Customer Reviews for

Cowboy with a Cause

Average Rating 4
( 243 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I found the next book in the series

The next book is called confessing to the cowboy.

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

195 pages

195 pages

posted by 12140805 on April 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    195 pages

    195 pages

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    I found the next book in the series

    The next book is called confessing to the cowboy.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Decent

    Decent good... was a little bit grusome and abrupt ending. We still don't no wjo kill the waitresses. Hence, i truly dont like umsolved mysteries even in a book.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Good read

    For those that are saying they didn't like the loose ends....there's a second book coming that should clear things up.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    Like this author's writing style. Liked these characters, espec

    Like this author's writing style. Liked these characters, especially Adam! A good read BUT, as some of the other reviews have mentioned, there was a lot of loose ends that were left hanging at the end. Thought that might mean there were other books or a series but NO! Still an excellent read, especially for free! Will read more by Carla Cassidy.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    good

    Cowboy with a Cause by Carpa Cassidy
    4 STARS

    Adam Benson is making some changes in his life. He wants to find what he wants and where to go. Adam is dealing with his brother in prison for attempted murder.
    His other brother got married and now as a baby. So he is going to rent a room in town.
    Olive Brooks has been hiding in her house since she came back after her Aunt's funeral.
    She was going to sell it but after beeing in a wheel chair her careeer as a dancer was over.
    She needs to rent the top floor in her house so she can take care of insurance and taxes. It is hard for her to leave her house because thier are no ramps. She is suprised to see Adam at her door. She really needs the money though.
    Adam still goes out to the ranch to help but he also feels bad about Olive and he tries to help her out of her depression. He also without permission puts in a ramp in so it is easier to get her into and out of her house. He is bringing out of herself.
    Someone has killed two young single waitresses. Now someone is playing tricks on her making sure she is crazy. Is it the same person, the killer.
    The mystery was fine I did guess write on part of it. Did not want to put it down but had to a lot over the holiday. I would love to read more of this series and find out who did what and why. Also would love to go back and read the books I have missed.
    There were a few love scenes that I skipped over.
    I was given this ebook to read in exchange for honest review.
    Harlequin (December 18, 2012) 288 pages

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    GREAT READ

    i really enjoyed this book. the story was touching and showed that adversity can be over come

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Greatttttttt

    Loved this book!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    Cowboy with a Cause by seasoned Romantic Suspense author Carla C

    Cowboy with a Cause by seasoned Romantic Suspense author Carla Cassidy, was a terrific, enthralling addition to her Cowboy Café series. Once again, you will salivate over a deep thinking, drop dead gorgeous Hero, and admire her strong, courageous heroine. 
    Beautiful, passionate and talented dancer Melanie Brooks, at eighteen, packed up her small town life in Oklahoma to pursue her life-long dream of becoming a successful dancer in New York. She had succeeded, but all her dreams died following the devastating death of her mother and the onset of a debilitating illness so cruel in its focus, that her bitterness was completely understandable. She felt trapped, grief stricken and alone. Her new existence a mirror of autumn’s dying leaves – a gradual demise. 
    What Melanie hadn’t expected ever to feel again, was desire or hope. She had not anticipated that the dark haired, blue-eyed, powerfully built sexy cowboy, Adam Benson, would or could evoke such a visceral response in her. “He carried with him an energy that seemed to pulse in the air around him, an energy that seductively drew her to him.”  She feared that his transitional state would only cause her a broken heart. After all, in her mind, she was now a liability, half a woman, a burden – a cripple. 
    Adam Benson was simply looking for a new start. Life had in the last two years, “tossed him a live grenade that had exploded” resulting in dark times of despair and shame. Having lost many of whom he had loved, it was instinctual to guard his heart, becoming isolated and reclusive. Moving in to Melanie’s house was his opportunity to find a haven, a chance to heal, a place to re-group; and decide what he wanted to do with the rest of his life. 
    When he first laid eyes on Melanie, he was struck by her elegant beauty and sexy mouth. Quickly, he saw through her brittle façade, despite her vulnerable, resigned disposition and was dazzled by her inner strength, prompting protective urges to emerge. He knew first hand what hiding from life was like, and suspected Melanie did too. Would he act on his tendency to ‘fix’ things, acknowledging his growing attraction to the blond haired beauty, or could he remain aloof and unaffected?
    Grady Gulch, where the story was set, had been on the receiving end of a killer’s evil hand. Tension was tight in the small town. Innocence lost. To many, Melanie Brooks was an enigma, but to one man, her very presence stole his breath in anger. To him, she deserved terrorizing and punishment. Death. 
    The mystery is woven masterfully throughout Cowboy with a Cause with the author allowing glimpses of possible suspects, as well as insight into the perpetrator’s mind, yet covering well his identity. The love story between Adam and Melanie is both believable and beautifully written. The book’s very gripping conclusion was excellent, ensuring that the reader must read the next book in the series. Cleverly done. I need to know who the killer is! If you are a fan of Romantic Suspense, do not go past this Author. She writes with experience, wisdom and passion. 

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Loved every minute of the read

    Great book. I have circled back to read the rest of the series. Wish I knew there were earlier stories so I could have read them in order.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    What A Thriller!!! This book really deserves 5 stars, but becau

    What A Thriller!!! This book really deserves 5 stars, but because I felt cheated out of who the killer was, and there wasn't an Epilogue I gave it only 4 stars. I dislike books that end like this. If it is to be a series, somehow B & N or the author needs to let us know. But the storyline is awesome and moves along at a fast pace. It is 175 Nook pages to this story. The rest of the pages describe another novel, so don't count it. I can't believe this book is free. It is so worth your time because there is so much drama, suspense and twists that keep you reading. The way Melanie feels, is common and I thought it was well written. I understood her not wanting to be a burden and thought the author really conveyed this and was true to the character and her problem. I loved Adam too and could understand how he felt about his brother and life in general. These are character's with flaws that seen so realistic. I am so glad another reader spoke of the next book so maybe a lot will be answered and leave us hanging. (ljb)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Anonymous

    I usually don't read romance, but I came across this one and foind it to be quite sweet. The ending did seem to be abrupt, so I got on the authors web site and found that this is the third book of a series and she is releasing a final (4th) book in June. I purchased the first two now because she successfully pulled me in to the world of Grady Gulch!
    Give it a try, no overly explicit sex scenes or vulger language, which is a good thing.

    One note to reviewer who refered to the main character as a "cripple", I don't want to sound like a "P C" freak, but the very word "cripple" is extremely archaic and really carrires very negative overtones. Disabled vs Ablebodied is so much fairer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    hard to continue.

    while it was a good book, it just really didn't capture my attention.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    LOVED IT!!!!!

    It is a great read, I really reccomend it to those who love mysteries with romance. I cried a little not going to say why or what happened I dont want to ruin it for you guys. Anyways hope you enjoy it as much as I did... BYE

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Wow

    This book was absolutely amazing I'm completely in love with the characters, the way it was written, everything!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Verry Very good

    Very good

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Good

    Good

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Good

    Loys of adventure

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Donna

    Emjoyed it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Needs more development of characters and story details

    Character concept is ok, but the plot isn't fully developed, and while the writer does a decent job with dialogue, the overall writing style is very basic, repetitive and fails to make us care about either these characters or their story. The main character is a professional dancer dealing with a cripling physical injury and financial worries, who leaves the big city for small town, and leys a room in her house to the kind, strong, and newly sober cowboy who has emotional issues but still falls in live with her and helps to rescue her by his discovery of the identity of the obsessive would-be killer. Not fully developed as a romance, and lacking the depth of detail and discovery needed for a true mystery. Only one star.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13