loud moments that almost had me rolling on the floor. There were cowboys, horses, cows, Eeyore, family, the great outdoors with meals from the chuck wagon, some sweet talking, romance and lots and lots of loving. There was also discontent, Joel who gave me the creeps and Haley’s parents that didn’t have her best interests at heart at all.

    The descriptions of the trail ride made me feel as if I was there. I could taste and smell the food cooking, feel the rain and the baths in the rivers as well as feel the camaraderie of all those taking part on the ride even if things get testy at times since they were away from home for 30 days. The ending provided a happily ever after but there was still so much story to tell. Although there was some closure the book ended just too abruptly for me and I would have liked to see the book continue a few more chapters.

    I hope we meet up with the O’Donnell’s again in additional books. Since I have only read part of the series I do have to go back and start at the beginning. I’ve only read books 4, 5 and now 7. If you want to meet up with some hunky cowboys, live life on the ranch and get plenty of loving, pick up one of Brown’s books. You will be glad you did!

    Favorite Quote: “You are so pretty in the moonlight. It’s even better than candles. Half your face is in shadow and half lit up. That’s you, Haley. Part open as a book. Part a secret that I want to figure out,” he said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Couldn't put this series down, didn't want it to end..will re read just because!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Loved It!!!

    Only my second book by this author and it did not disappoint. H.B.McKay is a great character and had me hooked from the get go! I was a little disappointed in the end, I felt it was too rushed and too short after a detailed beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Love!

    Brown always has a great way to rope you into her stories favorite author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I¿m not sure my tush would forgive me if I decided to re-enact t

    I’m not sure my tush would forgive me if I decided to re-enact the historic Chisholm Trail ride but thanks to Carolyn Brown I get to experience all of the pleasure without the saddle stiffness. I have yet to be disappointed by this author and once again she brings all my cowboy fantasies to life. H.B. (Haley) McKay is a feisty heroine determined to tough it out alongside the men and I enjoyed each and every moment of her adventure. Dewar O’Donnell is the perfect example of a modern day cowboy and I can’t blame Haley for not being able to resist him even though she’s big city busy and he’s laid-back country. I can always count on this author to provide me with just the right amount of passion mixed with glorious laugh-out-loud moments that always leave me with a huge smile and wanting more. If you are looking to ride off into the sunset with a handsome cowboy this is a definite must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Omg I fell in love with the book! I'm so like Haley! I speak my

    Omg I fell in love with the book! I'm so like Haley! I speak my mind and love my jackass(Pedro). I have my cowboy(hubby) and so happy with my life with him! Carolyn has went over the top with Cowboy Seeks Bride! Thanks for another book I can't put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Very Good!

    I liked this book very much, One of her best, for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Saved The Best For Last

    If I can help it, I never start reading a Carolyn Brown book after 9 p.m. Because I know if I do, it will be in the wee hours of the morning before I can make myself put the book down. The author creates such realistic characters, entertaining plots and hilarious moments, it’s hard to find a place to stop reading. The dialogue is conversational pulling the reader into the action and making them feel right at home. COWBOY SEEKS BRIDE is a fine example of Brown’s work mixing her memorable characters with historical facts for a steamy romance and laugh-out-loud moments. She paints a breath-taking landscape with her vivid descriptions. In this last installment in the Spikes and Spurs series, rancher Dewar O’Donnell is looking forward to reenacting the historic Chisholm Trail cattle drive with family and friends. This cattle drive is a trail run for a possible reality TV show. What Dewar didn’t count on was the reality show’s field man being a woman. H.B. ‘Haley’ McKay is determined to make this drive into a reality show. The high-powered businesswoman hadn’t realized her research would have her riding a horse for a month with a bunch of modern-day cowboys. As the unlikely group heads out on the trail drive, little do they know they’ll be facing more than storms, stampedes, snakes and coyotes. The characters are spunky and likable. The story moves at a steady pace holding your attention from one encounter to the next tender moment and back to danger. The blend of humor and determination makes for an intriguing read. Brown gives her secondary characters flare and depth adding another layer to the story. COWBOY SEEKS BRIDE features a feisty heroine and a sexy hero for a rip-roaring good time. FTC Full Disclosure - This book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Second

    This is the third Carolyn Brown book I've read. This is not the worst one, but it is close. I keep trying them because most of the reviews are good and I think maybe it's just the ones I've read that are not good. Wrong!!!!! Maybe I'll try again, but it will be a long time. One thing I will say, she does know her country music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    I've read the entire series. Loved them all. This one did not

    I've read the entire series. Loved them all. This one did not disappoint. I would have liked to see Dewar's parents reaction to the relationship. It hinted that Dewar's Momma might have an issue. All the other books had the parents involved, at least, in some way, even if the leads were not actually their children. But still love it. I was actually laughing out loud at parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I received an e-galley of Cowboy Seeks Bride from NetGalley for

    I received an e-galley of Cowboy Seeks Bride from NetGalley for an honest review.

