Customer Reviews for

A Cowboy's Touch

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    A Montana cowboy + A Chicago city girl= one heck of a love story

    A wonderful romance novel that warms your heart and makes you smile. The little town of Moose Creek, Montana is so friendly that you'll wish you lived in a town just like it. An enjoyable read for any romantic at heart or those who love cowboys.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Loved this book! I don't usually go for western romances, but t

    Loved this book! I don't usually go for western romances, but this was a really good story with great characters. The cover is what got my attention - so pretty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A heartwarming romance that I thoroughly enjoyed!

    A heartwarming romance that I thoroughly enjoyed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great story with great lessons for reader

    In A Cowboy's Touch Abigail leaves her life and work as a writer in the city for some rest at her Aunt Lucy's house to hopefully help relieve some of the health problems she's been experiencing. She ends up as the nanny for young Maddy who lives on a ranch with her Dad, Wade. A strong relationship quickly grows between Abigail and Maddy as Maddy has no mother figure in her life since the death of her Mom. Both Abigail and Wade learn a lot about themselves during this summer together and how they have let guilts of the past to control them.

    I enjoyed the characters of this book. This was an easy book to read, and while parts of the story were predictable, it also had a good message.
    Thank you to Audra at the B&B Media Group for sending this book to me for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great story from Denise Hunter

    Abigail is on a vacation/leave of absence, a forced one. Her health is suffering, high blood pressure is making her sick. Her mother has insisted she take off three months and sends her to Montana to check on her Aunt Lucy. What her mother doesn't tell Abigail is that the magazine they both work for is in serious trouble. In fact if circulation is not improved the publishing company will discontinue the magazine. Abigail finds out by making her sister tell what is going on, and now Abigail thinks she knows how to bring up circulation. She will investigate and write a story about J.W. Ryan. A former rodeo World Champion, whose wife died mysteriously will bring in lots of readers. But how will she do it, everyone is pretty closed mouth about it all, and Wade (J.W.) is not telling anyone anything. Will she risk her blossoming friendship for a story?

    A exciting story Denise Hunter once again pulls you into her story. You will not want to miss this book, I enjoyed getting aquainted with Abagail, Maddy and Wade as I read the story, they were characters that came to life. A great book! Reading Group Guide included. 301 pages US S14.99 4 stars.

    This book was provided by B & B Media for review purpses only, no payment was received for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    good, quick read.

    Abigail Jones is committed to exposing the truth. She writes a column called "The Truthseeker" for Viewpoint magazine in Chicago. But her late nights and stress are starting to affect her. She's given a three month leave of absence from work and goes to visit her great Aunt Lucy in Moose Creek, Montana. She meets Maddy Ryan who needs a nanny for the summer and soon finds herself taking care of the eleven year old. Her reporter instincts kick in when she realizes who Maddy's father, Wade Ryan, is and the past he left behind when moving to Moose Creek. But the more time she spends with him, the more she wants to believe the rumors aren't true. She wants to clear his name.but only out of a sense of justice. Her feelings for him don't factor in at all. What will happen when she returns to Chicago? Will she be able to leave Maddy and Wade? Or will she leave her heart behind?

    I read Hunter's The Convenient Groom and loved it so I was excited to read another of her books. I enjoyed the story. It was a good, quick read. I had a little bit of a hard time initially getting into it but was soon a part of Wade and Abigail's story. I enjoyed the banter not only between the two of them but between Wade and Dylan. I definitely want to add Hunter's other books to my "to read" pile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely Worth the Read!

    Investigative reporter Abigail Jones has been the TruthSeeker for years. Reluctantly, she heads to Moose Creek, Montana for the summer vacation ordered by her boss (aka her mom) and a visit with her Aunt Lucy. Coincidences and circumstances lead her to accept a position as nanny to Maddy, Wade Ryan's daughter. Wade's good looks and a few innocent comments by Abigail's aunt lead her to discover that Wade Ryan was a rodeo heartthrob who disappeared after his wife mysteriously died years ago. He's still hiding and Abigail is determined to get the scoop. What she doesn't expect is that she will have to open her own heart to be able to delve into Wade's and get the story. As feelings begin to grow, Abigail is torn between her emotions and her desire to save the struggling newspaper she works for. Will the secrets between Abigail and Wade ever be completely revealed? Can their growing affection blossom into love? Or will their hidden secrets betray them both? A Cowboy's Touch is the first book I've read by Denise Hunter and I would definitely like to read more of her books. I did not care for the name of the book at first. However, as I read through the book, it became apparent why the author chose the name. A Cowboy's Touch couples engaging characters with a strong spiritual lesson about guilt to create a reading experience that entertains and encourages. The plot was somewhat predictable, but I appreciate that the author added in some unique situations and character traits. I will definitely read this book again in the future. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from The B & B Media Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Cowboy's Touch

    Abigail Jones works for her mothers magazine called the Viewpoint. Because of the stress of her job her mother encourages her to take some time off and go to Montana and check on her aunt Lucy. When she arrives Lucy is fine, but Wade, the cowboy who owns the ranch where Lucy lives needs a nanny for his daughter, and Abigail takes the job. Abigail knows Wade is hiding something and thinks it just might be a story that could save her mothers magazine. Of course feelings develop between Wade and Abigail, will she choose to go forward with the story which will expose Wade, or will she decide to protect the relationship that is blooming between them?

    Wow! The word for this one is fantastic. This is one of those stories that I just couldn't put down. The author weaves romance, a bit of mystery, and a nice christian message together to produce a story that begs to be read. Oh did I mention the hunky cowboy. The chemistry between the main characters was static, it just jumps off the page at you.
    The imagery that the author paints with her words make you feel as if your right in the middle of Montana, how could you not love a place called Moose Creek! Readers of christian romance will surely enjoy this one, but this book would also appeal to fans of romance with a western setting.

    I was provided a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Contemporary Cowgirl

    This contemporary romance proved to be an easy read. The plot moves along at a good pace. The characters are well fleshed out, and although the reader can guess who will end up together, the end still holds a small surprise.

    One problem I have is with Abigail's walk with Christ. She admits that she hasn't been to church in a long while, or even thought much about the things of God; yet she quotes Bible verses. She doesn't even listen to the sermon when she attends with her aunt for the first time. Strange, I think.

    I learned a bit about life on a Montana ranch, the celebrity of a cowboy rodeo star, some of the pressures a columnist faces, as well as the duties of a nanny. I call this novel a relaxing read.

    Includes Reading Group Guide.

    Thank you to FirstWildCard and Audra from The B&B Media Group for my copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    Great Book!

    A Cowboy's Touch is the first story in A Big Sky Romance written by Denise Hunter. The story is set in the town of Moose Creek, Montana, and follows the story of Abigail Jones. Abigail is an investigative reporter, but when her editor (who also happens to be her mother) forces her to take a leave of absence to look after her aging great-aunt, she finds so much more than she ever imagined. In Montana she finds love, faces loss, and is able to remember past childhood relationships that have affected her life in a more profound way than she even knew. Overall, this was a great romance that looked at the ways individuals deceive one another, all the while making excuses for their actions, justifying what they are doing in order to appease their own guilty conscience.


    I really enjoyed this book, and think it is a great summer read. The characters were all relatable, as Abigail, her love interest and employer Wade, and Wade's young daughter Maddy all faced the loss of a loved one in their lives. Abigail lost her father at the age of 15, while Wade's wife (also Maddy's mother) died about 7 years before the story took place. The book shows the struggles they face many years later and their attempts to move on from the loss in their lives. There is also a strong element of faith in the book. Many times Abigail finds herself quoting verses her father taught her, even though she had not attended church in a relatively long time. This shows that how one is raised affects their future, and that even those words said to a young child can be remembered. Abigail also causes Wade to readjust his stance on dating, as she questions him if he has been seeking God's will in his decision to no longer date. I really enjoyed this book, and the writing style of Denise Hunter. I will definitely add her other books to my reading list.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1