    First things first, I'm sad to see this series come to an end. I've read all of the Spikes and Spurs books and it has been a fabulous series. This series put Carolyn Brown on my auto-buy list. That being said, what a way to go out! Dewar and Haley rank up there at the top of my list. Sorry, Dewar, but Rye is still my favorite.

    Cowboy Seeks Bride is the second book I've read that centers around a cattle drive. While the other book was good, I definitely liked Carolyn's take more. The obstacles that Dewar and Haley face are both humorous and endearing. Dewar is protective, but not overly. Haley would make a great friend! I adored her spunkiness and more than ready to stand up to Dewar attitude. She had a point to prove to the men and she did it quite well in my opinion.

    There's always more than one twist in Carolyn's stories, and this one played out exactly as I hoped it would. I won't tell you what happened, but I will say I did a fist punch in the air when I read how things unfolded. While Dewar was definitely an alpha male, he knew when to back off and let Haley do what she needed to do. If I were to pick a knight in shining armor fairy tale hero, he'd be pretty close to perfect in my book!

    It would be difficult not to fall in love with these characters. Not just Dewar and Haley, but the supporting characters as well. I hope we get to see something in future about Dewar's cousins. I have a feeling they've got some heart wrenching stories to tell.

    Whether you pick up Cowboy Seeks Bride or another Carolyn Brown book, you won't be disappointed. They are all great reads and fantastic love stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Awesome

    Love Carolyn Brown! The only thing wrong with this book is that it was the end of a lovely story. I can't wait to read more from Mrs. Brown. I giggled my way through the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have put off writing this review because I am afraid my mere w

    I have put off writing this review because I am afraid my mere words will never do this book justice. This book is charming, sexy, funny, relaxed and honesty filled. All the characters just have an open honesty about them. I was hooked from page one. I read all 370 pages without ever skimming, skipping or yawning. Each page was read with enthusiasm and anticipation, and if there was another 370 pages I’m positive I would feel the same way about each and every word.

    The story begins with H.B. McKay arriving at Dewar O’Donnell’s ranch in preparation for a field assignment collecting information for a new reality series for her father’s network. Both she and Dewar thought it was all an April Fool’s Joke until they were actually riding out on horseback for an entire month. During the course of the month H.B. turns into a hard-working simple cowgirl named Haley.

    On the dedication page Carolyn Brown writes “the book is pretty close to a historical” and she was so right. It was a funny, yet believable twist where the days of long ago so carefully intertwine with the 21st century. The honesty in the story was so refreshing – never was there a point of secrecy, or running from one’s feelings. With the love story of Dewar and Haley, they were always up front with each other and the differences in their worlds. This story was not only dripping with honesty, but it was also sprinkled with humor. I mean full-out belly laughs at times. I loved the parallels between country songs and the playful yet series tone of most of Dewar’s and Haley’s exchanges. Dewar as a leading character was wholesome, strong, caring, and sexy. Truly this book was one of my all-time favorite romances to date. In true down home Texas style lets just say I have a true hankerin’ for this book!!

    RATING: 5

    HEAT RATING: Hot

    REVIEWED BY: A. Lyn

    REVIEW COURTESY OF: My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What do you get when two worlds collide...a novel that I utterly

    What do you get when two worlds collide...a novel that I utterly enjoyed. 

    The story was refreshing, fun, and when it came to sexual encounters it was down right sigh worthy. 

    Carolyn Brown's visual writing made you feel like you were along for the ride along side the cattle and the drive team. 

    I loved watching the relationship and trust unfold between the city girl, Haley and the cowboys especially Dewar...completely glorious. Laughing at loud and even crying over a donkey, Brown pulled me in and kept me invested till the Happily Ever After. 

    Don't miss Cowboy Seeks Bride, a book filled with delicious cowboys, a piping hot romance and a wonderful adventure to boot.

    This ARC copy of Cowboy Seeks Bride was given to me by Sourcebooks Casablanca in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication August 6,2013.

    Written by: Carolyn Brown
    Series: Spikes and Spurs
    Sequence in Series: 7
    Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca 
    Publication Date: August 6, 2013
    ISBN-10: 1402270216
    ISBN-13: 978-1402270215
    Rating: 4
    Genre: Cowboy Romance
    Age Recommendation: Adult

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2